We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not the best, but an acceptable hotel. If you are staying in Dunkirk, this hotel is OK, but not great. It could use a little freshening up. The location is nice..by the water. The restaurant is disappointing. We ate there at night. For some reason they have put LED lighting in the ceiling lights which gave the dining room a very cold unusual feeling. We could hardly read the menus. Certainly not warm and friendly atmosphere. Maybe that is why there were so few diners in a such a large dining room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flexecutives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Amanda
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    66
    30
    33
See reviews for
66
49
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stay at this Clarion often because we have a son attending a nearby college, and the pricing at this hotel is usually the best in comparison to other local hotels.
The dining is decent, the rooms slightly worn down, walls are rather thin (you can hear your neighbors conversations quite often, and the heating and a/c units are very loud.
The proximity to the college and price are the largest draw. Due to the loudness of the ventilation system, if I can get a comparable rate at another local hotel, we usually go to the competitor.
We travel to this area at least 6 times per year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The FHS Class of 1968 would like to compliment the Clarion and staff for the exceptional service provided us during our recent 45th Class Reunion. It went off without a hitch. Everything was perfect from the setup to the meal. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and grateful to them for making this celebration so memorable. If you are looking to celebrate a "Special" occasion, this is the place to have it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lobby looks amazing, the rooms have new flat screen tv's and carpet. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. They have a restaurant and bar onsight that over looks the lake, also they provide a continetnal breakfast, which was decent. I only stayed one night for business but had a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a direct lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed one night on way back from Canada to Michigan. Room was decent. Walked the grounds and the marina. Boats in scummy Lake Erie water - ugh! Sat on patio for a drink. They didn't have makings for martinis outside so had to go inside to get, then bring outside. Grounds need cleaning up and TLC. Dinner fair. Breakfast above average.

Room Tip: If want scenic, get lakefront room. If just want sleep, any OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is right on Lake Erie. It's a great spot, but for a $200 room, the amenities were lacking. The room was huge, but the door that adjoined the next room would not lock or even close completely because there were cords running through the doorway. That means the people in the next room could have come right in if they wanted to. We probably could have asked for another room, but we booked by walk-in and the only other 2 rooms were smoking rooms. We blocked it off with a bench and our heavy suitcase. The carpeting was dirty, there was no refrigerator, no microwave, and no alarm clock. The supposed wireless internet was nonexistent in our room.

The breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing: Foam bowls for the oatmeal, but foam shouldn't be heated in the microwave. There were no tongs by the conveyer-type toaster, so people were reaching across other people's food to get their bread with their hands...eew.

I understand it takes time to update every room in a hotel, but this is not the first time we've stayed in a Clarion that was poorly appointed. I understand we got one of the last rooms available, BUT...I think the Clarion would do themselves a favor if they would not rent the rooms that are in need of updating rather than suffer the loss of revenue resulting from poor reviews (or consider discounting the rate on those rooms and be honest with your guests by telling them, "The rate on this room is reduced, because it hasn't been renovated yet."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping/maintenance efforts, we are currently going though all the rooms and doing full inspections and working on fixing all the problems that we find. We appreciate your feedback which provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve the services we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my family stayed there during our family vacation. Room was clean and we had a great view of the lake. They had an out door pool and an indoor pool, plus a resterant, they have an indoor and out door bar, which we didn't use. But my family enjoyed our selves during our stay and would recommend to all our friends!

Room Tip: As for a direct lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANDERS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Dunkirk, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank You for staying with our hotel, we are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience and hope to see you next time you are traveling through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkirk
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
16.8 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Inn
White Inn
#3 of 3 in Fredonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
15.4 mi away
Theater Motel
Theater Motel
#1 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Dunkirk

Property: Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Address: 30 Lake Shore Dr E, Dunkirk, NY 14048-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Dunkirk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center in Dunkirk offers wonderful views overlooking Lake Erie. Located approximately 24 miles from the Jamestown airport, and 45 miles from the Buffalo airport, 3 miles from the State University of New York at Fredonia, 12 miles from Lily Dale, Chautauqua County has 24 unique wineries that are driving distance from our hotel. The hotel & conference center is conveniently located for your getaway, special event or business meeting.The harbor front boardwalk and the center of Dunkirk is a short walk away and offers dining, recreation and entertainment year-round. Hotel guests are afforded an abundance of amenities, like free hot breakfast bar, free high-speed Internet access, free local calls and free coffee. We have an outdoor heated pool open May through September, as well as an exercise room with Cardiovascular options. We have the Windjammers Restaurant/Lounge onsite open for dinner, In the summer we have our Dockside Cafe open for lunch and dinner with entertainment on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Dunkirk
Dunkirk Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing