We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for kids--enjoyed by adults too!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
Certificate of Excellence
Denville
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must for kids--enjoyed by adults too!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We (two adults--no kids) came here last July because it was on my "bucket list" to stay at a working farm. It was all I imagined and then some. The farmhouse and grounds are lovely. The chores were so much fun and a great learning experience. Farmer Frank and Sherri are wonderful hosts/educators/cooks! George, the farmhand, was a great resource and even took us fishing on his break! My friend celebrated his 62nd birthday there with a lovely cake and a tradition where every guest "signs" the mirror! How cute! I enjoyed meeting the other guests at the delicious family style meals. Being a newly-retired teacher, it was an absolute joy to see the guests' children enjoying their stay there. It's the first time in ages that I have seen children without their hand-held devices outside or at the dinner tables!! They were always sad to leave as were we. We will be back! I look forward to having a glass of wine on the back porch after Sherri's evening work is done! They are hard workers. We left feeling like we had made some new friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
111
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the farm 2 nights (mid August 2013). We are a city family with two kids (2&7) We spent the most amazing weekend ever. I think all the kids deserves this beatiful experience. We participed in a daily chores (twice a day), we fed calves and lambs, and we were very lucky because 6 piglets were born when we were there. George the Farmhand was really sweet with the kids, extra rides and he taught a 7 year old kid how to milk a cow.
For our kids the pond fire with marshmallows and country music was a great experience
I have to mention Mrs Sherry and her home made style cooking. The best meatballs we ever tried, after a long trip from Manhatan to get into the farm.
We had a wonderful time, thank you Farmer Frank, Mrs Sherry and George
We will surely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PATALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Farm 3 nights (August 18-21,2013). This was our second time on the Hull-O Farm and we were so grateful to be there. Our girls (4&7) were very happy to participate in a daily chores, which were twice a day. We learned how to milk a cow. We bottle fed calves and lambs. We fed hens, pigs, cats and bunnies. We loved to collect eggs from the hen house. We also were able to go fishing and the children were very happy to caught their fishes.
They have Farmhand George on the Farm, which is very nice, loves the children and was so great with them. He was so pleased to answer all our questions. He was giving children special rides and my girls loved him very much. He made a chores so much fun. The kids were running after him even between the chores and he let them to help. He also took us fishing and was digging for the worms with the kids.
Farmer Frank is also very nice, sharing his experiences on farming and animals. We also loved Mrs. Sherry a lot. She is so nice and her farm style cooking was so delicious.
There are many animals on the farm: cows, calves, horses, pigs, hogs, piglets, hens, turkeys, dogs, deers, ducks, chicks, cats, bunnies and the most loved by the children baby bunnies and kittens. The children could cuddle and pet bunnies all day long.
During our stay we also had a hayride, we walked through a corn maze and we had a bonfire.
They have three very nice houses on the Farm for the quests. This time we stayed in a Rose Cottage, which was located directly on the Farm. The country side views are so beautiful and peaceful.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Hull-O Farms Vacation to every family. This is a lifetime experience and very educational vacation for kids. I wish every child to have this experience.
Participating in daily chores and being able to see real farm life gave us great moments, wonderful experience and beautiful memories.
We had a wonderful time on a Hull-O Farm.
Big thanks to Farmer Frank, Mrs. Sherry, George and all staff.
We will surly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorotaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a great, "off the beaten path" trip for a long weekend. Good experience for my kids to live the farm life and understand where their meals come from/good for them to see the life of a farm animal (and how it differs greatly from that of a "pet") and work the chores from milking cows and feeding hogs to collecting eggs--my children were up bright and early each morning to do these things, when at home I have a very hard time getting them to willingly feed the dog. Fishing on the pond was quite fun, hay rides with a bonfire, s'mores and a guitar sing a long was a nice cap off to a beautiful day. Farmer Frank takes great pride in his meats and they are delicious, Miss Sherry the farm wife is a great cook, and George the farmhand was wonderful with all the kids. If your kids are not the working type, there are plenty of cats and bunnies to cuddle. If you are a resort person this is not the place for your. If you are looking for a learning, unique experience I would recommend Hull-O Farms. Hurry though, I believe it is for sale.

Room Tip: I think the Rose Cottage is the best place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

...And on that farm they had cows, pigs, sheep, lambs, piglets, goats, calves, red deer, turkeys, ducks, hens, rabbits, dogs, and cats cats cats!!! Sitting down to a home cooked breakfast by Ms. Sherry beats most 5 star European dining experiences with farm fresh eggs and delicious breakfast foods of all sorts -- not to mention Farmer Frank's made on the farm bacon! Waking up to milk cows, feed lambs and goats and then collect eggs from the hens was an amazing experince for our children. They loved getting to touch, feed and care for animals. The photos I got of my little girl feeding a calf milk from a bottle were incredible. Even my husband found a few minutes of peace by fishing at Farmer Frank's watering hole and sharing a first fishing experience with our kids. The evenings continued to bring us marvels as Farmer Frank took us on a hayride to look at an enchanting view of the last peak of the Catskill Mountains and gave us a primer on the local milking history from pricing to the fact that whole milk is only 3 1/2 % milk fat - so forget the Capri Suns...just put milk out on the table for our children. The nights ended with smores, bonfires and fun campfire songs with guitar playing. Our accommodations were fantastic as well. The Rose House was clean, ideally situated and roomy. The beds were very comfortable. The refrigerator, microwave and large table gave us many fine lunching opportunities. Big warm hugs to Little Mama too...meeting her and all the other guests and their children rounded out our time beautifully. Don't forget to bring a tire raft to go down to Catskill Creek for a refreshing swim as well. We thank Ms. Sherry and Farmer Frank and George and everyone for sharing such a a wonderful time with us!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely time- my daughter couldn't stop feeding the bunnies. My son loved the baby chicks. The food was great and we enjoyed the food, atmosphere and other guests. We enjoyed the campfire, skeet shooting, fishing, and nearby attractions as well.

Room Tip: If its hot, ask about AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nestled in the Catskill Mountains, about 15 minutes away from Windham sits Hull-O Farms in a breathtakingly beautiful landscape. Hull O-Farms is a vacation a part. As city dwellers, our contact with animals up close and personal is rare. This weekend we got a taste of life on a farm at Hull-O Farms. Full of knowledge and the willingness to educate, Farmer's Frank and George showed us the reality of the work and dedication it takes to be a farmer. They were always willing to answer questions and show us every aspect of the farm. We got to feed pigs, goats, lambs, bunnies and calves. We milked dairy cows and collected eggs. We went fishing and there were baby chicks and kittens for the children to hold. We did so much in our short weekend! We truly got a hands on experience. We were fortunate to stay in the Rose Cottage that was directly on the property in between a cow pasture and the deer pen. The cottage was immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. While the bedrooms did not have AC, they did have fans and we opened all the windows and it was perfect. We were treated to the delicious cooking of Sherri and her staff. Every meal was a food extravaganza! Her motto was that our job was to "gain 2 pounds." All of the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. On Saturday night we were treated to a hayride tour of the fields of Hull-O Farms by Farmer Frank and then brought to a campfire for s'mores featuring live music with Durham resident Greg. Our only regret is that we booked our trip for a weekend rather than longer. When we return we will be sure it will be for longer than a weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaDavis1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
6.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
3.6 mi away
Captains Inn Point Lookout
6.6 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Property: Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
Address: 10 Cochrane Rd, Durham, NY 12422-5225
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We share our family farm vacations and all-natural meats and produce with people from around the world who want to understand and experience a part of their history. By helping with farming tasks, you can watch your children or grandchildren milk a cow, feed pigs, or collect eggs for the first time. Learning about farm life in rural upstate New York, from a real farmer, is a unique educational experience that many claim to be "€œpriceless!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hull-o Farms, Family Farm Vacations Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing