We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Fun Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Country Place Resort is a great place for families to connect with each other and make new friends. This is like a family camp with meals together and plenty of activities for everyone of all ages. The Water Park has obviously been expanded over the years and can sometimes be very busy but I always felt that my kids were safe, at times we could even let them use the water rides without us. The owners have done an awesome job of providing activities for kids and adults after the park has closed. We were extremely impressed. As a family it was a fun time for us and we really could see what a fantastic place for all families. The ones we met had been returning year after year. In once case for over 15 years. Most impressive was the children/teens who were thrilled with the activities and reconnecting with the same friends each summer. A great place for families.

Room Tip: Choose the suites over the standard rooms if you have more than one child. The suites are much room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ed k, Owner at The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your thoughtful words about your recent family vacation at The Country Place Resort. We have been serving families and their vacation needs for over 40 years and we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family stayed at The Country Place Resort from a Sunday through Friday (8/19-24). I cannot get over what a phenomenal place this is!! My 8 & 5 year old little girls LOVED THIS place and were so upset to leave. The water park is just right for their ages, and they rode everything a million times each day! The Resort itself was dated yes, however, we were not expecting the Trump plaza, we did our research, looked at the photos and it was absolutely fantastic. From the manager Joe, to his amazing staff who would bend over backwards to see to your every need. The grounds were well kept, and having so many different things to keep your little ones occupied it was great that you can let them run free without being on top of them all the time.

Food was fine, (not 5 star, but you are not paying for some 5 star restaurant) We thought the breakfast was plentiful, and good, and the dinners had a different variety, and the quality was good!!

As I asked my family (husband who is EXTREMELY picky) where they would want to go next year...they said "The Country Place Resort"!! Hands down that is where we will be!!!

Room Tip: If you just want a room, go for the basic. If you want more space, go for the family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DawnMarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We did enjoy our stay at the Country Place, but it's far from being a resort. The staff is very young and friendly, the grounds are well kept, but the rooms and the water park could use updating. I had trouble sleeping on the bed that was provided. Additiionally, the lakeside rooms (the lake is really just a pond) are small and the decking on that side of the whole building is quite old and should be replaced. The food interpretations were sometimes a little awkward (I got a minestrone soup with elbow macaroni and big chunks of beef that looked like stew and a Chicken Marsala that was fried chicken) but for the most part the food was good and satisfying. The water park is also open to the public, so it can get crowded with long lines, but still, it is a fun place. With a few improvements, it could be much better. It would be nice to sit in a jacuzzi and take in the mountain view. They could also use some sort of crosswalk accross the road that intersects the lodging from the dining and park. My 8 yr old did not really get that this was an actual road- not a pathway. It was over $700 for 2 nights for the 3 of us, so it's not the cheapest (breakfast & dinner and the small water park are included), but with some additional ammenaities and upgrades it could be very good.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are quite small, the suites might be a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeanNY66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for a family reunion the weekend the water park opened. Due to the fact that it had just opened, the rooms were a little musty, but that went away quickly. Also, there were a few kinks at the water park restaurants, but the staff was extremely friendly and did everything they could to make our trip a wonderful experience. After dinner each night, the staff had activities planned for the kids, like roasting marshmellows, playing the Wii on a big wall outside, jump houses, Chinese lanterns, wave pool, and much more. They were so outgoing and the kids loved them too. The food was good (especially breakfast). They have a bar area and stayed opened as long as we wanted to be there. The resort pool was heated and clean and the kids had just as much fun using it as they did the water park. As far as the water park goes, it was the perfect size and had rides and pools appropriate for the kids in our group (the kids' ages ranged from 9 months to 12). We had such a great trip and hope to be able to do this every 2 years from now on. Just one piece of advice: If you're from the south, just know that the sun is very different in NY and sunscreen is a MUST every 30 mins to an hour, and the rub in kind (no the spray) is better :o).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a party of ten traveling together with four adults and six children ranging from 1 to 10 years old. We stayed at the resort for 6 days and 5

nights without running out of things to do! I would 100% recommend this resort to anyone for a relaxing and fun-filled vacation.

Pros:
Water Park on-site
Multiple playgrounds
Heated outdoor pool
Wave pool
Lake with fishing and paddle-boating
Anything you could want for breakfast - cooked to order
Lots of different selections for dinner - cooked to order
Always sitting in the same place for meals
Special selections for children, or they can order from the "adult" selections
Spacious rooms
Excellent staff - servers/entertainment/housekeeping

Customer service is generally the number one complaint when vacationing, but not at this resort. Anything we asked of ANYONE was met with a smile and
a response. Whether it be more bread for fishing, fruit cups at dinner (when they weren't on the menu), rainy day activities to keep the kids
entertained, more graham crackers for smores, extra beach towels, etc the request was filled. There were activities during the day and in the evening
to include a wagon ride to a local farm, campfires, bouncy house, movies projected otudoors for viewing, bocce ball tournament, casino night, and design
your own pillowcase. You could also do any of the things listed above at just about any time. Every meal we had at the resort was very good and there
was enough selection for anyone to find something they liked. The bed was more comfortable than my own and the kids slept extremely well because they
were so tired by the evenings and the place is quiet with plenty of fresh air.

Another poster mentioned the envelopes left for tips at the end of your stay with suggested amounts. I found this a helpful guideline, but never felt
any pressure to leave a tip of certain amount.

Overall, we had an excellent vacation and spent a lot of quality time eating, playing, and enjoying each other's company.

Room Tip: The resort is small, so all of the rooms are in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Remember customer service and the intamacy of a "family" resort? The Country Place Resort will remind you. The staff is so accomodating but blend right in with the guests so it has a very friendly environment with a service emphasis on you. The staff comes in our their day off because they enjoy their job and enjoy the guests. This is every aspect of the staff. The wait staff; the front desk; the bartenders; housekeeping and ESPECIALLY the activities staff (which seams to include everybody).

Food -GREAT! It tasted like true home cooking with fresh ingredients and a different dinner menu every night.

Rooms - GREAT! Very roomy. Cleaned every day, to the extent that it smells clean, not just a quick vacuum. 2 tv's. DVD player, with movies at the front desk. I recommend the family suite. Very comfortable beds.

Water park -GREAT! Catered towards the kids, but fast enough for the adults and NO crowds, even when it was "crowded". Try Wild Water West, its hidden but guaranteed to make you feel like a kid again. Come and go as you please as your room is 5 minutes away from anywhere in the park. But they also have a private heated pool for guests only, which is a lot fun and very warm.

Grounds -GREAT! A pond where you are guaranteed to catch a fish (yes, guaranteed). Country like feel, without being in the middle of nowhere. No limitations or restrictions like you would get at most hotels/resorts. Bouncy house every night. Ball field. 3 playgrounds. Basketball courts. Big enough to play everything, but small enough where you can always see the kids and let them be a little independant.

Activities -GREAT! There is an activity every night. BUT there are also unscheduled activities, just ask can we get a softball game; kickball game; basketball game; etc, and they will round up as many guests and/or staff as possible and try to get one going.

Best part is they only have apx 24 rooms, so it can never get crowded and therefore it wont lose the intamate feel.

Room Tip: The family suites have a couch and therefore are roomier. The 1 bedroom suite has a lower and an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are from the Padavan Residence at PSCH, located in Flushing Queens. My name is Lorraine Aull, I had the pleasure of meeting the following people who definitely touched all of our hearts with their smiles, concern for all of us, their personalities, and their time and talents. I want to thank first the owner for building such a establishment, I want to thank Brian for being such a wonderful person, Sarah, who is so bubbly, Josh, who lights up the room with his smile, Leah, who works so hard for other's people comfort, I did not forget you Lauren,Thank you Megan for your beautiful smile that greeted us every morning. Thank you Dustin, Joe, Christine, Tuesday, Allison, Devin, McKensie and Markie. You ALL have made our trip both enjoyable and memorable and I will never forget you all Again THANK YOU on behalf of all my consumers and the rest of the staff. I wish you all peace and love. Lorraine

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.5 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
13.4 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#5 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwallville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park

Property: The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
Address: 91 Shady Glen Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1346
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE COUNTRY PLACE "A Great Family Resort" Home of Zoom Flume Water Park. All packages include unlimited water park admission and FREE Zip Line Ride, complete home-cooked breakfast & dinner and all resort amenities. Low children's rates, 1 & 2 bedroom family suites available, free wireless Internet, in-room refrigerators, coffee makers and DVD players. Great new attraction - Riptide Cove Wave Pool. Heated pool, lake for fishing & pedal boats, outdoor sports & evening family activities make The Country Place Resort the perfect spot for a true family fun vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Place Hotel East Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing