We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel, one of a kind.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roycroft Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roycroft Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic hotel, one of a kind.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Roycroft is a special hotel built in 1905 and fully restored in 1995. The fact that they haven't updated to key cards adds to the charm. Rooms are spacious and clean, the restaraunt is wonderful and the staff is very friendly. The furniture and decor is all vintage Roycroft.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    52
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
86
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
21754
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I were frantically trying to find a place last weekend (Labor Day Weekend) near Niagara Falls, and everything was full (we should have looked in Canada but that is another s). story). We then widened our circle of search and found Roycroft in East Aurora (they had ONE room left only). We took it and hoped for the best. We could not have been more pleased. The ambiance was wonderful and the desk staff were extremely nice and helpful. Our room had four rooms, a comfortable environment, and a completely different type of room then either of us had had before (see pics). The area seemed quite safe with people walking around outside and it was only 1 block from the main strip of restaurants although the Roycroft restaurant seemed VERY nice too (although we did not go there). Although the restaurant served breakfast (not free), we only had the complementary coffee (which was rather weak) and headed back to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soporifics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Roycroft for a night with another couple on the way to Niagara Falls. I selected this hotel because of it's comfort and historical significance and we were not disappointed. The architecture, appointments, furniture are distinctive and representative of the Arts and Crafts Movement. This is not a cookie cutter type hotel with run of the mill rooms we've become accustom to.
The lobby and terrace dining areas were beautiful. The staff was gracious. The rooms were clean,roomy, comfortable and the furniture and appointments were one of a kind. Technologically up to date, the TV worked properly and the free WiFi worked perfectly.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montemaggioresette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Being within a short commute from East Aurora, we would never have stayed overnight here except for the fact that we won a certificate for an overnight stay at a benefit earlier in the year. We stayed only one night, and it could not have been better. Hotel staff we encountered at the front desk were friendly and competent. Our room (suite) was spacious and comfortable. We lacked for nothing. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable getaway. My only quibble might be with the bathroom. It is very large, and the toilet is in a small, separate room. However, the toilet room has no door on it, so there's no way for one person to enjoy privacy while on the toilet and have someone else able to use the sink, shower or tub. Aside from that, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you appreciate the Arts and Crafts movement of the turn of the 20th century you will thoroughly enjoy this Inn. It also serves as a museum chronicling the Elbert Hubbard community he formed there approximately 1904. We stayed in the beautiful guest house with lovely arts and crafts furniture. The room was impeccably clean and inviting. The food in the restaurant is excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinor2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Roycroft at the end of April 2012 while we got our same-sex marrige licence. The town hall was right across the street. The clerk was very nice and did not seem put out at all.
The hotel room was nice and spacious. Though the sitting room furniture was period, it was not very comfortable. The 2 person spa tub was great! Bed was comfortable. The only thing that bugged us was the lawn work being done outside very early woke us each morning.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor where we could not hear people wallking above us, but an historic buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Farmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are going to Buffalo to see the Frank Lloyd Wright designed Darwin Martin house. It has been beautifully restored in the arts and crafts style. Our room was in the "Guest House" portion of the hotel off the end of the long veranda. I was thrilled to discover that Susan B. Anthony had stayed there. The room was good for two people. Other rooms can accommodate more and have separte sitting areas. For two people, the cost was reasonable. We had complete privacy on the veranda. The tour of the Roycroft property was informative and the gift and antique shops had some beautiful collectibles. The Sunday Brunch is EXCELLENT. Don't miss the downton Vidler's emporium.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmfertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Aurora
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn East Aurora
Hampton Inn East Aurora
#1 of 2 in East Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Hamburg
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buffalo South I-90
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
18.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roycroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roycroft Inn

Property: Roycroft Inn
Address: 40 South Grove Street, East Aurora, NY 14052
Location: United States > New York > East Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roycroft Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Roycroft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roycroft Hotel East Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing