We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy cottage in a lovely, scenic setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Front of Lavender Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Lavender Cottage
Front entrance of the Cottage Local River - 'Water of Deugh'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Front of Lavender Cottage
Front entrance of the Cottage
Local River - 'Water of Deugh'
Living Room - spot our dog 'Tootsie' at the bottom of the picture
Dining Area
Serving Hatch from Kitchen through to Dining Area
Seating Area in Living Room
T.V. & Coal / Log fire
King Sized Bedroom
2nd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
New Bathroom Suite with Mixer Shower
Fitted kitchen incl. - electric cooker, washing machine, tumble drier, fridge freezer + microwave
Back enclosed garden for pets
Side view of cottage
Local view near cottage
View from cottage window
'Water of Deugh'
Heritage Centre near the cottage
Road to Loch Doon
Road to Loch Doon
Loch Doon
Loch Doon
Loch Doon
We are pet friendly
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carsphairn, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica B
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage in a lovely, scenic setting”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is located right at the start of the lovely village of Carsphairn and is surrounded by fields of sheep with distant hills - beautiful sunsets and scenery out the windows of the cottage. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace after a day out and about. Lots of room, with a big kitchen - perfect for cooking our own meals. Great audio/TV system for rainy evenings and lots of hot water. The owners are very welcoming and attentive and make sure that your stay is relaxing. A great launching off point to explore the Galloway Hills.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Morning Jessica - thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay .
Robert & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin C
1 review
“Cosy pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic accommodation.
We were met by Bob and his wife who explained how to use everything and left us with a log fire.
We travelled to Ayr and the nearby beauty spots of Loch Doon and the Galloway Forest Park, enjoying walks with our 8 year old daughter and dog.
After lots of fresh air it was great to return to the warmth and comfort of Lavender Cottage.
We will definitely be back to explore Scotland further.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Hi Colin,
Thanks for the review - see you soon.
Regards,
Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley...
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is our second weekend in this homely, cosy cottage. The scenery in the area is breathtaking and you don't even have to leave the armchair at the window to see it. To look out of a living room straight onto rolling hills is so calming. The cottage reminds me of my grandparents home so has a very special place in my heart. I instantly feel at home and so do our dogs. I should have said this is a pet friendly cottage and is ideal as there are so many great places to walk dogs (I recommend Polmaddy nearby but there are countless other places). The cottage itself has everything you need, a double bedroom and a room with bunk beds, everything you need in the kitchen as well as a large living and dining room. I don't think I'd ever tire of this place. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked an impromptu visit to take advantage of the Dark Sky park. Unfortunately the weather was against us but the cottage was well positioned to visit all the areas we wanted to visit. 40 mins drive to the Red Kites, 45 mins to the Red Deers, 30 mins to Clattershaws visitor centre (sky park) and 10 mins to the Osprey centre (closed but beautiful views of Loch Doon).

The cottage is located in a small hamlet which has a visitor centre (closed our whole visit), a church with old wall stairs, a post office and a lovely tearoom run by a lovely couple. The prices in the tearoom are quite reasonable for the food we got and the hour and 1/2 of free wifi was worth it. We couldn't get any telephone signal and there was no wifi at the cottage so if we needed to call out we would have had to walk to the other end of the hamlet.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneMarie...
1 review
“Beautiful part of the Country”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Warm welcome from Bob and shown how everything worked. Very homely and comfortable. A bit out of the way but set in beautiful surroundings and was great having the coal
fire on the cold miserable nights as
weather wasn't great.

All in all we still had a great time.

Date of stay: August 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing