We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Past, present, and future are fully visible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roycroft Campus

Roycroft Campus
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in East Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roycroft Campus in East Aurora, New York, is the best preserved and most complete complex of buildings remaining in the United States of the "guilds" that evolved as centers of craftsmanship and philosophy during the late 19th century. The Campus, designated a National Historic Landmark district (NHL) in 1986, contains nine of the original 14 structures including the Inn, the Chapel, the Print Shop, the Furniture Shop, and the Copper Shop. You are invited to come visit and discover the rebirth of the Roycroft Campus as if Elbert Hubbard and the Roycrofters never left.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Past, present, and future are fully visible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The buildings, both new and old, tell the story of the Roycrofters and their vision of a meaningful and useful life.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CraftsmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
778 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
“Google For The Turn Of The Last Century”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

That is how this place was described by a guide on our recent visit to the Roycroft Inn and Campus. We decided to stay here at the last minute. My wife was aware of the Roycroft movement before our visit but I was not. It is a very interesting story how this group of innovative folks gathered here in East Aurora and devoted themselves to this great craftsmanship. The artistry and the quality are obvious. The ties to the Larkin company thus Frank Lloyd Wright are interesting. The grounds and shops are beautiful, the town is quaint and the whole experience is very restful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“make sure you have time and money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

extensive campus with lots to see and buy. you can spend a lot of time and money in this place. there is also a tour, which we skipped because we had done the museum tour and learned a lot of the campus from that and our own reading.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank steveNjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east aurora,ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The feeling too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere.....oh I know you can't taste atmosphere but somehow the serenity and the beauty of your surrounds adds to the experience. The food is good ,sometime it lacks imagination and if you visit often enough it shuns variety of any magnitude. The breakfast meal is great...very good food ,terrific service and what a way to start the day in that sanctuary. The mornings are also serene. It can be somewhat festive ,in a reserved sort of way ,on evenings when they have wine tastings or music or both. Makes the food taste better too. You really should visit, make that a must .....its an institution

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank chulaEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right Up My Ally.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I enjoyed mulling around all the different parts of the shop. From the gift shop to the antique shops. I would have enjoyed taking a class if I had known to look it up ahead of time. They didn't have anything going on when I was there.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kathi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roycroft Campus also viewed

 

Been to Roycroft Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing