We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful menu and staff”
Review of Chez Mike

Chez Mike
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Near Albany
Hilton, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and staff”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

our family has been there with parties of 5-20. We had an aniversary party there and Mike opened early and did a great job, wonderful food. We most often go with 3-5 adults. I love the menu, vegitarian dishes as well as some traditional dishes for the less adventursome. They wil modify dishes to take out meats also! Butter and bread is awsome as well chop salad( last week), and homemade ice cream. Check the menu out online! Children are welcome by the friendly staff, this will be a longer wait time then casual chains for the yound ones.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good place, worth to go again next time”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like others reviewed, the butter and bread are perfect. And the service is very good also. It charged 12 $ for cork open if bring your own wine. I believe their desert should be very good, but no space for that this time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great meal, somewhat limited menu”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located about 5 miles across the river from downtown Albany in a little strip mall where you would neve expect to find a restaurant of this quality. Wnt there recently with a party of five and everyone was fully satisfied. I went with the striped bass special which was quite enjoyable. The selection of main courses is wide ranging for almost any taste, although the number of actual selection available is a little limited, as is choice of sides. The place is small and fills up quickly on a weekend evening, so would definately consider making reservations if thinking about going. The strip mall location does have a somewhat restrictive impact on the internal atmosphere, but quality of food more than makes up for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Veggie Friendly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

While it's an unusual, casual/upscale atmosphere for strip mall dining, and the menu appears to be well thought out, would it kill them to join the 21st century and include more veggie friendly items?

Can't we transcend the banality of 'portobello burgers' once and for all????

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It was very good, but now that I think about it $30 lunches are supposed to be very good.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had coconut thai chicken soup and it was great. The scallop salad with arugula was nearly great but the butter from the scallop was too much. A little light vinegar would have cut it. The pasta and sausage was way too big and we left 3/4 of it. The wine was tired, which seems to be the story of these days.

In all, I can make the next time excellent with some prodding and thought.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mike also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing