We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shuttle Issues Aside, Recommended Airport Hotel at LGA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Shuttle Issues Aside, Recommended Airport Hotel at LGA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

First, there are shuttle issues at this hotel. Call the hotel as soon as your flight lands and request a shuttle pick-up. My experience was it took about an hour to arrive from the time of my call. Shuttle service TO the airport from the hotel is much more predictable and runs every 20 minutes. There is also shuttle service to the Line 7 Subway station every hour during many (but not all) hours of the day, which departs on the hour. There is no shuttle service FROM the Subway station to the hotel, but many city buses stop in front of the hotel. My room was clean, modern and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower with lots of hot water and good pressure, but there was no bathtub. A single cup coffee maker is provided but there is no fridge in the room. Coffee and tea service is provided 24/7 in the Lobby and there is free continental breakfast for all guests. My room was located at the end of the hall and had a poor w-fi signal, but the in-room wired internet connection was fine. There are not many places to eat in the area, but local Chinese food delivery was extremely fast and reasonably priced. The gym was acceptable for basic exercise, with treadmills, bikes and elipitical trainers, yoga mats, weighted balls, an adjustable weight bench, dumbbells up to 50 lbs., bottled water and towels. Except for an underinflated exercise ball, the Precor branded equipment was well maintained. If you are so unfortunate as to have to stay at LGA during a trip to New York, this hotel is recommended as a reasonable place to stay particularly when the $69/night rate paid on Hotwire is considered.

Room Tip: My last room on teh end of the hall was very quiet but a long walk to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear FitDude,
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the area. I also thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with out TripAdvisor community. I am sorry to see that you had to wait a little longer than usual for the shuttle to arrive at the airport. In addition, i thank you for highlighting the wonderful things you experienced, "comfortable bedding, complimentary breakfast and glad to see you used and enjoying the experience room". We do provide refrigerators upon request at no cost. Next time you stay with us, please inform the front desk and if one is available we will happily bring it to your room.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    337
    119
    42
    23
See reviews for
285
183
73
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Convenience, convenience, convenience!!!! This hotel is close to LGA airport with free shuttle available to and from the airport, although a shuttle is not needed if you don't mind a little walking. Less then a 10 minute walk to the airport from the hotel with easy access. There is also a shuttle to the subway line 7 into Manhattan every day on the top of the hour. Public transportation is also available for late night returns to the hotel.

The hotel also has a full free buffet style breakfast every morning. There is a business center with internet access in the lower level of the hotel. Also free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel but no wi fi in the rooms. A hard line is available in each of the rooms.

No pool or spa in the hotel. Nearest restaurant is in the hotel next to the Hampton.

Overall I give the hotel a 8 out of 10

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tony V,
Thank you for your review. "Convenience" is what you characterize as one of the many values the hotel offers. We are in fact very close to LGA airport as you state and accessible to the City. I am happy to see you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to greeting you soon again. Travel Safe!

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have consistently found Hampton Inn hotels to provide a clean comfortable option for a reasonable price and the LaGuardia Airport location is no exception. We called to make the reservation (because other locations in the area that showed up on the internet search only would give 7 days or less of included parking.) This turned out to be a great decision. We have stayed at other locations near this airport and they were not as nice and only slightly less expensive.
The math is this: even with a coupon, parking off site is about $20/day plus taxes. So 8 days comes to $160 plus taxes. The hotel, including all taxes and parking for up to 10 days came to $270. So we paid less than $100 premium to stay the night. But given the stress of getting to the airport from Connecticut for an early morning flight, this is well worth it.

oh yeah, there is a very nice breakfast, included (and they had take out bags for the very early monring departures).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Louis F,
Thank you for recognizing our hotel as being comfortable and clean, we try hard every day to offer and maintain a great value at reasonably and competitively rates. Our staff d is our pride at The Hampton Inn LGA. They are the BEST. We will be delighted to see you again when visiting the area or for another early morning flight. No matter what the occasion, we will be here welcoming you again. Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerley,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Over priced for a two star limited service hotel. They seem to have forgotten that Hampton was a moderately priced concept. Over all the common areas look like they are about 18 m onths over due for an update or re do. Wallpaper loose at the edges . High occupancy. Looks liek a horse that was ridden hard and put away wet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear ABC100000,
Thank you for your review. I am really sad to see that your experience wasn't what we aim and doesn't reflect the hard work we put every day in trying to accommodate our guests by providing great service and a comfortable environment. I will take your comment to the appropriate department and have them look into the issue. Should you need to discuss this further please feel free and contact me directly. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is very convenient and accessible. We have stayed here several times when visiting this area. We hope to continue to do so. The staff is friendly, we can look forward to a variety of food at breakfast, and the fitness center provides some basic equipment for a complete full-body workout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take pride in every thing we do at the Hampton Inn LaGuardia and are happy to see that our hard works pays off in making happy guest and in turn they share with our future guests their wonderful experiences and reviews. We look forward to your return at the Hampton Inn LGA.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room was clean but the bed and the pillows were very very uncomfortable. The breakfast selection was good. It is very close to manhattan but they charge for parking lot which is non-sense. Instead you can park on the street .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank msmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnorrisNYCLA, General Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing this quick feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear our location was convenient for your activities in Manhattan and apologize you were uncomfortable in our bedding. We will keep this in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction and hope you will return to stay with us again the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,

Jim Norris
General Manager
Hampton Inn LGA
jim.norris@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed for a two-night weekend stay, and was pleasantly surprised with how convenient this hotel was.

The bed was quite comfy, the shower and bathroom were nice, the tv was quite good, and the room was generally well-appointed for one of its class. My only complaint would be the room temperature. Despite keeping the thermostat set as low as it would go, we couldn't seem to get the room temperature below 75 degrees, which got a bit annoying at times.

I'm used to staying in the city during my New York trips, so this was my first time staying outside Manhattan... And I must say, I was quite pleased! It was no more than a 30-minute drive from any part of Brooklyn and Manhattan, so its convenience was key, while While this property certainly isn't breathtaking, it's what you'd expect to find in its price range. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Peter F,
Thank you for noticing what we try to accomplish every day. Our dedicated team go above and beyond in satisfying our guests needs.
Our location and proximity to the City and to the airport makes us the perfect hotel to stay. With our complimentary breakfast every morning make sure you start your day energized and ready to venture the City. Our shuttle will happily drop you off to the train station where you are able to take the subway to Manhattan. Hope to see you soon again.

Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Elmhurst
0.1 mi away
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
#3 of 10 in East Elmhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
0.1 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites New York LaGuardia Airport
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS LaGuardia Airport Hotel Queens
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn LaGuardia Airport - 83rd St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Property: Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
Address: 10240 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New York Laguardia Airport Hotel East Elmhurst
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport East Elmhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing