We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B

Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B
Reserve with OpenTable
Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Earlville
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Outside of Hamilton in the quaint 4-corners of Poolville. Delicious everything. Attention to detail. Local ingredients. Quality.

Helpful?
Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Level Contributor
126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Would have been better if everything was hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I recently dined there with a group of friends. We had all been there before and had enjoyed that visit. Generally, our recent meal was good. The problem is that it was good...not great. The pear tart appetizer was almost like a dessert rather than an appetizer. People generally enjoyed their entrees. However, those who got the steak special found it a bit tough. And, everyone whose entree came with the rice pilaf and squash commented that the main focus of the dish was hot, but the sides were barely warm. The Kahlua torte was strangely lacking in Kahlua flavor.

The service was excellent. The atmosphere was decorated for the holidays but not overdone.

I would go there again, but am disappointed that they didn't "hit it out of the park".

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heartofny, Owner at Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We hear at the Poolville Country Store Strive to make every thing from scratch and use as much local product as possibly feasable the local beef special is something we are trying and for the luke warm sides are truely sorry and wish it was mentioned at the time so we could correct the problem at the time of the problem we hope to see you soon thank you for your feedback preprioters/chefs Roger & Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent! Food, Service, + Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

An absolutely superb dining experience in every way, but especially for Central New York. This small, quiet restaurant is an absolute gem. The first thing you will notice when you walk in -a necessity in CNY- is the warmth and coziness of the interior. Escaping the cold winter weather, the dining room welcomes you with a roaring wood-burning fireplace and (for the Christmas season) a lovely decorated Christmas tree. The dining room is relatively small, with only about 10 tables, but has a perfect ambience. Not too quiet, certainly not too loud.
The food itself is also delicious. While the menu is somewhat limited in its scope (compared to most big restaurants, whose menu rarely changes) but certainly has something to please everyone (including vegetarian options). I shared several appetizers as entrees with my companions, among them the crab cakes, goat cheese croutons, and vegetable egg roll. I could not have been more pleased! Absolutely delicious.
The table service left nothing to be desired - it was friendly, prompt, attentive but not at all overbearing. The server brought us several baskets of delicious homemade breads and refilled our water glasses before they ever reached empty.
For dessert we shared the warm apple crisp with toasted cinnamon ice cream: divine! I'm glad we shared because it was a good-sized portion (not huge though) and we were already quite full. Finally, our server delivered us each a divine chocolate truffle, dusted on the outside with bitter chocolate. An indulgent end to a delicious meal!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dippinginthesauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fireside dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Local beef carpaccio, corn chowder, pear tart, opah, champagne. Too full for dessert, but choices great. Walk in fireplace was aglow and several other tables enjoying dinner, very efficient service. My wife and I thought this was our best meal thus far. We look forward to having a lovely dinner here every time we are in Hamilton.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east aurora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD, SERVICE AND ATMOSPHERE! A REAL DELIGHT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

"Poolville Country Store Resturant" needs to be put on your "just can't miss list". The resturant is a 1800's building impeckably clean and well maintained. The atmosphere is a walk back in time. It has a huge walk in size fireplace. the atmosphere is charming and peaceful. the food is the very best i've had in a very long time. the servings are huge! the service outstanding. The prices for a very classy menu are reasonable and You walk away knowing it was worth every penny and that you got the best of the deal. This is one resturant i truely look forward to going to again and again when we stay in the area again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DmL342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B also viewed

 

Been to Poolville Country Store Restaurant B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing