We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cosy and in a lovely area!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

C0linP29
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very cosy and in a lovely area!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of six (three couples) for the bank holiday weekend. All throughout the booking process, Paul was great. Kept in touch along the way and leading up to the weekend he let us know everything required before we arrived.

The cottage was fine for the six of us. Three double bedrooms had enough rooms for the weekend, and the living room and living room/kitchen was enough. I do think if there were 8 adults it may be a little cramped but only for longer than 2-3 nights. The beds were not the comfiest. An opinion shared by everyone, but they done us the few nights we were there. I think we would have struggled if we were there any longer.

Absolutely no phone signal in the village and we couldn't get the wifi working but the owner is looking into this. It wasn't a huge issue as ten minutes to the village of Alston and phones worked fine.

Would certainly recommend the walk to the waterfall. About 90 minutes over the fields, but on a nice day it is a lovely walk and a great sight at the waterfall which you can climb up and walk behind.

A great weekend but would say if you are looking for a little bit of a lively area this isn't for you. If you are happy as a group of friends or family, having fun together in the cottage, it's perfect.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thanks for the review, we are continually updating and welcome feedback. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happilydi...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great cottage to get away from it all”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage as a get away for my 30th birthday. The cottage was great and very easy to find as its the focal point of the village. Inside some parts of the cottage are a looking a little tired but not that its a problem just don't expect a brand new hotel standard looking room. The area is beautiful and it is within an hours drive of a good number of places to visit. It was a peaceful getaway and I would happily return. There is plenty of space and having two sitting areas and a massive dining room table was very handy. Wi-Fi was slow but never stopped working the whole time we were there, but don't expect any mobile signal at all :) not really a bad thing.

Only tips I can give for the area are:
- There is a pub in Alston called Victoria inn which does Indian food or takeaways, seems odd but its great.
- Another good place to eat is Alston House, which also did lovely food.

In the cottage:
-Take your Sky card as there is a sky box but channels are limited without your card.
- The shower on the first floor is amazing but very loud and the hot water runs out fast, the one downstairs is electric so can be used if the hot water does run out.
- If you are using the top bedrooms turn the electric heaters on when you get there (is its cold) then turn them off when you go to bed. The rooms were cold but got very hot at night.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lots of room and space
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidratc...
Wigan, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this with a group of friends for a few days. It is brilliant for small groups.
Will be booking this again in the future, great get away to relax and do some walking. Stunning location defo recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollyollyb...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful break with 5 kids!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was happily as we expected in a lovely location in the Cumbrian countryside. Although the were seven of us, due to the size of the property we never felt we were on top of each other and with 2 lounges there was plenty of room to spread out.
The location was idyllic and so peaceful. Things to do include the local lead mine museum which we all enjoyed and the chance to walk behind a local waterfall.
Al in all a lovely stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thanks, we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma s
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fantastic stay at The Old Smithey, accommodation was perfect, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone :

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booked at very short notice due to weather being too poor for camping - owner sorted everything out for us through holiday lettings website. Cottage was fantastic and met by owners who were so welcoming and friendly - as was the lovely cleaner who was called out to prepare the cottage for us so quickly!! . Our party size was 4 adults, 3 children and 1 infant. More than enough room, safe for kids and very warm and cosy. All facilities were excellent and even had wifi which worked perfectly. Pictures shown are brilliant on website but being in the cottage for real they don't do it justice as it's beautiful. Excellent value for money and would recommend to everyone and anyone. Thank u both very much Angela and Paul for a perfect 3 night stay! Xx

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitingoya...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage at beautiful place.
Had a fantastic weekend and stay in Old Smithy. It was a very nice drive till Old smithy bit far from Lake district but we forget the distance once we reach the place.

Thanks Paul for such a nice accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
See you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.