We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place To Visit”
Review of Vidler's 5 & 10

Vidler's 5 & 10
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in East Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1930, as one, small shop, Vidler's has grown to become the largest 5 & 10 store in the world! Today the third generation of the Vidler family runs the store which has become a local landmark and destination point for shoppers near and far. A great place for the entire family and out-of-town guests, we are an old fashioned five and dime store, and so much more! With 2 levels occupying 4 connected, 19th century buildings, our many counters overflow with a wide variety of merchandise. From nostalgic candy and toys, kitchen gadgets and crafts to the newest items for the recreational shopper, our distinctive shops feature gifts, home decor, jewelry, candles and seasonal decor. A one-of-a-kind shopping experience awaits you at Vidler's, located on East Aurora's historic, red-brick Main Street.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

This place is packed full of all kinds of cool things. This is a fun place to visit love. Love historic features of the store. There is something for everyone here.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"penny candy"
in 20 reviews
"step back in time"
in 15 reviews
"kitchen gadgets"
in 12 reviews
"old fashioned candy"
in 9 reviews
"greeting cards"
in 6 reviews
"unique items"
in 8 reviews
"cookie cutters"
in 5 reviews
"buying something"
in 5 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 7 reviews
"gag gifts"
in 3 reviews
"art supplies"
in 3 reviews
"christmas items"
in 3 reviews
"awesome store"
in 3 reviews
"household items"
in 3 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 4 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 4 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018

This place has something for everyone. So many rooms to explore and a feast for the eyes. Always something new to see. Brings back memories of when I was a child at the five and dime, but also has contemporary items as well. Just a lot of fun to visit whether you "need" something or not. Last year hubby and I bought some gag gifts for our twenty-something kids for Christmas and had more fun browsing and laughing. Worth the drive from Rochester for a fun day trip.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lobstahluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

So many items. Definitely something for everyone! Purchased a couple of Christmas items. Highly recommend and one item off my bucket list!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank SuzieQ6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Whenever we take a ride we usually wind up at Vidler's. This wonderful shoppe takes you back to the days of the 5 & 10 cent store. It is reminiscent of Woolworth, Kresge and all other such stores. You literally can not come away without buying something. Yesterday, we went looking for something but could not remember what it was. My wife did find a Gnooche Board. All you little old and young ladies of Italian heritage will know what that is. We found my mothers when she passed away but couldn't remember what it was. Well my wife recalled as soon as she went to make Gnooche and had to roll them with a fork.

Well there is always the penny candy and those candies that are hard to find.

Go there and enjoy the walk through nostalgia!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank OldFart565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Always an enjoyable shopping experience. Vintage or new or that "something" you can not find somewhere... Viddlers is number one in my book!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jassminrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidler's 5 & 10 also viewed

 

Been to Vidler's 5 & 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing