We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super family experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Taken across the farmyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage. THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage.
THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM.
THE BATHROOM.
THE RELAXING BENCH TO SIT,SMOKE,AND DAYDREAM.
THIS IS THE MAIDEN TRIP FOR 'THE DUKE OF GLOUCESTER 'ON THE HERITAGE RAILWAY  LINE.certain
THE ENTRANCE TO THE COTTAGE.
ELLIOTT SHARING A JOKE WITH A CUSTOMER.
THE VIEW ACROSS THE FARMYARD.
THE VIEW FROM THE PICNIC AREA.
THE ENTRANCE TO THE PLAY-SAFE FIELD AND PICNIC AREA.
A passing Air Balloon.
Viewed from the Car Park.
Sun rise across the farm.
Meadow lounge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carnie86
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super family experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Booked the cottage for two weeks. It was perfect for our family of three boys. They loved the countryside and there was plenty of space for them to run around. Plus the owners were fabulous with them and so patient. Also the fact that we could take the dog was such a relief. Thanks for a great trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amason001
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy pet and child friendly cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, perfect for Alton Towers. Lovely peaceful surroundings, plenty of dog walks and places to visit, Dove Dale nearby is worth going to.
Cottage is cosy and has everything you will need for a family break, perfect as a base to visit the Peak District.
Great hosts who made us feel so welcome on arrival, thank you Graham & family for a lovely Easter break.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KJT245
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very cosy with beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great place to stay in fabulous surrounding countryside. Owners very helpful and friendly. Very cosy cottage with lots of space and amenities and very peaceful. Would have given five stars apart from the lack of shower (bath only) and poor wifi connection which would have been helpful for work. Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely return sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgtracey
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had a lovely weekend here with family. The cottages are quaint, but more than adequate. Decent sized rooms, kitchen fully equipped. I would recommend this for someone who wants to do some walking or cycling, and people visiting Alton Towers. I managed to get a morning run in also, mostly off road.

The cottages are located in farmland, and the cows are quite curious, and there are a lot, but, a gentle flash of the headlights at night shifted them. Elliot, the resident pony is very friendly. Graham and family are also very helpful and always available. The rooms were warm and well ventilated. There was a TV with a DVD player, and loads of DVD’s.

My only negatives would be the lack of shower and WiFi. Both could easily be remedied. Even one of those cheap shower hoses that goes over the taps would be ok. We went in late October and got very muddy, hence a shower would have been useful. Also, WiFI was non-existent in our cottage. We had to go outside to get a weak intermittent signal, which isn’t always practical. If they could use a repeater or extender from the conservatory, this may help, but, I think this may have already been tried as there were 2 similarly named WiFi signals. It may just be that the walls are too thick, so, an external LAN cable and router would solve the problem. For these reasons, I knock off a single star.

We didn’t get the opportunity to try the local pubs unfortunately, but we tried the Indian takeaway on Graham’s advice, and that was fine.

To sum up, a great place to stay, well situated, and very friendly. I would happily go again and may take bikes next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart K
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great setting!”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Spent 3 nights there in Oct17. Lovely cottage in a very rural setting, excellent location with Alton Towers 10-15 minutes away.

Graham was very welcoming on arrival. Rooms were fine, double beds in both rooms (one also had bunkbeds if necessary). Also supplied a cot, baby gate and high chair for our 2yr old. No shower only a bath in our cottage, but that was fine nice to relax.

Grounds and surrounding area were well kept, with a playing field, picnic tables, kids outdoor toys, chickens and a pony named Elliot.

Would definitely stay there again, if up that part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing