We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything made easy here. Day at pool or Zoom Flume Water park... all right there.... walk right in.... evening entertainment for everyone.... campfire .... fishing ...
Rooms a little old but very clean... Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: I like the ground floor by the lake ... but all rooms are close to parking and close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawRockaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I just recently returned from the Country Place Resort. There were 7 adults and 3 kids. We all had a great time. The kids loved the water park and nightly activities. They also enjoyed fishing in the lake. That was their first experience fishing. Our room was nice and big but looked like it was in the process of being refurbished. The carpeting and bedroom furniture looked new but the woodwork and doors needed to be painted. Since we were out all day, and the evenings were cool, we didn't have to use the air conditioners. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The social directors did a good job with the activities. The desserts were fantastic. We would go back. It's a great value for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #22. It was a 2 bedroom suite and was nice and big. Bedrooms had a view of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights/5 days at the Country Place this week. We had 7 adults and 3 children in two "family suites". We arrived at 1pm and we could clearly see that our rooms were ready at 1:30 since we knew our room numbers. The front desk made us wait until exactly 3 pm to give us our room keys. I was told this was the "policy".
The rooms are very plain so don't expect the Marriott. The is a truely a "Country Place" and EVERYTHING is dated and rather plain (and old). Clean but plain. Don't expect digital TV.
The food was decent and the servers tried very hard but they were cleary INEXPERIENCED. Our servers wrote everything down but rarely got things right for whatever reason. They were young and anxious to please. Not once did they say no to anything we asked for however due to their inexperience they wasted many steps and a lot of time. I waited about 10 minutes for a refill of my coffee several times. You are asked before breakfast what you want for dinner. Typically 3 options. Our dinners were average, not bad, not great either. Cleary cooked in advance and kept warm. A few times my dinner was NOT hot enough. Desserts were better than the meals. Same plain bread every night. The lake is just a small pond but the kids will catch a few fish. The outside plastic tables at the water park and outside the lobby area were very dirty and should have been powerwashed prior opening for the season.
The water park had no lines for the rides which was great. Plenty of lounge chairs available. Just about everything could have used an upgrade, but we still had a nice time regardless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent a few days with friends and had the most wonderful waitress. Her name was Brooke and she would so kind and attentive to our requests. She was such a lovely girl and we enjoyed our time with her. I only wish that everywhere we dined had an employee as wonderful as Brooke ! If we do return to The Country Place, it will be because of Brooke !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived an hour before 3 and they made us wait until exactly 3 oclock to check in. We have 2 small children ages 2 and 5. The room was small and very dated. The air-conditioning in the room was barely functioning and the room was hot. For the breakfast service we were the second family to arrive. We were served last, our food was burnt and yet cold. The order was incorrect and our waitress was miserable. We sat and watched the whole restaurant get served,eat and leave. We complained to management, but they did nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Country Place Resort is a great place for families to connect with each other and make new friends. This is like a family camp with meals together and plenty of activities for everyone of all ages. The Water Park has obviously been expanded over the years and can sometimes be very busy but I always felt that my kids were safe, at times we could even let them use the water rides without us. The owners have done an awesome job of providing activities for kids and adults after the park has closed. We were extremely impressed. As a family it was a fun time for us and we really could see what a fantastic place for all families. The ones we met had been returning year after year. In once case for over 15 years. Most impressive was the children/teens who were thrilled with the activities and reconnecting with the same friends each summer. A great place for families.

Room Tip: Choose the suites over the standard rooms if you have more than one child. The suites are much room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ed k, Owner at The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your thoughtful words about your recent family vacation at The Country Place Resort. We have been serving families and their vacation needs for over 40 years and we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family stayed at The Country Place Resort from a Sunday through Friday (8/19-24). I cannot get over what a phenomenal place this is!! My 8 & 5 year old little girls LOVED THIS place and were so upset to leave. The water park is just right for their ages, and they rode everything a million times each day! The Resort itself was dated yes, however, we were not expecting the Trump plaza, we did our research, looked at the photos and it was absolutely fantastic. From the manager Joe, to his amazing staff who would bend over backwards to see to your every need. The grounds were well kept, and having so many different things to keep your little ones occupied it was great that you can let them run free without being on top of them all the time.

Food was fine, (not 5 star, but you are not paying for some 5 star restaurant) We thought the breakfast was plentiful, and good, and the dinners had a different variety, and the quality was good!!

As I asked my family (husband who is EXTREMELY picky) where they would want to go next year...they said "The Country Place Resort"!! Hands down that is where we will be!!!

Room Tip: If you just want a room, go for the basic. If you want more space, go for the family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DawnMarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
307 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
16.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
516 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kaatskill Mountain Club
12.6 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#2 of 5 in Hunter
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park

Address: 91 Shady Glen Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1346
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Price Range: $319 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE COUNTRY PLACE "A Great Family Resort" Home of Zoom Flume Water Park. All packages include unlimited water park admission and FREE Zip Line Ride, complete home-cooked breakfast & dinner and all resort amenities. Low children's rates, 1 & 2 bedroom family suites available, free wireless Internet, in-room refrigerators, coffee makers and DVD players. Great new attraction - Riptide Cove Wave Pool. Heated pool, lake for fishing & pedal boats, outdoor sports & evening family activities make The Country Place Resort the perfect spot for a true family fun vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Place Hotel East Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing