We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still dreaming ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hedges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hedges Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“still dreaming ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Hedges Inn is a lovely place, elegant, exclusive, quiet and beautifully located - a perfect getaway. The staff is welcoming and cordial and the breakfasts we had there are still on my mind!

Room Tip: we selected one of the small rooms on the second floor - it was very nice - the bathroom was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qchanqchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Such a terrific thing to say! Thank you!
We hope to see you back before summer is over!
All the best from all of us at The Hedges Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
86
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I were in East Hampton for a wedding. This Inn was a great place to stay. The Inn had beautiful grounds and very nice rooms. The staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Short and sweet! That's so nice of you!
Come back soon please! Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at The Hedges Inn for a weekend getaway in late spring, and upon our arrival, were promptly greeted by Ann and her accommodating staff. It was my husband's birthday and Ann was kind enough to upgrade our room, which was absolutely unexpected and welcome. The hospitality was attentive, but not hovering, and the three-course gourmet breakfasts delicious. The Inn is decorated beautifully, including the most comfortable beds, and is perfect for a walk to the beach or down the lovely tree-lined streets in wonderful East Hampton. We highly recommend The Hedges Inn and hope to return again many times over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you so much for talking the time to write such kinds words. Upgrading your room was something we enjoyed doing for your special occasion simply because we could! It was such a gorgeous weekend and it is gratifying to know The Hedges Inn was part of making a fond memory for you both. We'll see you next year we hope!

All the very best,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

As a paranoid, overtired new Yorker I'm often biased against inns....what if I want a glass of wine at 10pm or need or iron clothes, etc etc? The hedges inn is absolutely delightful and has forever shifted my thinking! You will like the plates clean during the complimentary three course breakfast, sleep fantastically on a full king, and generally have every need already considered and met. Stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
The best part of having Jess and her partner here was the laughter they filled the house with! It is always a joy to have quick and witty free spirits in the house who, despite what is said in this review -they were very undemanding.

I am grateful you went to the trouble of posting a review for us and hope it attracts many more guests who just want to take it easy and relax! Thank you so much.

All the best from all of us at The Hedges Inn!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provincetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at The Hedges Inn last weekend. From the moment I entered the Inn, Ann Clarke and her staff made me feel welcomed and pampered. The Inn is located right in the middle of East Hampton village making it easy access to the charming town and beaches within walking distance.
The guest rooms are all tastefully decorated with an emphasis on detail and comfort. The best part of my stay was by far the breakfasts that Ann prepares . On my visit one morning there was a starter of chilled summer fruit soup then followed by eggs caprese (baked eggs with mozzarella, bacon and basil. yum. Finishing it off came Ann's famous lemon ricotta pancakes. What a culinary delight. I highly recommend this Inn for anyone who wants to get away and recharge. I feel lucky to have discovered this gem of an Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
It's so wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay so much! Cooking for people who enjoy the start of the day is always a joy! All of us at The Hedges Inn are going to look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I was traveling on business and even working felt like a vacation at The Hedges Inn! Ann the inn keeper was AMAZING in every aspect. The breakfasts were incredible and made with the freshest items offered. I felt relaxed like I was at home. The rooms are very clean and cozy. Each night I fell into bed, went right to sleep and woke up refreshed, ready to face the day. I look forward to coming to the Hedges Inn again. I HIGHLY recommend the inn and will be mentioning it to all of my business associates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
It was a joy having you as our guest! I hope next time you are able to take in more R&R time, but whatever the reason for your stay we ar so glad you chose to be here at The Hedges Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Needed a place to stay last minute and it exceeded expectations. Great location, great staff, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcross561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Great review too! We appreciate your choosing The Hedges Inn and sincerely hope you come back to stay a while longer. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.7 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.2 mi away
c/o The Maidstone
c/o The Maidstone
#5 of 12 in East Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Inn

Property: The Hedges Inn
Address: 74 James Ln, East Hampton, NY 11937-2722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hedges Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful village pond The Hedges Inn is an East Hampton, New York landmark. Home to the famous swans that, like our special guests, return year after year. This exclusive enclave is around the corner from world-class beaches, nestled among East Hampton's legendary estates and just steps from the Village. Built in the 1800’s and recently renovated to the highest standards, The Hedges Inn strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated luxury and unpretentious seaside charm. We invite you to enjoy not just the intimacy of your rooms, but to take advantage of our entire house as if it was your own. The Hedges Inn. "Your home in the Hampton's." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hedges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel East Hampton
Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing