We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique vacation not just for kids, but parents & grandparents too!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2009

this year our family planned for a different type of vacation. After taking the kids to amusement parks, resorts, and similar venues, you realize that as parents , all you do on a vacation is to follow your kids around, wait in line, spent ...spend and spend some more. When you go home, you feel like YOU need a vacation from your vacation.

This is our first farm vacation, we're an extended family. Grandpa (69 y.o),Grandma (65), my husband & I, Sophia (9) & Emma (6). We all loved Hull-O farm.

We have the Gifford house, it has 4 bedrooms, fully furnished with 'everything' you need. They do the bonfire by the barn just outside the Gifford house. Roasting marshmallows, s'mores, having adult conversations with other vacationing families while the kids are playing hide & go seek was heart warming.

The hayride up the hills gave you magnificent mountain /farm views and Farmer Franks' knowledge of the history of the farm was invaluable. Part of Farmer Frank's hayride was a stop on the hill where an old old cemetery tells a beautiful history of the original settlers of Durham, New York and the 1st Presbyterian church site.

Grandpa loved fishing in the Farm's pond/lake. It's walking distance from the house, you could fish all day long. We joined grandpa by the lake ev'ryday and there was an abundance of fish!!!

The Farm chores the kids loved: picking fresh eggs from the chicken coop, milking the goats & cows. The cats & kittens were so friendly, the kids played with them the most. There were lots of animals in the farm: horses, deers, ducks and cows, lots of cows grazing...they all seemed to be well taken care of.

Of course, all these would not have been all worthwhile without the warm hospitality of farmer frank, Sherrie, Jordan, Jared and Kevin, the other ladies. They were genuinely
warm & friendly. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome & comfortable. We extended our stay to a total of 4 nights because the kids were begging to stay longer.

To top it all, Sherrie is a wonderful, excellent and skilled chef and hostess. She seem to cook her food with love. Food was delicious! thanks Sherry...Farmer Frank actually picked the yellow squash from the backyard garden for dinner.

Thanks Jordan for taking time to bring grandpa to 3 ponds/lakes on your ATV,he had lots of fun.

Pertaining to some negative reviews in this site, we would just like to say that this is a real working farm. Your mind set should be that you are going to experience an actual farm life. If you want carpeted floors,central air, 24-hr room service , fragrant & animal -free environment, then a farm vacation is not for you.
But, if you want a restful,unique, educational and a summer full of heart warming memories, then, you should try Hull-O farm. You'll actually want to buy a farm property after this vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

My son loves animals and we thought this would be a wonderful experience for him- IT ABSOLUTELY WAS! This is a working farm and kids get the experience of seeing what really is behind the workings of farm life. The kittens were adorable- that is all I wanted to do- play with the kittens! Farmer Frank is obviously very knowledgeable about the farm life and he is happy to share that information with the guests. Sherry, his wife, is such a sweetheart- she made us feel like we were old friends coming for a visit. She even took into consideration my vegetarian diet and prepared delicious vegetarian meals while the others had meat based dishes. Her sons (Jacob, Jared and Jordan) were a delight as were the young ladies that worked with her and her mother-in-law. It was a very personal setting and an experience that my son (and my husband and I) will treasure. My son is already talking about going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We really enjoyed this farm experience. The kids (6 years old) loved playing with the kittens, feeding the rabbits, calf, deer, and goats and getting eggs from the chicken coop. Milking the cows and goats was quite an experience as well. Farmer Frank and Ms. Sherry were kind and hospitable. Farmer Frank is a book of knowledge and Ms. Sherry is an amazing cook! We stayed in the Austin House which was perfect! Of f the farm, there were lots of fun things to do as well. We saw fireworks at Windham Mountain for the 4th of July and went strawberry picking. What a breath of fresh air to be in the country and in nature. This trip will forever be memorable for my children and they cannot wait to go back. Thank you again Farmer Frank and Ms. Sherry!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We travelled to the Hull-O farm with 3 Mom’s and 7 children, age 3-5. We stayed for 2 nights/3days in the Gifford house. It was a cute house with plenty of room for everyone to have their own beds and sleep comfortably. We didn’t feel “cramed” in at all.
On our arrival we were greeted by Farmer Frank with a big hello! We got ourselves settled and headed to the barn. The kids were able to bottle feed a 2 week old calf and some goats. There were lots of kitty’s in the barn. The kitty’s were a big hit with the kids. When we first got there I was concerned about them picking them up and getting bit or scratched. As you can imagine with that many young children the cats were manhandled. Not one child ended up with a scratch. The cats were so friendly, one even followed us home and lived by our back door for the couple of days we were there.
The kids loved ringing the dinner bell and everyone got a chance to ring it. Mrs. Sherry made every accomodation when it came to the meals. She asked us in the AM what we would like for dinner and gave us a couple of choices. She also provided chicken nuggets and mac-n-cheese for a couple of our more picky eaters. For breakfast she made pancakes into cute funny faces and made each and every child feel s special.
In the mornings we were able to milk cows and goats, feed the red deer, bunnies, pigs, piglets, goats, etc. Farmer Frank made sure that each and every child had a chance. The children also entered the chicken coop and retrieved the eggs, this was a favorite activity for about ½ of the kids.
There is a bit of down time in the afternoon, about 4 hours. During that time we took a hayride and we were also offered to go to the fishing hole and fish. Locally there is a waterpark, howes caverns and some other activities. We took our crew to a ranch. Children 8 and up could take a trail ride, our little one’s all had a pony ride. After that we headed back to the house , the younger children took big naps and the older ones went to the elementary school(out 5 min’s away) and played on the playground. It was plenty of activity for the children in our age groups.
In the evening Farmer Franks son, Jared, came up to our house and built us a great bonfire in the backyard. He brought along all the fixin’s for smores. The kids had a great time making smores and playing hide and seek. Jared stayed to tend to the fire and make sure it was put out completely before he headed off.
This mini trip was a great education for our children. This was not a resort/spa. It is a farm that focuses on children and showing them the everyday workings of a farmer, his land, and his animals. This trip was planned with full focus on our children, not on the adults. If I was to plan a weekend getaway with my friends, this would not be the place we would have picked. This trip was all about the 7 children and the experiences they had. If you look at our pictures from the trip ever child is smiling in every single shot. The only tears shed in the 3 days were the one’s when we left.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rehoboth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spend one weekend every summer (for the past six years) with our Aunt, Uncle, and cousins at Hull-o Farms... it is like a mini family reunion each year. We travel with our three young children - 8, 7, and 2 who spend all year long counting down the days until we return to Farmer Frank, Miss Sherry and the rest of their welcoming family. The food is amazing... AMAZING.... and I can assure you that nothing is coming out of a prefab box. All of the eggs, milk, and meat are fresh from the farm and the down-home cooking is incredible!

The farm experience is the real deal, not some glamourized version of farm life that some guests may be expecting... it is a glimpse into the realistic aspects of being a farm family in an ever changing world. Farmer Frank is an actual farmer who dedicates a portion of his busy day to leading us through chores, answering any of our questions, and educating us on the various facets of farming that we would otherwise be completely ignorant of. If you are expecting to walk in to a barn that has no dirt in it, where cats and kittens are sipping out of crystal bowls this is not the place for you... at the farm the animals - are animals - there are no spa treatments for your chihuahua here.

Our three children love this exprerience and have enormous respect for Framer Frank, his family, and their way of life. Farmer Frank is a working farmer, not a baby-sitter or all day chaperone... we, as parents see that our children get the most from their stay with the Hulls and know that the children are OUR responsibility, not Farmer Franks or Miss Sherry's.... our kids enjoy the farm under our watchful eye.... the farm family is too busy working to hold our hands all day long. We do chores, fish, relax, play games... and look forward to seeing the Hulls when we hear the delightful sound of the breakfast or dinner bell.

I highly recommend this farm experience to those who will appreciate it. If you are looking for a television version of farm life.... stay home and watch t.v.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank movu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My entire family (20 of us) heve gone to Hull-o farms for the last 7 years and will continue! The kids can't get enough of the place, they never want to leave. We all LOVE the meals and Sherry, Frank and the boys make us feel like family! It is a great place to get away from it all for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryemmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Fantastic trip! Family is incredibly nice and the food was absolutely delicious. Cats were one of the many highlights of this trip, as they were so kind and gentle! Great place, would highly recommend to everyone to get this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
6.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
4.1 mi away
Acra Manor Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
32 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
3.6 mi away
Captains Inn Point Lookout
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Address: 10 Cochrane Rd, Durham, NY 12422-5225
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We share our family farm vacations and all-natural meats and produce with people from around the world who want to understand and experience a part of their history. By helping with farming tasks, you can watch your children or grandchildren milk a cow, feed pigs, or collect eggs for the first time. Learning about farm life in rural upstate New York, from a real farmer, is a unique educational experience that many claim to be "€œpriceless!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hull-o Farms, Family Farm Vacations Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing