We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Greenbush
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a typical Residence Inn. The staff is friendly but not overly so. The breakfast was average with nothing outstanding with the typical cereals, bread products, oatmeal, waffles, eggs, potatoes, limp turkey bacon, pancakes, yogurt, milk, tea, coffee, bowl of cut fruit, cake donuts, just your average RI breakfast. The rooms were typical, but not unusual. Just your average Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
60
20
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Driving up to the hotel it reminds me of the other Residence Inn's I have stayed. Except the parking area was extremely small. There looks like construction going on, and about 10-15 spaces were occupied by large shipping containers. I had to walk the whole length of the hotel to get to my room. Inside the carpet in the halls has an old hotel feel. The room was the normal. The breakfast was absolutely dreadful. You can tell when product from a previous day is turned into something "new". This new dish of potatoes mixed w/ sausage was deplorable at best.

Not sure if I would stay again.....just not what I was expecting from Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wish there was a 'good' option between average and very good because this place would get that. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is average at best. We went to Cracker Barrel after the first day. The coffee is average. The rooms are nice. However, we didn't get any service the first night, and the second day we had to ask for service. We requested extra towels and they were delivered to us promptly. The room was very nice, clean, and well appointed. The central air is loud. The queen bed was a tad small, but acceptable. Good tv and nice kitchen and living room area. Again, this hotel is good, but less than very good, and better than average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this location last year so we decided to book again this year. When we arrived and got settled in, we noticed that some changes had been made.

They had new furniture in the dining area which looked great and very comfortable. They had multiple TVs in the dining area so no one was fighting over the remote. It was also nice too see that they still had the homemade cookies at reception.

However, we soon discovered that there were some not so nice changes. The person who greeted us at the front desk barely cracked a smile. In our 2 bedroom suite, one of the bathrooms flooded while I was showering due to improper ventilation. The humidity from the shower collected on the ceiling and when I stepped out of the shower, I stepped into a pond on the floor.

The burning plastic smell I've experienced at other locations was back to haunt me at this location. I've figured out it must be the cleaner/polisher they used to clean the metal catchers under the stove burners. They really need to switch cleaners because it gives me an awful headache every time it happens.

During breakfast the next morning, the shows that we're shown on TV were fine. However, they should have been switched to the appropriate dining areas. The news was being shown isn the open area with the couches and the cartoons were being shown in the dining area. However, this presented a problem because all the children collectively gathered in the dining area occupying tables (one kid per table). My husband, myself and our two daughters (3 and 7 months) were forced to surround a much smaller table in order to have breakfast. And when one of the other kids grabbed the remote (which he shouldn't be allowed to have), he cranked up the volume. We had to tell him to turn it down because it was disturbing us.

Last year, they had nice little touches for the kids such as cartoon cups, straws and some games/crayons. This year, nothing. It all disappeared.

And lastly, during breakfast, as we were eating, a piece of trim fell off of a nearby window. I don't know what happened to this hotel, but it certainly wasn't what I remember from last year.

Room Tip: Test out the bathrooms by running the showers for 5 mins and see if the humidity gets vented. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay this time around. We will take a closer look at the cleaners we use as we move forward. We are committed to maintaining a family-friendly atmosphere, and we will we will take into consideration our family amenities in the future. We hope you will consider giving us another chance the next time you are in the East Greenbush area. I know we can make your next visit as pleasant as your first. Please feel free to call me directly at the hotel if you have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Residence Inn is in the process of being redone. We stayed in a newly redone room and it was comfortable, extremely clean with plenty of room for a family. We had a one bedroom with a King bed and pull out sofa. Are expectations were to stay for one night, but then extended to two. There was an exercise room that was equipped with a recumbent bike, treadmill and elliptical. The equipment was okay. Only the treadmill had a tv, but there was one on the wall. During the time that we were there neither my husband nor I ran into any one else using it. The equipment was not as robust as we normally experience at hotels, but it did enable us to get our workouts in.

What really made our stay stand out was the manager Jonathan. We were due in late at night. I called on our way to make a reservation. He asked when to expect us. Stated that he would not be there at that time, but that he would tell his late desk person and see us in the morning. The late desk person was expecting us and had our room and special requests ready. The next morning we met Jonathan with his gloves on cleaning the dining area. We watched as he helped various guests in multiple ways. Throughout our entire stay he gave us advise and went above and beyond in regards to finding out information we needed. He even asked where we were headed and staying next and offered helpful information about that. He is very passionate about Marriott and plans to own his own location someday. He is the type of employee that I would want to represent my own company. He made what was supposed to be short layover on route to the next town memorable.

Room Tip: The one bedroom was very spacious for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there last week due to the power outage in NJ. Parents with 3 kids in 1 bedroom suite. The hotel is clean, warm (even the indoor pool), breakfast is fresh and staff is friendly as well; exercise room open 24/7. Located on the highway with easy access to the city; lots of good places to eat and shop around.

Room Tip: you can take the rooms closer to the direct exit to the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danim0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have to agree with earlier review that the property is showing signs of age. Frequently stay at RI so pretty used to their standard approach. This location had all the usual pluses including friendly staff, generous room size, but the place just felt a little worn out. The door locks were fussy, signs of age in the washrooms, positively creaky elevators, and maybe it was psychosomatic, but there was a tired musty smell to the hallways. A really comprehensive facelift / renovation would be a wise move on the part of management.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley

Property: Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Address: 3 Tech Valley Dr, East Greenbush, NY 12061-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Greenbush
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Greenbush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley Hotel East Greenbush
Residence Inn East Greenbush
East Greenbush Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing