We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation is what it is all about!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waldheim

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eagle Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waldheim
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation is what it is all about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Waldheim is a rarity these days. Clean, comfortable cabins, full American Plan in a common dining room, wait service, cabin service, wood service, right on a beautiful lake. My family has been going for 29 years!

What's so special you ask?
It's rustic. This is not a 5-star hotel in a big city. Instead, The Waldheim gives you a beautiful place in the woods on a very special lake. The cabins range from 1-5 bedrooms. They all have a living room, a porch, a fireplace and refrigerator to store beverages. There is no radio, no TV, no telephone (except at the office) no internet (except at the office) and no cellular service. There is good lighting to read a book in the evening and a place to plug in your favorite music device. There is cabin service each day who come in to make the beds, clean the bathroom(s) and sweep up. There is wood service, too. Every morning, the fireplace is loaded up and started to take off the morning chill. Wood is kept fully stocked along with kindling, newspapers and matches for you to start it up again in the evening if it's cool. Someone comes around with a bell to wake you up in time so you don't miss breakfast.

What about the food?
Three meals a day are served in the common dining room. Breakfast is wonderful series of choices from fruit, home-made granola, oatmeal, pancakes or french toast (both served with real maple syrup). There are two choices of entrees at lunch and dinner. Overall, the food is always freshly prepared and high quality. You do have to arrive between 8 and 9 for breakfast, 1 and 2 for lunch and 6 and 7 for dinner. If you know you are planning a day hike or car trip the next day, the staff is happy to prepare a picnic for you to pickup at breakfast the next morning.

Is all you do is eat?
The lake offers good swimming, canoeing, kayaking, water skiing (if you have a boat - if you don't, there is a place you can rent one). Hiking trails abound within a half-hour drive. There are several docks. There are lots of places to sit and read or talk with people you've met. There's a volleyball net, badminton net and horseshoes. The only organized event is a camp picnic that goes to a local spot with a short hike to whet the appetite, and a fire-cooked lunch of steak, potatoes and pancakes for desert.

My family has met many wonderful people at The Waldheim, some of whom have remained friends for years.

See the pictures posted to get an idea of the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: All the cabins are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want to vacation in New York's Adirondack Mountains, and stay on a pristine quiet lake, we highly recommend The Waldheim. It's a 10 minute drive from the nearest village; so no tourists will interrupt your relaxation. Their price includes 3 meals daily; an outstanding breakfast along with lunch and dinner. You'll have you own waterfront cabin; many of which were built over 100 years ago in the Adirondack style. The evenings can get cool; a cabin boy will start a wood fire in your fireplace before you awake each morning to take the chill off! Hiking is abundant and nearby; including two trails you can only access by boat. You can bring your own boat, rent one from the marina at the other end of the lake, or rent a kayak or canoe from the Waldheim's boat house.

Their season is short, from mid-June through Columbus Day. In the summer the lake water is warm enough, and in late September the leaves are turning their brillent red, orange, yellow and gold. We've been there twice this year, in July and over Labor Day weekend.

If you want to experience the outdoors of the Adirondacks, and are physically able, this is a great place for parents and older children. Also, since the cabins were built during the time when people rented by the room, not by the cabin, you can share a cabin with your friends. Each bedroom in your cabin is private; each cabin has its own living room, fireplace, bathroom and outdoor porch.

Room Tip: If someone in your group is physically challenged then Cozy might be the best cabin, no stairs. Ivy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SyracuseNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I have gone to the Waldheim for a weekend in the autumn for the last 4 years, and we have a cabin reserved for this coming Sept. Big Moose Lake is spectacular. We bring our canoe, and canoes and kayaks are also available to rent. We have a favorite cabin, which has a bedroom, bathroom, living room, and back porch facing the lake. There's a big stone fireplace. The Waldheim serves 3 meals a day in the beautiful rustic dining hall. The food is delicious (not great for vegetarians) and the servers are very friendly. The owners are very helpful. There are no phones in the cabins, or TVs or radios or cell phone service, and the quiet is just what we need. There are good hiking trails
nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SGG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Waldheim has welcomed guests for over a century at Big Moose Lake in New York State's Adirondack Park. Five generations of our family have made The Waldheim our summer vacation spot starting in 1932. Remarkably, The Waldheim founder's family continues to manage the resort in much the same way that it was when it was established in 1904.

This is a family resort where people make their own fun by boating, swimming, hiking, water skiing, reading on the dock, playing horseshoes, taking a nap or sharing cocktails on the porch overlooking the lake before dinner. The major theme is "RELAX" and let the outside world slip away.

There are 17 cabins that range in size from one to five bedrooms to accomodate any size group. Each cabin has one or more baths, a wood burning fireplace or Franklin Stove, a refrigerator and a porch or porches that overlook the lake. Guests enjoy daily housekeeping service, fresh linens, a fire set each morning in your fireplace and plenty of firewood to keep it going. Three meals a day are served in the central the dining room which also has views of the lake.

We rarely leave the lake, but for those who do golf courses and tennis courts are nearby, as are places of historic interest including the Adirondack Museum as well as a number of "great camps" such as The Sagamore all of which are within an easy drive. Summer is a fantastic time to be at Big Moose Lake and you can also enjoy the crisp mountain air and spectacular Fall colors through Columbus Day.

Please be aware that being a guest at The Waldheim is often addictive! The link to the website is: www.thewaldheim.com
JWH

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JWH616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
1.1 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldheim

Property: The Waldheim
Address: 502 Martin Rd, Eagle Bay, NY 13331-2138
Location: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Eagle Bay
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing