We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Nearby Hotels
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$114
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$127
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Motel(Castleton On Hudson)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
68
36
17
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
36
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom suiteeasy access to the citybasketball courtroom was cleanquiet locationthe breakfast areaindoor poolnight's sleepfront desk staffrooms are largea great place to stayyogurtchlorinedetergentpetspulloutfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this location enroute to Vermont because it is pet friendly. We had to travel with our three dogs and they only charged a modest premium. As we certainly didn't want to leave our 2 Labradors and our foxhound mixed breed unattended in the room we had to order out and the staff tipped us off to some really fabulous NY pizza from a pizzeria that delivered. It was an easily accessible but quiet location and lived up to Marriott quality. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is most convenient.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolodiNuovaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We've stayed at other Residence Inns before but this one was really nice. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was very clean, spacious and tidy. Nice to see a full stove with oven in the room instead of just 2 burners.
When we entered the hotel, we were immediately greeted by a friendly and courteous staff member who checked us in right away. They even had warm home-baked cookies on the counter to welcome guests.
The breakfast area in the lobby, I initially thought was a little small, but after having breakfast there, it still managed to offer everything that a regular sized buffet would offer. What was especially nice were the little touches they had for kids. They had cartoon cups, with lids and windy straws which were great. And once the kids finished their meal, they could go over to the TV area and there were games available, crayons and colouring, etc. I even asked for some blank paper from the front desk which they were happy to give me.
Great hotel and definitely would stay here again. Location was very easy to find too.

Room Tip: Definitely try the cookies at the front desk. The white chocolate, macadamia nut cookies put smiles on our faces.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

It may be that Marriott has decided to focus its assets on its Courtyard hotels, which have seen considerable improvement in recent times, to the detriment of Residence Inns, which years ago offered the traveler a very nice option that merged a hotel stay with some of the comforts of home. The Residence Inn in East Greenbush, NY, just east of Albany, needs to pay more attention to essential details that make the traveler feel that the Inn cares about his comfort.
We arrived in mid-afternoon, to find bagged trash piled up in a hallway, near an outside door. The same trash, only smellier, was still there later in the evening. The furniture in our room was showing wear, and the desk was turned sideways, showing us its back which was unfinished and adorned with tags and writing. These are not major inconveniences, but they make the visitor feel as though the staff has given up on a quest for quality.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank justjobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

When traveling my wife and I often choose to stay at Residence Inns because we like the roominess they offer as well as having full kitchen facilities.

This Inn is just a short distance from downtown Albany, but in a relatively rural area just to its east. It's quiet and convenient, easy to reach from I-90.

It has a better design than many Residence Inns--there are more rooms closer to entrances and te entrances have more parking spaces near them.

The bed, as usual, is relatively small (the beds seem to be designed for one person's use rather than two). The air conditioning unit in our room was relatively loud (as is sadly typical of such units in most hotel rooms), but it was aimed out at the livingroom/kitchen area and not toward the bed (and that's desirable).

The breakfast better than usual at a Residence Inn. Although the scrambled eggs are almost always lamentably dry, there were fresh strawberries and fresh blueberries and two very good types of muffins.

We found the staff friendly and helpful, both before our arrival and throughout out stay.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room near the front desk. Parking tends to be a challenge here and at other Residence Inns. Go for the first floor and close to an entrance, especially if you have a good deal of luggage.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

First off, I travel 90% for work, so I know Marriott standards. This place does not live up to the Marriott name.

The person we were told was the "General Manager" was quite rude to us when we asked about an upgrade. When told we could not do the upgrade using our points, we offered to pay for the upgrade. The response was very condescending and rude.

The other staff seem to think the hotel is for their enjoyment as well. A large group of staff members were taking their coffee/smoke break in the patio area I had ASSUMED was for guest use. Apparently I was mistaken. Additionally, during the breakfast time, we frequently saw staff coming in and grabbing breakfast.

At one point, one of the staff members couldn't find plates for the breakfast and began complaining loudly to the front desk staff about how they didn't order enough plates.

The "workout facility" was in very poor shape. All of the "attachments" for the falling-apart nautilus-type machine were missing. The treadmill had a note saying it was out of service. And the water cooler was completely empty which turned out to be okay since there were no cups with it anyways.

Again, if this would have been a Travel Lodge or something else, I would have expected this type of service, but I don't expect it from a Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leroybrownisbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts on our property. I’m sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay, but hopefully I will be able to address some of your concerns: Our workout area (as well as some other areas of our property) will actually be getting a facelift, which will include new equipment! We expect these renovations to be completed by summer’s end. Our staff is allowed to take breaks in the courtyard area, but they certainly shouldn’t be congregating or loitering around the property. I will personally look into this matter to see if further action needs to be taken.

As I recall we did in fact offer a room upgrade, but due to our high occupancy, brand standards, and other circumstances, we were not able to meet your specific requests. Please note that we did try our best to accommodate the room upgrade, and we even called Marriott to see if there was any way of working around this very specific issue. Again, I apologize if you were disappointed. Feel free to call me directly if you would like to discuss these issues further.

Sincerely,
Maya Soler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews