We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful b&b”
Review of The Knowe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knowe B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Carsphairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Knowe is a lovely b&b with very welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. The house itself is lovely from outside and in. Our room was spacious, well thought out and equipped and wonderfully clean with a lovely en suite - no weak, dribbly shower! Breakfast was served in the dining room looking out on to the garden (a work in progress according to Karen and Harry) which will be beautiful in the summer. The food was well prepared and filled us up for hours. We also pre booked an evening meal on our first night - again, a lovely meal. Looking forward to visiting again to explore the area in summer weather.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 237 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights at "The Knowe" we travel a lot and use this type of accommodation regularly, this is streets ahead of the best. The bedroom was perfect, the welcome was warm and genuine, the food great and there is nothing that was too much trouble for Karen the owner. The recommendation for eating out was spot on (The Clachan Arms a few miles away, not to be missed). It is always the little things that make the difference and there were so many for us.
We can't wait to go again. The location is grand - views out onto the moors opposite.
Gordon and Sheila (from Yorkshire)

Room Tip: Just go - the place is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

From when I arrived, Karen was so welcoming and friendly. The house is beautiful and the rooms are so comfy. The smart-tv in the room is good, but you can enjoy the lounge area too, as a wonderful place to relax. If you're thinking of coming to Galloway / Dumfries, this is definitely the place to stay. Highly recommended! I only stayed for one night, but it was definitely a very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Beautiful house, wonderful views and countryside, very stylish rooms and comfortable beds, spotlessly clean , free wifi , scrumptious breakfast and wonderful hosts. This is by far the best b&b on I have ever used. The quality of the house and rooms is first class, you won't be disappointed. I will certainly return and would recommend The Knowe without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

You wont be able to beat this B&B. Karen was very friendly and helpful and her rooms were spotless, the shower was one of the best ones I have had in a B&B so powerful, and the Wi-Fi connection and tv were brilliant. Loved the home made biscuits by the bed, a nice extra personal touch.
The breakfast was great, and really enjoyable, you could ask for no more.
There is a pub down the road which had really enjoyable food also.
I would definitely stay at this B&B again.
Thank you for our pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norahsWsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is the nicest B&B I have stayed at. Karen was very welcoming and hospitable, I only wish I was not just staying for one night.
The breakfast was great the accommodation was spotless although I didn't quite mange to work out the TV- to be fair I didn't ask either
Overall the Knowe would be hard to beat- Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We felt very welcome at The Knowe - our hostess could not have been more helpful. Our bedroom was comfortable and spotless. There is a lovely sitting room for guests. Breakfast was perfect - the Wi-Fi connection is excellent. We shall certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myklkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Knowe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knowe B&B

Address: The Knowe The Knowe, Carsphairn DG7 3TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Carsphairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carsphairn
Price Range: $93 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knowe B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Victorian former Manse House is situated in the village of Carsphairn on the A713 - Galloway Tourist Route. The Knowe Bed and Breakfast offers two beautiful guest bedrooms with stunning views across The Galloway Hills. A warm welcome awaits you, why not book your stay today? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Knowe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing