We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's on the water.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

For Dunkirk, the location is excellent. Beautiful view of Chadwick Bay. The rooms are what you would expect. Small exercise facility and pool is good. The restaurant has reasonably good food but the service is historically horrific. If you sit down, bring a horn or noisemaker to get the attention of the servers. It's better than shouting.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank You for your review, please accept our apologies for the unfortunate experience you encountered in our restaurant. We strive for perfection in our hotel rooms and the service and comfort of our guests is a top priority. We appreciate your bringing these matters to our attention so that we can improve the services we offer our guests/customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great surf+turf +price, decent room + breakfast, lousy shower head. We were part of the SUNY Fredonia Jazz Ensemble Alumni Reunion on Homecoming weekend, personally staying here for the last 7 out of 8 yrs with the group. We stay here to hang out together at the bar, especially after the concert we do and not worry about driving. The bar closed before we returned after the concert @ 10 pm. when they knew about 20 of us were coming. We were very disappointed also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Jayd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us, however please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the confusion of the bar closing early. Next year please speak directly with a manager or front desk to insure it will be open for your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our group The 1970's Fredonia Jazz Ensemble has been coming to this hotel for at least the last 10 years during Alumni weekend. One of the reasons we stay at this hotel is because the restaurant and bar are inside and part if the hotel. This allows us to socialize when we all arrive Thursday night and after our concert Friday night. Both nights the manager let the bartender (a young lady) close down the bar early and leave. On the average our group uses anywhere between 10 and 15 rooms, with approximately 20 to 30 people staying at the hotel. Having the bar closed was a major inconvenience to us. We as a group were extremely dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. In the future just remember to speak to a manager ahead of time to make arrangements to keep the bar open later, we do tend to close early on a slow night. We appreciate your bringing these matters to our attention so that we can improve the services we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were in town for a wedding at the local lighthouse. All of the wedding party, family and friends stayed at this hotel. We had a great time and had excellent customer service at the hotel front desk and also from the bar/restaurant staff. Don't believe the bad reviews. This place is under new management and they were great!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank D Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank You for taking the time to write sucha great review! Positive feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a getaway weekend and this hotel served the purpose. The hotel could use some updating but overall was a good choice. The room was nothing special could use some work but was clean and comfortable. We had a nice view of the marina and lake though the window could have been clearer. It needed to be replaced. It was not very clear due to maybe a broken seal.The desk staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival. A friendly greeting anytime we went out or upon arriving back. The room door was not sealed properly and noise could be heard from the hall as well as light shining in all around. The Sunday brunch was very nice, a good selection of hot and cold foods and fresh made omlets of your choice.The continental breakfast in the morning was simple but adequate.A great place to stay if you have a boat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60974Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it was OK. The entire hotel had new carpet (you could smell the newness). The first room we had the bathtub was rusted even though they had updated the bathroom??? When we looked out of the window it was facing a brick wall (2 feet in front of the window so there was no chance at even having a sideways view). We went to the front desk and requested another room, they accomodated us. They were nice about it as well. The second room was a little better the bathtub was not rusted but there was mold around the tub. The only problem about this room was it was facing the parking lot which was ok, until we heard the train going across the track every couple of hours touting the horn. We stayed here because it is close to our family and we were celebrating "Harvest Fest" but I probably won't stay here again especially for the price.

Room Tip: If you stay on the parking lot side be ready for the train every couple of hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLJ_03936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with our rooms, we are currently in the process of improving our rooms to be more accommodating for our guests, however not all of our rooms face the lake and therefore some do have to have a city view that might be noisey but it is beyond our control and can happen anywhere. I am happy to hear that our staff was very courteous and helpful to your needs. Thank you for staying with us and we will be using your feedback to correct problems and improve the services we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for few years now as an alumni of Fredonia State. This hotel declined in the last couple of years. The rooms are ok not the best, kind of shabby but the beds were comfortable.The restaurant and lounge were poorly run. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was tasteless especially the "eggs". The restaurant was dusty and had flowers that should have been thrown out weeks ago. The bar and lounge apparently is open for for only a few hours. This was Homecoming weekend and the bar closes at 9:30! When the manager was asked to reopen the lounge, he refused. We have a large group that stays and we could have spent a good deal of money at the br. We will now take our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorkersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the confusion of the hours of the bar, had you let a manager know that you would be back later on, we could of made sure the bar was to stay open, however the bar was quiet and empty for quite a few hours and therefore the bar tender closed early, which is typical of them to do. We are slowly working on renovations to improve the hotel, but with such a big hotel it does take time. We hope you will consider this an isolated incident and that you will continue to stay at our hotel, and I am confident that your next stay will be a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkirk
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
16.9 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#1 of 2 in Westfield
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
White Inn
White Inn
#3 of 3 in Fredonia
148 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Dunkirk

Address: 30 Lake Shore Dr E, Dunkirk, NY 14048-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range: $89 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Dunkirk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center in Dunkirk offers wonderful views overlooking Lake Erie. Located approximately 24 miles from the Jamestown airport, and 45 miles from the Buffalo airport, 3 miles from the State University of New York at Fredonia, 12 miles from Lily Dale, Chautauqua County has 24 unique wineries that are driving distance from our hotel. The hotel & conference center is conveniently located for your getaway, special event or business meeting.The harbor front boardwalk and the center of Dunkirk is a short walk away and offers dining, recreation and entertainment year-round. Hotel guests are afforded an abundance of amenities, like free hot breakfast bar, free high-speed Internet access, free local calls and free coffee. We have an outdoor heated pool open May through September, as well as an exercise room with Cardiovascular options. We have the Windjammers Restaurant/Lounge onsite open for dinner, In the summer we have our Dockside Cafe open for lunch and dinner with entertainment on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Dunkirk
Dunkirk Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing