We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and lovely people”
other travelers have booked this property
This is a photo of the front of Stable  Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is a photo of the front of Stable  Cottage.
THIS PHOTO IS TAKEN FROM THE SIDE OF STABLE COTTAGE. THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE LOUNGE.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
This is a photo of the front of Stable  Cottage.
THIS PHOTO IS TAKEN FROM THE SIDE OF STABLE COTTAGE.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE LOUNGE.
ANOTHER PHOTO OF THE LOUNGE.IN STABLE COTTAGE
THE LOUNGE IN STABLE COTTAGE.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE KITCHEN WITH COOKER,OVEN,WASHER,FRIDGE&MICROWAVE.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE FAMILY BEDROOM.[SLEEPS 4]
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE SHOWER ROOM PLUS TOILET AND WASH HAND BASIN.
THIS IS THE BENCH OVERLOOKING THE PEAK DISTRICT.
THIS IS THE ENTRANCE TO THE COTTAGE,s.
THIS PHOTO IS TAKEN FROM ACROSS THE FARMYARD.
THE VIEW FROM THE BRIDGE OVERLOOKING THE STEAM HERITAGE ENGINE[2 MINUTES UP THE FIELD]FANTASTIC.
SUNRISE VIEW FROM THE COTTAGES.
ENTRANCE TO THE PLAY-SAFE FIELD.
THE DUKE OF GLOUCESTER ON THE FIRST TRIP [CHEDDLETON TO CAULDON].
THE VIEW FROM THE CAR PARK.OVER THE PEAK DISRICT.
A Passing Air Balloon.
View Across The Peak District.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
1 review
“Great location and lovely people”
Reviewed December 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ideal location for the Peak District and Alton Towers. Cute little cottage with everything you need and very reasonably priced.

Graham the owner was lovely and very welcoming, helpful and understanding of our situation (my daughter was awaiting a big operation and Graham said he would have refunded us if we had to cancel due to that, which was lovely. Luckily we didn’t need to cancel, but it gave us peace of mind that we wouldn’t lose the money if we did. Very few people would offer that).

Graham also took our shopping in for us when we were delayed and the order arrived before we did!

Perfect customer service, thank you for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna B
1 review
“Beautiful, tranquil location”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned from an amazing 2 night stay at stable cottage with my husband and our 2 children aged 10 and 6. Shortly after arriving and being greeted by the most friendly host Graham our shopping delivery arrived from Tesco so we had all the supplies needed. This is the fifth visit I've made to Broomyshaw Farm and we'll definitely be returning. I've been visiting here for the past 21 years and Graham and Joyce are the most amazing hosts who are always on hand when needed. On this visit our children met the friendly pony Elliot and fed the chickens. A lovely place to visit with children as there are scooters and toys outside and a field with football posts and superb views of the countryside. There cottage is well equipped with games and dvds. The cottage is well stocked with everything needed for cooking and cleaning etc. Would definitely recommend for all travellers. Very close to Alton Towers for all those thrill seekers! Thanks once again to Graham and Joyce and Amanda for your hospitality! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ9294
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

we've been staying here now for around a week and a bit great cottage has everything you need very comfortable bed, lots to do in the area, we can highly recommend the Indian takeaway it's very good; lots of great walks and don't forget to visit the Yew tree pub

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairytate
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I and my husband have been visiting Broomyshaw for many years now, we came pre-children by ourselves and with friends and family, and we now return with our children, retuning this year with the newest addition.
We have stayed in 2 of the 3 cottages, and we always love our stay. It has become a home from home, our little family get away to the countryside.
The cottages have all you need, good kitchen facilities, bathroom and sleeping arrangements, the beds are very comfortable.
Our son loves feeding and stroking Elliott the horse, and we enjoy playing on the field behind the cottage. There is so much to do around the area, especially if you like outdoor activities. The local chip shop is lush and the pub serves up a great Sunday lunch. Most importantly the owners and their daughter are lovely, very friendly and always around to help if you need them.
We will be retuning next year for another family visit.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruiser70...
1 review
“peaceful, cosy retreat”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

situated between two lovely market towns, we found this quaint little cottage.
it was the perfect base for our four night stay. Graham and Amanda were very
welcoming and friendly hosts and made us feel very comfortable. the road leading to the cottage is a bit "rural" but hey its the countryside! and well worth a few yards
of lumpy road when get there. Graham brought us some freshly laid eggs for our
breakfast which were delicious. totally relaxing and enjoyable stay. we will be staying there again next time we visit the area ( if they'll have us )

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FayeandRu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location for cycling. Don't forget pound coins.”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A long weekend cycling in the Peak District. Easy directions but beware the track to the farm is not in the best repair. Excellent location for picking up the Manifold Trail.
The property was spotlessly clean, with a new tea towel, washing up sponge etc.The WiFi does work in the cottage, via the router in the main house - the kitchen and living room had good signal. Comfortably furnished. Kitchen well-equipped but missing, as per everywhere, an enormous pan. We like to cook. There was a sheet of foil in the grill pan but not a roll in the drawer; did not matter - owner happy to provide more.
The farmyard is pretty secure, but shared between 3 cottages - when our bike lock was too small to be useful at shackling the bikes, they were locked in the conservatory of the main house .
The weather was pretty grim as per all August BH, so we tried out the heating - the storage heaters appeared non-functional but the burner in the living room was niiiiice. On switching off the plug-in air fresheners (allergic sneezing), we did eventually detect a whiff of damp.
We used £3 of electric over a 3 night stay with lots of cooking. £2 was provided by the owner.

Bring - all edibles, cling film/foil if applicable, all bathroom things except toilet paper, enormous saucepan if applicable, a couple of pound coins for THE METER.

Had a lovely time, good value for money, nice helpful owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pleasant helpful host
Liked least: The eventual whiff of damp and the lack of soap in the bathroom (those staying in another cottage also had none)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Good News as 2017,there is now FREE Central heating and all inclusive Electricity.Enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing