We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for bikers, terrible place for families”
Review of Blackthorne Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackthorne Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My family and I spent Labor Day weekend at this resort and had a very memorable trip. We arrived shortly after 9pm and watched as the bar filled up with college age, twenty-something's, and bikers. Once we made it to the room we realized the huge mistake we made. The rooms were old, smelly and relatively unkept. When I finally got my kids to bed I noticed a flickering in th window. I peeked out side and found the residents below us enjoying a large Bon fire, an acoustic guitar jam session, fueled by suitcases of natural ice beer (I didn't realize this was still in production) and jack Daniels. The evening was capped of at 430 am when several rounds of fireworks were set off in the center of the resort and lasted about 30 minutes.

At 7am we took a tour of the resort and found the last motley crew standing hanging out around the pool with bottles of firewater and their guitars. As we continued the tour we found caged birds malnourished resting in their feces, a run down play ground from the 80s and a closed haunted house crawling with rodents.

When we made it to breakfast we were greeted by friendly staff and a clean facility. When the food made it out it was hot and tasty. That day we took a trip to Saratoga which was a long ride and not recommended. When we returned for dinner we again found pleasant staff and decent food. We were also able to enjoy the bar and festival taking place. Drinks were fairly cheap and the entertainment was great.

Overall I would not suggest bringing a family to this place. Although many families were there it's geared more towards a single crowd looking to have a good time on short money. Food and service were good given the location.

Room Tip: Rooms are poor quality. Bring your own sheets and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have been going to the Blackthorne for 17 years and it just keeps getting better and better. The food is excellent and they treat you as if you were family. It is a great place for kids--the playground will keep them occupied. The entertainment is always good. Don't expect fancy overdone (and overpriced) rooms--just comfortable, clean and homey. Just spent the weekend there and the Valentine's dinner Saturday night could compete with the finest restaurants. If you want a friendly and fun place to go to, the Blackthorne is a place you will enjoy. My daughter got married there in October and everyone who was a guest at the wedding wants to go back for another weekend.

Room Tip: Ultra deluxe rooms have jacuzzi tubs and more amenities for a slight price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamrock547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

will be going back VERY soon. great place. great people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah19892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were at the Resort during Irish Arts Week. We brought our 15 and 5 year old sons to BlackThorne and both of them asked if we could go back next year! It is very difficult to find a place where both ages can have so much fun. I totally agree with MadMary65 that if you want a place where your kids can meet other kids and have a wonderful experience, this is the place for you. It is not luxury so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the place for you.

We had a comfortable, clean room. Again, it was not luxurious but it was what I expected to find. The food was good. There was a playground for smaller kids and the pool was clean and refreshing. The grounds are huge so there is plenty of space to run and play. While we were there, people were practicing and playing music all over the place so that was an awesome addition to the regular fun to be had.

I would definitely recommend this place and I hope that we will go back another year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melissaa_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I spent the weekend at the Blackthorne Resort it was the end of Irish Arts Week. This is the first visit for me. My room was nice and very spacious it also had a patio outside to relax. The staff was very pleasant. The meals were great and service also very good.
Entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable. I would love to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitorNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The owners don't care much about the resort. The entire weekend, the water was visibly reddish brown. We were showering in rust. It took several trips back and forth to get a key that fit. Food was ok. The beds are uncomfortable. They have good entertainment. Wouldn't want to sleep there again, but hanging out was fun.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nnadeau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I had a great time. It was fun and clean, and I got excellent service from the workers. I would definitely suggest going there, and I will be going again this summer.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xXxErinxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
13.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
301 reviews
8.5 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
32 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
11.3 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackthorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackthorne Resort

Address: 348 Sunside Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are just here to relax or out for fun. Blackthorne has all there is to offer. Enjoy everything from Lodging, Dining, Dancing, Top Notch Entertainment to Indoor and Outdoor Recreation. We have it all!Nestled amidst the breathtaking beautyof the Northern Catskills Mountains, The Blackthorne Resort offers all the comfort and luxury you desire.Terrace views to the majestic mountains, air conditioning, heat, television, and privatebaths. Ultra Deluxe rooms with queen sizebeds, refrigerator, and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackthorne Hotel East Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing