We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chilled Out New Year”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green First floor lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green
First floor lounge room
First floor lounge room with open fire and wooden floors
First floor lounge room stairs to second floor external door leading to stone steps
First floor lounge room seating for eight
Ground  floor living area beamed ceiling
Ground floor living area multi-fuel stove
Ground floor living and dining area
Ground floor dining and open plan kitchen
Ground floor open plan kitchen, dining and living area
First floor double bedroom door leading to bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Second floor landing area and twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor additional single bed on landing area
Second floor double bedroom
Second floor double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom en-suite shower room
Ground floor ensuite shower room
First floor bathroom, bath and overhead shower
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HolidayJu...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and quirky cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a week’s stay here with the whole family over Easter (5 adults, 2 kids) Unfortunately for the time of year the weather was against us with the snow! Arrival at property sister-in-law whacked heating on for the owner to turn it off via the hive thermostat had fitted! Picked up a msg via TripAdvisor asking us to call (once connected to WiFi as no phone 3/4G signal in village) and turned out as oil powered central heating oil had gone precariously low. As boiler old, owner worried if ran out of oil it is difficult to restart hence switching heating right down. However despite a very cold first night, the owner in all fairness arrived first thing next day and topped oil up so was warm and cosy for rest of stay! The fires are meant to be the primary heating however, you’d have to have them both burning constantly (burning a small forest) to keep house warm in our opinion, certainly in the temperatures we faced during our stay!
The location is lovely in the middle of the village and views fab. Beds were comfortable and plenty of room in the property. The little ones loved exploring the nooks and crannies! Couple of minor things that with a bit of further consideration would make this property perfect. I.e utensils in kitchen were sparse. Given its location, most people probably would cook in as the pub in village only opens and serves food at certain times. Other nearest eateries are short drive away in Alston (weather permitting road access!). Therefore a few more things I.e veg peeler, few more sharp knives, scissors, washing up sponges (that are clean!) would just make life easier! Oven was ok but took twice as long to cook food even though it’s a fan oven, so might be on its last legs- not sure how long the door will last either, it has clearly had wear and tear.
It was clean and tidy- though a lot of the cutlery/cups needed washing before use and a few of the pans had residual grease on so needed washing before use too.
Note the recent installation of a second electric shower in main bathroom, and this is essential given the number of people the property accommodates and that the boiler only has enough hot water per day for equiv of 1 bath.
On plus side, the WiFi was really good- we were able to stream 2 football matches without buffering at all! Which is bonus when no mobile signal and the weather being as it was.
If you’re after quirky and quaint and don’t mind the odd foible this property has to offer then it would live up to your expectations. If you’re after a little more (home from home) then it probably won’t!
The weather was against us a little which is beyond both our and the owners control but obviously affected our stay.
Nevertheless overall we had a pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Thanks for the review, we like to meet people when they arrive, however on this occasion, we had arranged a time to meet but 30 minutes after the time we decided to leave as we didn't know when they would arrive. The guest had only left a home phone number so could only contact by message through tripadvisor. We wanted to explain why the heating was off(it had been on a few hours that day) and that we would be back to put oil in the following morning. We also left 3 bags of coal so that it would be more than warm enough and 2 of the bags were still left after a week!! We are continually updating and adding equipment as we go along, additions of dish washer and new shower in the past few months are examples. We will monitor our systems to make sure our standards don't fall and think that the house is terrific value at less than £15 per person per night based on 8 sharing. We try to be as flexible as possible with our guests and good communication between us is essential.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheaton6
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out New Year”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great break just after Christmas and for New Year. Perfect place for us a real homely cottage with loads of space for seven adults and with everything you need to hand for staying in and good eating places a very short drive away or walk if your feeling adventurous. Would definatley recommend and will be visiting again very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Thanks Nicola, glad you enjoyed it.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vikki R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty village”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights-family of 8 ranging from 3-43. For us it was what we needed location wise, village is beautiful, Tiny shop for newspapers, into next town for bigger shop! House was tidy, a bit grubby, but with muddy boots and kids wasn’t too bad. Beds are ok, need some new pillows/bedding- all a bit grubby/old. Our issue was the shower/hot water. House has a tiny water tank, so one bath/one lot of washing up and it’s all gone- upstairs shower makes ALOT of noise when running, isn’t very warm, and isn’t very pleasant. So that meant we were all using the one shower downstairs, which is built into a cupboard in the bedroom. With all of us returning from walks muddy and cold it was a bit of a downer! House is ideal for a short break when there is 8 of you!! I couldn’t imagine staying longer. Would be easier for a smaller group. The location would get 5*. Just feels like house needs a little bit of love, which I appreciate is expensive, but think I was expecting a little more than we found there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2017
Thanks for the review, we are continually updating as we go along and have just completed a kitchen update and added a dishwasher. We also replaced the shower with an electric one so there is now continuous hot showers in the bathroom and also the shower downstairs. We update bedding, duvets and pillows periodically and think that for a group of 8 paying less than £15 per person per night is terrific value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria ele...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely and confortable place”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

we have spent 3 days in the house and the north. house was really comfortable and big enough for a family of 5. just some of the kitchen tools were not proper clean and some bulbs broken.. but in any case i would recommend it for families that loves countryside and a quite place to forget stressful life in the city! looking forward to see you again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, we will be updating very shortly and rectifying things like bulbs, thanks for the feedback and see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Smithy”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks. 3 adults and 4 children from 6 months to 12yrs old. Accomodation was fine, however the stairs were a bit steep for young children. Some of the fixtures looked a bit tired and the beds were not very comfortable. However the location was lovely and the locals were really helpful and kind. On the whole a good price and adequate accomodation. We didnt meet the owners but Paul was polite and helpful with queries about the rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thanks for the review, we are updating the property all the time, most of the beds have new mattresses this year, so it could just be they are not comfortable compared to your own bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
Thanks Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing