We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some much needed R & R”
Review of Big Moose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Moose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eagle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
“Some much needed R & R”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Living in New Jersey and working & travelling to New York City every day I really needed some R & R. Normally we fly out to an Island, this year we decided that we wanted to visit the Adirondacks, which for some reason I never thought of doing before as a vacation. Mike & I were pleasantly surprise as to how much we enjoyed our trip to Eagle Bay, NY. Staying at the Big Moose Inn was perfect, what an enchanting place to stay, the Big Moose Lake was amazing. Mark & Susan were perfect host, they were engaging without being intrusive. They were there when you needed them but not watching over you. Even though the Inn is a bit old they kept it clean and it made you feel like you were visiting family. The staff were kind and accommodating and they made you feel welcomed and we met other guest who were friendly and engaging. I had a bit of a scare when Mike decided to go canoeing and went too far out in the lake and the canoe overturned. I ran in screaming for help and was shocked to see how quickly Mark/Susan and the other guest responded. Mark flew out the Inn to get help from his neighbor. They were on the lake in minutes and rescued Mike from the lake. I'm am so grateful for their quick response as I had thought Mike went under and didn't come back up. I nearly had a heart attack, but Susan was there calming me down and assure me that everything would be find. We will definitely got back, we had not felt that relaxed and calm in years.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor which has A/C, room 17 had a spectacular view of the lake. But we would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
106
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I had the opportuntiy to spend a couple of days at The Big Moose Inn recently and it was a welcome break from our busy schedules. The drive on Route 28 through the Adirondacks was scenic, tons of lakes. We found the Inn to be charming, with fantastic hosts in Mark and his wife Susan. They were very hands on and great to chat with. Our room overlooked the lake and it didn't bother us that the floors creaked. We knew we were not staying on a high rise hotel and that was why we were there. We met new friends on the porch and had dinner together. Food and company was great. Jake at the bar made everyone feel at home. The two nights we were there in late May the bar was busy with a nice atmosphere. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The setting, decor and over all experience we had was exactly what we expected from "reading" the info about this Inn. It If you are looking for a Hilton or Westin on the lake you are in the wrong spot. If you want something laid back, comfortable, perfectly situated with a lot of character then this is for you. As you can see by all the reviews the new owners are making quite the effort into turning this into a well run establishment. We ate in the bar but it also offers both the bar and restaurant fare depending on what you are looking for. Both nights we dined here the service was great and food exceptional. The owners are on site a lot and always checking with the guests to see if their is anything they need. The restaurant manager is also always on site and ready to help with anything you need when dining. Yes the walls are thin, the beds we had were 2 doubles put together so not the most comfortable, floors creak, the stairs alert everyone you are coming down and the decor is somewhat outdated but being redone slowly. That being said, for a 100 year old Inn its still a hell of a good stay unless like I said earlier your looking for a Hilton on the lake and want to shell out 450 a night.

Room Tip: Get one of the lake view rooms, you will not be disappointed. We stayed in room 19 and it looked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We rarely write reviews, but Mark and his family and staff deserve a huge thumbs up for being not only the perfect hosts, but for making us feel like we were part of the family. We arrived on a Friday and left on Sunday and yet we got more R&R than the usual full week of vacation. We hiked, kayaked, lit bonfires, explored the area and closed out the bar. The beautiful lake views and fresh night air gave us the best sleep we have had in a long time. The food was delicious and the wine selection was awesome. If you are looking for a true get-away, this is the place. We can't wait to return in the winter when snowmobile season starts. Summer or Winter, this will be a regular getaway for us.

Room Tip: Definitely lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed her over the weekend using a Living Social deal- two nights in a lake view room w/ $50 dinner credit and picnic lunch for $270.

I can't fault them on value, since I had the deal, but I don't think I would pay full price. Here's why:

1) yes, the inn is old and outdated, but for me that adds to the charm and uniqueness of the place. But, the old pipes are rusty, making the water taste metallic and irony. The sink, tub, toilet, everything is stained red from rust. I'm not sure how one would go about fixing a problem like that, but in the meantime, provide your guests with bottled water. We had to drive miles into town to buy fresh drinking water because the tap water (even in the restaurant) tastes like blood.

2) on top of the rust stains, our shower was DIRTY. There were hairs left behind from the previous guests. The cheap plastic shower curtain was smelly and stiff with soap scum. Dust collected on the upper lip of the shower stall. It was clear that housekeeping does the absolute bare minimum in that room. Oh, and the shower head, which is caked with rust, emits a loud ear piercing wail, reminiscent of snake-charmer flutes.

Oh, and speaking of housekeeping - we were giving a meat and cheese plate upon arrival, which was nice (it was warm and dried out, but how are they supposed to know when we plan to arrive? We appreciated the touch). The next day, however, housekeeping LEFT the food there on the dresser...as if we would still want to eat lunch meat that had been sitting out for over 24 hours. We're not picky- that's just not safe. By the time we got back from our hike that evening it had begun to smell, so we disposed of it ourselves in the tavern downstairs. I was a bit appalled that they had the audacity to leave a tip envelope in this room.

3) the first night the temperature in the room got up to well over 80 degrees, even with our windows open. Which was really frustrating because we left the windows open for the cool air, letting in all the cigarette smoke from the beautiful deck below. It would be nice if they politely suggested that people smoke in the parking lot outside the tavern.

Luckily when we mentioned the heat, management put a fan in our room which helped considerably during the second night.

4) Walls are thin and the floors are creaky. We could hear the people below and next to us, and we felt bad every time we had to walk to the bathroom. Again, we understand that this is an old place, and those things are going to exist, but I don't see it mentioned here very often, so people should keep in mind that they could get a room next to an insomniac with the tv blaring all night. It's a roll of the dice.

5) staff and food were average. At the restaurant we noticed that the locals got friendlier service and more attention than the visitors. The continental breakfast is about what you'd expect from a budget hotel - boxed pastries, cereal, gross overripe fruit. Nothing special.

6) the most minor point - the bedding and decor is circa 1973, bed is hard but tolerable, and pillows are cheap and flat. This is bare bones, not luxury accommodations (again, we expected that and didn't mind so much- but I saw the term "luxury " used on their website, which is blatant false advertising).

To end on a positive note- the grounds were gorgeous, and I liked the laid back "come and go as you please" attitude. The bartender was a gem, and I loved the business cards on the ceiling (whoever said this is a fire hazard" is too paranoid and should never leave their home. ::eyes rolling::).

I would love to see this beautiful old inn get a much needed facelift, and the staff get a refresher course on hospitality management. It's always the little details that are going to determine whether guests return or look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at Big Moose Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your candid and detailed feedback. It was our intention to respond to this review immediately, however we decided it would be more prudent to implement changes and upgrades first and only then address your concerns.

1) In November 2012 we replaced our entire water filteration system. The new system has successfully removed the excessive iron in our water. Our water no longer has the distinctive taste that comes with a higher iron content.

2) All shower curtain liners and shower heads have been replaced. We always have replacements on hand and housekeeping has been instructed to replace any curtains or shower heads that show any visible wear without having to seek management's approval first (or waiting to hear a guest comment on it). As for the food left in the room, this has also been addressed with housekeeping and we apologize that it was not handled appropriately.

3) Central heating was installed many years ago and because it is not controlled individually by room, we have decided to keep the temperature at a lower setting and provide supplemental heating options upon request.

4) Part of our welcome and check-in process is now to remind our guests that it is an old building and that sound carries, and to keep volumes at respectable levels after 11pm. We have a non-smoking policy on the deck and have posted more signs to enforce that policy.

5) We strive to provide all of our guests with the same level of service, regardless of whether they are regular or first time guests. And we certainly missed the mark, if you felt you received less attentive service than other guests. As for the continental breakfast, we have changed our fruit mix, and when available provide whole fruit options as well. Pastries and muffins are not purchased as "ready to serve", but are baked fresh daily.

6) To date we have completely renovated several of our guestrooms, replaced mattresses and bedding. As we purchased this lodge only 3 years ago, we were left with many remains of previous owners and we are striving to phase out the "circa 1973 decor" and replace it with a more appropriate Adirondack feel.

There are several more projects that we continue work on to improve the Inn. Thank you for staying with us and caring enough to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

nice hotel deep in the woods......on big moose lake...with rest, bar,and front porch,,,clean, nice rooms......not far from inlet....great food.......easygoing place.....free use of canoes.....swiming...near some trails for hiking.......next door to a marina.....free parking...open year round....good wine selection

Room Tip: be sure to get on the lake,,,boat rides next to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I just wanted to share the very nice experience we had dealing with the folks that run this quaint and scenic inn. We had stayed here in the past and really enjoyed ourselves, but several weeks ago, it was THEE hottest day/night of the year and electric storms knocked out the power to the inn. We were on our way up to the inn when we saw the Power & Light trucks along the road, looking for downed lines. When we arrived at the Inn for the 3 night stay we had paid for and reserved, they were already working on their back up generators to keep their kitchen, bar, and lights on, but the entire inn was just hot as ever. Since we didn't know when the power would be back on, we headed to our room. But it was absolutely sweltering. Being up there in the mountains, air conditioning isn't usually and issue, and it never occurred to me to ask if there was any. It turned out there was none on the 2nd floor where I had reserved the particular room we wanted. So we went back to the front desk and asked if we could get another room. They offered to move us up to the 3rd floor where there WAS air conditioning and very generously offered us 2 separate rooms for the same price (since these were only one double per room and we had reserved 2 doubles in one room) , but there still wasn't any power, and those rooms were even more stifling than those on the 2nd floor. Worse yet, there was no breeze at all and it just seemed impossible that we would have gotten any sleep at all. Again, we went back to the front desk and explained that with no air conditioning, those rooms wouldn't be much better. They were very gracious about refunding our deposit and not charging us for anything at all. The power outage wasn't their fault either, but they were very kind about the whole thing and even called another motel down in Inlet and got us another room since we weren't familiar with the area and it was now about 11:00 pm. I hope we get to stay there again under better circumstances. And at the risk of seeming ungrateful, I do have to be honest to my fellow travelers and mention that the photos of the rooms are not accurate and they have since been redecorated (and not exactly to my taste or what they were before in their website). The furniture was a little shabby and the rooms were rather sparse with little decoration. But again, the views and environment go a long way to make up for this. I just wanted to thank the Inn for being so understanding, even though these were circumstances beyond anyone's control.

Room Tip: Phone and ask questions directly to the management if you are looking at a particular room as the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomesticGoddessTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
4.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
9.9 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.7 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Inn

Property: Big Moose Inn
Address: 1510 Big Moose Rd, Eagle Bay, NY 13331-2107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Moose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Big Moose Inn is located on picturesque Big Moose Lake in the central Adirondacks. This peaceful and relaxing setting is a perfect summer getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. The Adirondack Mountains surrounding the Big Moose Inn offer great summer fun, especially on it's bountiful lakes mid-summer. After a day of hiking, horseback riding, boating or Adirondack fishing, kick off your boots and sit by the Big Moose Inn fireplace or wood-stove and enjoy the ambiance, the food, the ale and our Adirondack lake country inn. This peaceful and relaxing setting is the perfect Adirondack getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. Amenities: • Complimentary Continental Breakfast (typically includes baked goods, jam, fruit, and coffee) • Free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access • Complimentary use of Canoes, Kayaks • Complimentary Dock Space • Swim Beach • TV/DVD/Keurig Coffee Makers • Family Friendly • On site Lakefront Casual Fine Dining Restaurant and Tavern Sorry, no pets allowed. For boarding options please call. During the warm summer months you can cap off your day by relaxing on the porch in one of our rocking chairs. After the sun has set you can mingle with the other guests next to our bonfire and listen for the sounds of the loons on the lake. The Big Moose Inn offers free use of our canoes and kayaks to all of our overnight guests. If a game of checkers is more your speed, why not enjoy them on our floating gazebo dock, one of three docks the Big Moose Inn offers our guests. Check us out on Facebook for additional summers specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Eagle Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing