We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service not worth price. Don't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LaGuardia Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in East Elmhurst
1 review
“Bad service not worth price. Don't recommend”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I choice this hotel because I had a lay over flight the next day, when I got at the LaGaudia airport I did not find any courtesy phone which the telephone representative of LaGaurdia Aiport Hotel told me there would be one. Thank God there was an Airport employee nice enough to call the hotel from his cell phone to pick me up and my 16 year old daughter but the hotel hung up 2 time and the 3rd time they told him that the shuttle will pick us up inside the Aiport . Not convenced my daughter & I started walking around & flag down the shuttle. FYI the shuttle employee very rude. We finally got to the hotel at about 10:30. We had to wait at the reception for about 30 minutes before we checked in.

I reserved a month ago directly with the hotel for a non smokers room & I got a smokers room which stunk. The bed sheets smelled as if it where not washed. The TV remotr was broken. I asked for a wake up call at 5:30 am to catch my fight and I never got it but I got up by chance and caught my flight in time. When I told the receptionist about my experience he did not seem to care.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    61
    29
    54
See reviews for
63
71
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is in desperate need of an upgrade and a clean. Our flights were cancelled and in a panic we booked the closest place to the airport. I would have paid the extra money to stay further away in a nicer place. The reception staff are lovely and the lobby area is fine but the rooms are out of the 80's and loud. There was a very flustered staff member on the bar who kept telling everyine how busy he was and how there were flights cancelled and it took him an hour to take our food order. It wasnt busy at all there were hardly any people there. It was literally Fawlty Tours. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdaly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We needed to park at LGA for 10 days, and the rate for one night stay + 10 days of parking was cheaper than just parking in the LGA parking lots. We didn't expect much, but got a large clean room with free WiFi, free breakfast, and a free shuttle to the airport in the morning. Breakfast was very good, and included hot cooked oatmeal. We will definitely stay there again if we fly out of LGA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

great location near the LGA airport. free shuttle. See Rocco for some great advice.....very personable and friendly.. Had a nice time. see times square.. have a drink, take the subway they have a route listing that was very good. nice experience.. the weather could have nicer bit it was grat to see times square. .

Room Tip: No Pool or Spa so I just marked average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bones U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Step back in time for a retro hotel but great staff - it's been a while since I have been to a hotel that has a tube type TV - it reminded me of a couple of decades ago! Tube TV, fuzzy TV picture reception - what a hoot! Also, I would think that in today's day and age a hotel entrance would not have a double step down once you enter. Perhaps there is an entrance for handicapped people, but it may have been indignantly off to the side. It has also been a couple of decades ago since I was warned about my cell phone disturbing the hotel key card - so that was another eye brow raiser - and go figure - it did mess up my card and I had to get a replacement!

Free WiFi! "Wow!" I hear you say...but be warned, the connection speed was PAINFULLY slow and I believe dial up would have been faster - but what computers these days have dial up??? See picture attached.

This all said, but I must say, the service here was very excellent. The front desk check in experience was smooth and fast, the gal very had a great disposition and provided helpful answers to all my questions. The bartender was quick on the draft draw and very kind too. In the morning, the room cleaning service did not disturb me to rush me out but when met in the hallway, politely greeted me and asked if I needed anything (<- Thanks!).

Overall, the convenience of this hotel to LGA was awesome as this was an unexpected stay due to UAL technical issues on my flight home (don't get me started!) and one last note - there is a hotel shuttle (free!) that was timely and speedy.

So step back, enjoy a decent night's sleep and enjoy the "retro" feel to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MashuMashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Best Waitress i ever seen in my Life because She does everything from Tending the Bar, Serving over 25 people, She stays so pleasant and talking to people at the bar, and we think that she should get a large raise, She was the Bus Boy, She got all the Food and all the Checks, and stayed totally pleasant, and Her Boss Rocco kept up with the Food and her Boyfriend should marry her or he's going to lose a great person

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week to spend New Year's Eve in New York and this hotel was a bargain! The room was very clean and even when the hotel is quite far from Times Square they have an excellent shuttle service that takes you to the bus stop and from there you can make it to Times Square very easily. The only things that, in my opinion, will make it even better is to add more hot items to their breakfast and provide an in-room safe. Everything else is just great! Will definitely consider to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sygarcia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East Elmhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
#3 of 12 in East Elmhurst
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn LaGuardia Airport - 83rd St
0.2 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
1.0 mi away
Airway Inn at LaGuardia
Airway Inn at LaGuardia
#9 of 12 in East Elmhurst
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGuardia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Airport Hotel

Property: LaGuardia Airport Hotel
Address: 10015 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369-1325 (Formerly Wyndham)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — LaGuardia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your LaGuardia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguardia Airport
Laguardia Airport East Elmhurst
LaGuardia Airport Hotel New York/East Elmhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing