We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pick of the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airway Inn at LaGuardia

Airway Inn at LaGuardia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airway Inn at LaGuardia
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best pick of the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Airway is a good choice if you need a Laguardia 'airport hotel'. Between the hotel's own shuttle and the bus stop next to the hotel, you're set for transport. And compared with nearly all the competition on this side of the airport, the Airway is more convenient to stores and eateries (not that there's a lot of wonderful things, but there's a range of choices).

Service and the room were pleasant enough - nothing to draw you here if you don't need to be close to the airport (esp given the price) but enough to distinguish them from run-of-the-mill airport hotels. Though Astoria Blvd isn't much to look at in this stretch (if convenient), the residential side streets are nice. Amazingly enough didn't hear or see a single plane flying over the whole time were here (mid afternoon through early morning).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    16
    11
    19
See reviews for
27
11
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only reason to stay here is if you have an early flight from LaGuardia. The area is not great and the exterior of the hotel needs updating. However, the rooms are fine. Next door are a couple of fast food outlets, and one block away is an Italian restaurant if you need dinner and don't want to drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I were getting in late at LaGuardia and needed a place to stay over the night before catching the train to Manhattan and the Amtrak back home. Airway Inn was the only reasonably priced place that could accomdate all five of us without requiring us to rent two rooms. For under two hundred dollars we got a room with two double beds and a sleeper sofa; outrageous in Topeka, but a good deal for NYC near an airport. The beds and the sofa were lined up tight, just barely fitting in the room. Room was very worn, and facilities as a whole seemed very beat up, but seemed reasonably clean and safe. Shuttle from airport was a phone call away and arrived within 15 minutes.

On the way into the hotel a man in the parking lot accosted my adult son and told him "just warning you, one stranger to another: that place has bedbugs really bad!" This of course made us nervous. when we got into the room we inspected all the bedding thoroughly, and kept our bags closed and off the bed and floor (actually, this should be done in any hotel). we saw no signs of infestation. I checked a couple websites that monitor bedbug reports and couldn't find the hotel listed. We went to bed and found no bites in the morning and no bugs in luggage or clothes. No bugs since we have gotten home either, so either the guy in the parking lot had a grudge against the property or our room was not one of the infested ones.

Air conditioner is right by the sofa bed so when it was on my son was freezing, but when he turned it off my wife and I at the other end of the room were sweltering.

The walk down 82nd street to the Jackson Heights station to pick up the 7 into Manhattan took about 20 minutes. Seemed perfectly safe, even pleasant.

Room Tip: The room with the sleeper sofa is a good value if all you need is a place to sleep near the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I suppose it wasn't as bad as it could have been. it was clean, there was no evidence of illegal activity, & the staff were pleasant & competent. And there was internet, unlike my recent stay at a Hyatt. And there was room at the inn, which was not true of any other place in the area. I suppose the root of the problem is that LaGuardia is an unspeakably bad airport & that I'm not so comfortable w/ Queens, cause i'd stay in a similar place in the if I had to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

we stayed there during end hurricane sandy and they were so nice and made our stay enjoyable rooms clean and comfortble and staff really helpful good location if you want to be near airport trains and buses all nearby

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed there last October with a friend for one night.
The Hotel is 5 minutes away from the Airport which is very nice. You simply have to call the hotel to have the shuttle to pick you up.
The room was ... Not that great. This hotel needs some upgrades in my opinion. We did not spend too much time in the room anyway.
There is a Public Transportation right across the street that will bring you to the Subway service. We took it 2 times to go downtown and it was pretty fast - About 25 minutes.
I might go back for one night but not more than that. Ok quality for price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had to overnight in LGA ( <8 hour layover), Surprisingly found all the LGA hotels booked or very pricy (350+ for anything 3+ stars). In order to avoid 2 hours of commute or an hourly hotel in Queens, found the Airway inn. it was just fine for a last-minute overnight - they picked me up at the airport within 15 minutes and I had a clean, quiet room on the first floor. Hotel front-desk clerk and shuttle driver were friendly, the room was clean and the WiFi/cable worked. For the price, it was just fine. Not a great area and little in the way of entertainment local.

Room Tip: Recommend a room in the interior hallways for safety (especially if woman traveling alone). Probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Elmhurst
1.0 mi away
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
#3 of 10 in East Elmhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn LaGuardia Airport - 83rd St
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS LaGuardia Airport Hotel Queens
1.1 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airway Inn at LaGuardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airway Inn at LaGuardia

Property: Airway Inn at LaGuardia
Address: 8220 Astoria Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11370-1637
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Airway Inn at LaGuardia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Airway Inn at LaGuardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airway Motor Hotel East Elmhurst
Airway Hotel East Elmhurst
Airway Inn At LaGuardia New York/East Elmhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing