We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast(East Hampton)(Great Value!)
$773
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The 1770 House(East Hampton)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gansett Green Manor(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topping Rose House(Bridgehampton)(Great Value!)
$1,995
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baron's Cove(Sag Harbor)(Great Value!)
$999
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood on the Ocean(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$689
$620
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hedges Inn(East Hampton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill House Inn(East Hampton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maidstone Hotel(East Hampton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
59
10
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
10
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitat homeinterior designerbeach passeslevel of servicewalking distancehigh endevery morningspapoolspolohouseproximityluxury
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 84 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

My wife, my newborn daughter and I stayed for 3 days at this exclusive B&B this place is amazing. The level of service of the staff is the best I have ever seen. They accommodated a play pen for our young one Victoria and also a high chair for breakfast. The breakfast is by far the best in all of the Hamptons and the spa is top notch.

The rooms are high end cozy and honestly probably were designed by a professional interior designer. The type of guests at the Baker House are super cool you will feel right at home.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner at an event they had and she is the most amazing person super delightful.

If you are going to the Hamptons you MUST stay at the Baker House.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank erickfloresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH1650, General Manager at The Baker House 1650, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear erickfloresc,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for your sharing your experience here in this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at The Baker House 1650 and it makes all of our hard work validated when our guests notice the details that you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

Sincerely,
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

The Baker House is a stunning Lutyen's style house superbly situated in the heart of East Hampton. Lovely gardens and an annexe with it's own pool, secluded and divine in summer. Everything beautifully maintained and excellent breakfast included in the (high) price. So far so good, BUT reception staff, are not welcoming . We had a friend to tea. The evening receptionist did not offer to make it but expected us to and pointed to polystyrene cups. Grumpy when I asked for proper cups and saucers. Baker House is more expensive than the Carlyle Hotel New York. The owners live in New York and have no presence. No one even refers to them by name although they have a suite in the annexe. We saw them with friends by the pool in the summer, but they didn't introduce themselves although we were return guests. Due to a family crisis we were forced to cancel our August reservation out of the cancellation period but six weeks in advance. They refused to refund the money although I know the popular room was re-let (mid August) for at least 2 of our 3 nights. We stayed again in early November. No compensation. Disgraceful. Probably our last visit. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Annexe is great in Summer. Try to avoid front noisy road facing rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jblackburn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH1650, General Manager at The Baker House 1650, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear jblackburn2017,

We appreciate all feedback but I need to respond to some of the points that you brought up. We are a bed & breakfast and not a full-service hotel. We have a complimentary self-serve coffee and tea station that we have set up 24 hours per day with paper hot/cold cups with lids. We have this because many of our guests like to take coffee to go or have something with a lid to bring up to their bedroom. If any guest prefers to have a china cup and saucer (like the ones that are set up for breakfast each morning) or mug, of course we provide those for them, just as we did when you were here. Our evening receptionist actually overheard you saying that you didn’t want to use a paper cup, so she was the one to offer the cups with saucers, which she then gave you.
As far as the reservation that you cancelled in August, your deposit was refunded to you immediately after you cancelled, less the 10% cancellation fee. I have explained this a few times, but we do have this strict policy in place because we are a small bed & breakfast and are significantly affected by cancellations. The room that you had booked was taken off our calendar for six months (from the time when you booked to when you cancelled). And yes, we did re-book two of the three nights but that was six months that the one night was not available to book for someone else, and as clearly stated in our policy, 100% occupancy must be achieved in order to be eligible for a refund. The summer is our busiest season and even having one night that is not booked does affect us. We also get charged for every transaction so we have to have a cancellation fee in place so we are not losing money for every time a guest changes their reservation. This policy was told to you when you made your reservation. It was then emailed to you and mailed to you once your reservation was made. I am sorry that you do not agree with our policies but they were provided to you many times – including when you made your additional reservation for your November stay.
Finally, in regards to the owners, they are some of the nicest people I have ever worked for. They are here most of the time, and are very hands on and we all feel it shows. Our goal at the Baker House is to have a laid back, homey feel. We purposely try not to be intrusive. Most of our guests love this feeling – they tell us that they feel like they are at their “home away from home”. They don’t have to chat if they don’t want to. Of course, if guests want to chat, everyone here (including the owners) are always happy to do so.
We are not a large hotel, such as The Carlyle, nor do we pretend to be. Our rates are similar to theirs in our summer season, as we are located in a premier resort area, but theirs are higher than ours in every other season. We also offer many complimentary amenities in our rates that a large hotel does not. Perhaps a laid -back bed & breakfast in the Hamptons is not for everyone. If you have any additional concerns, please feel free to email us.

Sincerely,
Heather McCormack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

I was awed by the lush grounds, stunning architecture, 3 pools, incredible spa and smiles from staff that were so welcoming. Although my stay was for pleasure, I would totally see this inn as fantastic for a corporate retreat.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank DianaVC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH1650, General Manager at The Baker House 1650, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear DianaVC428,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review. We are so happy that you love the place as much as we do! We hope to see you soon - for business or pleasure...

Best,
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend The Baker House. We have stayed there three times in the last eight years or so (vacationing in the Hamptons from Virginia) and we consider it a very special place. The Baker House is very clean, very well appointed and the staff is attentive without being intrusive. We love everything-the house, the rooms, the grounds, the late afternoon appetizer, the wine and liquor bar. Breakfasts have always been delicious with healthy choices as well as traditional. There's usually a berry or peach cobbler or a homemade bread and fresh fruit to enjoy while breakfast is being prepared. The beach passes and chairs, the proximity to shopping and restaurants just a few blocks away...I can't say enough and we always hate to leave!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH1650, General Manager at The Baker House 1650, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear Mary Beth M,

I want to thank you for your wonderful review, as well as visiting us so often. It is nice to know that what we are trying to accomplish is actually translating directly to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Needed some downtime - Spent a wonderful weekend at Baker House 1650. Gorgeous, peaceful surroundings. Every comfort looked after. Delicious breakfast. Loved those blueberry pancakes. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0an12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH1650, General Manager at The Baker House 1650, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear j0an12345,

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back! Please give us a head's up so we can make sure to have blueberry pancakes on the breakfast menu for your next stay...

Sincerely,
Heather McCormack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews