We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green First floor lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green
First floor lounge room
First floor lounge room with open fire and wooden floors
First floor lounge room stairs to second floor external door leading to stone steps
First floor lounge room seating for eight
Ground  floor living area beamed ceiling
Ground floor living area multi-fuel stove
Ground floor living and dining area
Ground floor dining and open plan kitchen
Ground floor open plan kitchen, dining and living area
First floor double bedroom door leading to bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Second floor landing area and twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor additional single bed on landing area
Second floor double bedroom
Second floor double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom en-suite shower room
Ground floor ensuite shower room
First floor bathroom, bath and overhead shower
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phildisbu...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing to mention is that the area in which the cottage is set is beautiful. The cottage itself is very nice, well-appointed and makes a good use of space. The cottage owner was polite, helpful and friendly, which helps you to be more disposed to enjoying the break to start with. The local village of Alston was beautiful too and you could pretty much buy everything you're likely to need there.

For travellers who look to make an issue of every small thing (see the one-star review) there were some very minor things to complain about but why make issues of insignificant stuff, life's too short to be so grumpy.

The only thing we genuinely found to be an issue was that the cottage wasn't very baby friendly, no cot, high-chair or functioning safety gate available, so we had to feed the baby on knees, bring our own travel cot and get off our behinds and chase the him round a bit more...but that helps to burn off the holiday cooked breakfasts.

We had a great time all in all and would recommend the cottage.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Glad you enjoyed it and we will try to get a high chair in the near future.
Hope to see you again
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCB82
Gateshead
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty looking cottage ruined by what's inside”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All 6 of us were really looking forward to our weekend break as this cottage has a 5 star rating and glowing reviews. This was not what we found though. The cottage looks very pretty on the outside. From the first moment we arrived it was let down after let down. We had to climb slippery, moss covered stairs to retrieve the key, which only opened the top half of the stable door that is upstairs. My friend had to climb in to go downstairs and let us in. I had to scrub the fridge out as there was mould and dirt inside. There is a toilet on the ground floor and a bathroom on the second. Both toilets needed cleaning, the bath had black mould around it and was dirty. Then we discovered signs saying we couldn't flush toilet paper down the toilets and we're supposed to use the bins provided, we had to empty them ourselves every day!

Beware the carpet on the stairs! We have never ever seen carpet as badly and as dangerously laid, ever! It was overlapping the stairs, it had creased up against itself, ive provided pics to show but you can't see just how bad it was on them! The owner said he only noticed this after I emailed him when we had left, but they'd been down quite a while by the state of them. The heating system was padlocked, yes padlocked! We found how to turn the heating up and down but couldn't turn it on when we wanted to. We had to try and keep two fires going if we stayed in which was hard work. And this was at the end of November into December!

The wifi stopped working on the second night and didn't come back on at all. Apparently you can get a mobile signal if you walk up a hill out of the village.

The village of Garrigill is beautiful, quiet, peaceful and in a great location for travelling and walking. Alston is just down the road, High Force is the other way along the road. It is surrounded by fields and trees and rivers, which make for lovely fresh air and the locals were friendly. I would very much recommend staying in this village if you can, but this cottage certainly isn't 'luxurious' as one reviewer reckons. A big disappointment for us all.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The village we were in
Liked least: The cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Old Smithy. We appreciate all feedback so that we can use it to improve our guest’s holiday experience.
The stairs we climbed outside to get the key from the key store were very slippy and quite dangerous.Our reply: The stairs have recently been covered with an anti-slip resin to prevent slips. However we are moving the key store to the ground floor but this is because of the stable door being locked at the bottom.
2)The key only opened the top half of that door so one of us had to climb over the bottom half of the door to get in and go downstairs to open the front door. Our reply: – we are sorry that the bottom half of the door was locked- this may have been due to the last guests who lost the key for the upper part of the door and locked the door via the bottom half –either way we will make sure that we check this next time – thanks for pointing it out.
3)The kitchen needed a good clean, I sat and scrubbed the fridge out before we could put any food in it
Our reply- the kitchen is fully cleaned between each guest – the fridge/freezer was internally dismantled after last guests, shelves/door containers were taken out and washed in warm soapy water in sink, I know this as I did it myself. The fridge/freezer is virtually new(bought new 6 months ago) and can’t understand why it would need ‘scrubbing’.
The toilets had signs saying we couldn't put toilet paper down it and we had to put it in the bins provided! Both of the toilets! How come that wasn't mentioned in the description or the reviews? That was really the worst thing I've ever encountered on a holiday in England!
Our reply – this sign has been up for 2 years and no-one has ever mentioned having a difficulty with using the bin as most people are aware the need to protect the environment by saving the waste put into the water system. The cottage is often let out to groups of 8 and experience has shown that up to a roll of toilet paper per person (we could tell by the colour of the toilet paper in the drains) had been put down the toilet over one weekend, along with baby wipes, face wipes, sanitary pads, etc etc on other occasions.
6)We also had to clean both of the toilets before we could use them
Our reply– both toilets were cleaned with bleach both inside and out and bleach put down them, bins emptied toilet paper provided– (again I can clarify because I did them myself)- after last guests - perhaps they need a final check to make sure any dust that may have settled is removed – thank you for pointing out.
7)The carpet on the stairs from the ground floor to the first floor were so badly "laid" they were dangerous!
Our reply – we noticed this after you left and this has been remedied.
8)There was no reception to make phone calls from mobile phones and the phone box was broken in the village so we relied on the wifi in the house to keep in touch with our families and kids, but the wifi stopped working on the Saturday night and didn't come back on even after we reset the box
Our reply– sorry about this but we have no control over signal strength – we will change the details of the cottage to let people know this and also that they can drive two minutes either way to the top of the two hills out of Garrigill to get a perfect signal so they can communicate with friends. The wifi was working on the Sunday you left when we went up to clean and check the property. But thanks anyway we will make sure guests are aware of the limitations of the wifi
10)The heating timers were actually padlocked so we couldn't get access to them! In winter we found this to be in extremely bad taste. Not all of us could manage going out for the day and struggled to keep two fires going to get some heat
Our reply – the heating was set on timer so that it came on for 4 hours in morning and 6 hours in evening. This is increased when the weather deteriorates.
12)In the bathroom the dirt/mould around the bath was really awful.
Our reply – there was some mould and this has been cleaned and re grouted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastically quiet and relaxing in some of the most beautiful scenery in the country”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant weekend with our family (6 adults and 2 children) and have to say that the Old Smithy is a beautiful cottage, warm and cosy (especially with howling wind and torrential rain outside!), exceptionally quiet and very spacious, plenty of room for all of us. Everything we needed was provided for and is definately a place we would go back to. We recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet break away in some stunning scenery with plenty of places to walk to, a lovely village only 3 miles away and only 20 miles away from Penrith. Thanks to Paul for a wonderful break.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Thanks for your comments.
Hope to see you again soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spacious old stone built property, comfortable and welcoming.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely house set in a village location, with a village green right outside for all to play on.
The local residents were very friendly and gave lots of information about local walks, waterfalls and other places to visit nearby. The local pub is now unfortunately closed, one of the locals gave my wife a bunch of flowers as an apology for there being no pub! But every village needs a pub, lets hope the locals can take it over.
Talking about the locals there is a very good mechanic 'Alan' who is based about 100 yards up the road who repaired my daughters sick car. The post office opposite the house has a good range of basic essentials.
The house is in a very good location to enable most sight seeing locations, all within an 80 minute drive. We recommend Hadrian's Wall ,the Lakes, Beamish (but get there early as lots to see) Carlisle Castle ,and of course plenty of local walks to waterfalls ,rivers and the Pennine way.
In all an excellent holiday location, our party was aged from 20 up to 80 years of age & we all had a good time!
There was no mobile telephone signal - but a short drive up the hill it soon came back.
The house does have Wi-Fi now.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: Lack of mobile phone coverage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Thanks for the comments.
The pub is opening at Easter 2015 !
Hope to see you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly...
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Picked the perfect week to stay at the Old Smithy, was a perfect house in a perfect location. Had everything we wanted, from a log fire to a nice quiet location. The scenery was beautiful and the walks were amazing. Nearest town catered for every thing you would want and the locals were very welcoming. Would definitely come back and stay again

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: having no wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Glad you enjoyed it , thanks for the comments
See you again soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatje78
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous luxurious detached cottage, plenty of space in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we have just come back from staying here for the weekend. this cottage is extremely spacious, well equipped in a lovely little village. there are 4 separate bedrooms, a well equipped kitchen and plenty of living space. the two owners are extremely friendly and accommodating in terms of arrival and leaving times.
the village is small and peaceful with plenty of walks and there is even a swimming pool you can hire out privately a stone throw away.
nearby Alston if a fabulous town with lots of arty shops and plenty of pubs and eateries. Everyone seemed so friendly.
I would 100% recommend coming to stay at the Old Smithy. It is also exceptional value for money.
Thanks very much Angela & Paul!

Date of stay: March 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2014
So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.
thanks
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve H
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location, fantastic value for money!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Living in Newcastle we wanted a break away to relax and enjoy the countryside. On arrival to the village we were pleased to see a lovely traditional quiet pub within a stones throw of the cottage. The cottage itself was perfect for relaxing after several days walking - High Cup Nick, Middleton-in-Teesdale, High Force and the Source of Tyne to name a few. We also did plenty of exploring the towns close by, Alston 10 minutes, Penrith 30 mins. The cottage was well equipped for cooking for all of us, and there was plenty of bedding provided. There were 2 fires which were lovely to sit around and plenty of books and jigsaws to entertain us! For the days when we didn't cook, the George and Dragon had a great value menu to offer.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - surrounded by idyllic countryside.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2015
Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed it.
See you again soon
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing