We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold, dark and slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of East End Grill & Taproom - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
East End Grill & Taproom
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cold, dark and slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had lunch here on a winter afternoon. The beer selection was interesting and the menu acceptable. There are mainly sandwiches and burgers - lots of burgers. Food was okay to fine. My husband quite liked his turkey club. And my burger was pretty good. But the restaurant was very dim on a winter day and COLD! In addition, even though we were one of only 3 tables, we waited more than 45 minutes for our lunch. I would not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stopped by in a friday night for a fish fry. Fish was good - but the sides were flavorless. Cole slaw had too much vinegar, macaroni salad had no taste at all and the german potato salad was floating in grease. Looks like a nice enough place have a beer or sit on the patio in the summer, but wouldn't go out of my way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun casual spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Food is good tavern fare, super friendly staff & chef. Bar great, love to throw peanut shells on floor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Passyparis290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will never go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Sat outside,ordered, brother had a beer, sister in law got her salad and then we sat there for one hour and 15 minutes. When we started questioning the waitress she said ten more minutes. Then a very,very rude man who seemed to be in charge told us if we had ordered something like chicken fingers we wouldnt have had to wait so long! Needless to say, we then left. My brother even paid for his beer, as which certainly should have been free as an apology for such a horrible non meal.will never go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scraigb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lunch was good but nothing was outstanding about this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall, the food and service was average. The place is rather small and does have an outside seating. My spouse had the East End burger with Buffalo Bison beer and enjoyed it. I had the Pull-pork sandwich on a pretzel bun. Both meals were acceptable. I noticed that there was no apparent way for handicap patrons to get into the restaurant except for maybe the front patio.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyberKat_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East End Grill & Taproom also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing