We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Taken across the farmyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage. THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage.
THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
THE LOUNGE IN SWALLOW COTTAGE,VERY COMFORTABLE
THE LOUNGE AGAIN.
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM.
THE BATHROOM.
THE RELAXING BENCH TO SIT,SMOKE,AND DAYDREAM.
THIS IS THE MAIDEN TRIP FOR 'THE DUKE OF GLOUCESTER 'ON THE HERITAGE RAILWAY  LINE.certain
THE ENTRANCE TO THE COTTAGE.
ELLIOTT SHARING A JOKE WITH A CUSTOMER.
THE VIEW ACROSS THE FARMYARD.
THE VIEW FROM THE PICNIC AREA.
THE ENTRANCE TO THE PLAY-SAFE FIELD AND PICNIC AREA.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
llllollla
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cute Cottage”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely stay with our sons and dog Lola in the cottage. Graham was very accommodating, great walks, safe area for kids to play. Clean cottage and lovely all round.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara S
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
“Welcoming and a pleasure to deal with”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Graham was a pleasure to deal with from the very beginning.He and his family were very welcoming and went out of their way to help us in any way they could.The house is very clean and convenient for Alton Towers and after a long day in Alton towers the beds were very comfortable.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Hope_24...
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful property and facilities were just right”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed in this cottage and one next to it with a group of 14 students. We decided to go for a weekend away from Manchester, to get some fresh air and relax before exam season and these cottages were perfect for this, they were immaculately clean, had all the facilities we needed (cooking facilities and space, bathrooms, space to relax). They were also very isolated, which was perfect, meaning we were really away from everything and could properly forget about work! Beautiful views all around the cottages, and lots of places to walk, just a short (20 mins) walk from a bigger town, Waterhouses, with a lovely fish and chips shop (there were other shops, but we just went in the fish and chip shop) Meaning we didn't have to cook every night. The owner was lovely and friendly and I would highly recommend the cottages to anyone!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seraphina...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cosy cottage, friendly owners”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed at the cottage with my adult children for two days whilst visiting family who live near by. We found the cottage to be very comfortable, cosy, immaculately clean and in a lovely rural setting. The owners were friendly and welcoming and happy for my dad and sister to visit for a couple of hours one evening. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend swallow cottage for anybody looking for a place to stay in the Peak District.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

4 miles from alton towers, beautiful scenery, extremely safe, true value for money, comfortable, affordable, stayed for the weekend due to daughters 15th birthday @ Alton towers, quite late when arrived but greeted with hospitatilty and reassurance. I have reccommended all cottages at this location to friends & family and am in no doubt this is where i will stay next year, A true winner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing