We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Airport Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Airport Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this location for six nights, and with three couples, we had three rooms booked. The staff was courteous, but we didn't take advantage of any of the amenities because we intended to get out and about visiting friends and sampling the available diverse food in other neighborhoods.
What struck me was the lack of a vent fan in the bathrooms, causing mirror fogging and leaving a musty odor in the room. I also felt the rooms needed some up-level cleaning and/or refurbishment. We kept our slippers on. Another minus is the lack of parking on-premises, causing us to park our vehicle in the street and compete with limousine service vehicles (stationed there to report to LGA) and alternate side parking rules. I realize parking is at a premium in NYC (lived there for 59 years), but hotels should have space available for convenient guest parking, as does the Fairfield Inn in Astoria.
On the plus side it is very convenient to LaGuardia Airport (across the Grand Central Parkway) and the rates are substantially lower than in Manhattan.
Would I stay at this location again? Yes. It fulfilled our needs and was priced right for one room with a king-sized bed at $830 for six nights, including all taxes.

Room Tip: Book on-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robretired44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your business and your comments during your stay with us. We are glad to hear you found your stay of value. We are glad to hear you will stay with us in the near future and look forward to your return. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    280
    162
    110
    104
See reviews for
232
183
110
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

In my line of I work I stay in hotels up and down the east coast. In this instance I needed a hotel close to LGA. The LaGuardia Plaza Hotel seemed perfect and I was right. As soon as I got off my plane I called the hotel and they sent Patric with the free shuttle right over. I only waited 5 minutes. Upon entering the hotel I was greeted with great big smiles, friendly attitudes! Great people! Darlene, Lorraine, Richard B, Rory. We were laughing and as they were answering my questions I really felt at home. My room was spotless. I needed a ride to the store, they gave me one. I needed a later checkout time. They gave me one. My breakfast, fresh hot waffles, delicious juice, toasted bagel and great coffee. The pool was invigorating. Over all the is outstanding. I know I will be back. I will not forget how great the people treated me. God bless everyone at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are please to hear that your stay at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel was of value. We will be sure to let our entire staff of hospitality professionals know your thoughts about your stay.Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Only plus: pleasant front desk staff. Room was filthy. I didn't wang to take off my socks. On either side of the bedside table were candy bar crumbs. The air smelled like stale smoke. Not opposed to roughing it... But this was dirty, not Spartan.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feetNflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments. We apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory and not considered of value. The hotel will begin phase 1 of extensive renovations during the next several months. We appreciate your comments and will take corrective action in order to avoid any future experiences such as yours. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Elmhurst hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at this property on a layover between an international/domestic connection, booking it online, because of its location and cost. I found the property to provide an excellent value; the front desk representative who assisted me several times - LORRAINE MELO - was exceptionally courteous, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for those wanting to stay minutes away from LaGuardia and who want to have great front desk staff when you're tired and want to get some rest!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments to our Trip Advisor community.We are glad you gave us the opportunity to be of service and help make your stay in New York as pleasant as possible. We enjoy making all of our guests trips as easy as possible. Thanks again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel was fine for one night.

Pros:
Good water pressure in shower.
Good, reasonably priced breakfast.
Room was clean and comfortable.
Polite, helpful desk staff.
Free, very fast shuttle to airport, which leaves at regular intervals.

Cons:
First room we checked into smelled very strongly of smoke, although the switched us to a new room immediately. The smoke detector in our new room was broken, which explains how people have been smoking in a non-smoking hotel!
Hotel is very far out from train station - you need to take a taxi to the station, or spend $50+ on a taxi into the city. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you need to travel back and forth to Manhattan very often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments.We greatly appreciate your kind remarks on behalf of the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. I am sure our viewers find your comments useful when booking our property. Please also note that traveling to Manhattan is convenient being that we provide a complimentary shuttle to the train daily every hour from 7a- till 1p amd 5 p till 9p. There is also the Q48 and Q23 located right outside of the hotel that drops you off at the train. You can be in the city in less than 40 minutes. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for our three night stopover in New York. Prior to our stay we were in contact with hotel staff who were very helpful regarding our questions (we were first time visitors to New York) and that helped put us at ease.

We actually arrived after midnight on first evening but the room was very comfortable and a nice, large size too. When we got the opportunity to explore what the hotel had to offer I'd have to say I was happy with the customer service at the front desk (and while we were there, there was a very rude customer who had made a mistake of her own but the staff were more than helpful and accommodating).

The buses were as advertised, (or should I say shuttles) times were right and convenient and helpful too, bus drivers were helpful with advice. Location wise, perhaps it's a little far out for those who really want to explore New York and Manhattan - this isn't a complaint from us as we knew that before we booked our stay there, and the booking was more to do with the convenience of our departing internal flight being from LGA.

The pool and spa/jacuzzi area was clean, well maintained and supervised and very relaxing, and further (perhaps most importantly for those looking for a good nights sleep) it was absolutely quiet throughout the night, which was lovely for us.

In the interest of balance and clarity it should be mentioned that I do agree with some prior reviewers about the lack of eateries in the area being a bit of a disadvantage however this should not come as a surprise if you do your research as we did - if you are prepared for this, and a slightly longer trip into Manhattan if that is your purpose for choosing this hotel, then you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks about the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. Your comments are very helpful for our Trip Advisor Community . Thank you again and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice Hotel...Very Friendly staff, but bring your own food if you arrive after 3PM on Saturday. Absolutely no place to eat other then overpriced bar food. We walked to two close-by hotels, no food there either. All three hotels had a restaurant but not one was open...all three close at 3PM??? Other then this I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks about the Laguardia Plaza hotel. Our Pavillion Grille is open for continental breakfast from 6a till 11am. Our Embers Lounge opens at 3p and is open till midnight . Thank you again and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Elmhurst
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
0.2 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS LaGuardia Airport Hotel Queens
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 17 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Property: LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
Address: 10404 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369-1665 (Formerly Crowne Plaza New York - LaGuardia Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you have come to NY for Business or leisure you will be greeted with a warm welcome and our hospitality will exceed your expectations at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. We are located directly across from LaGuardia Airport and eight miles from JFK Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza East Elmhurst
Crowne Plaza New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York East Elmhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing