We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Ranked #5 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Telford UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed three nights with Peter & Mary at Pearl of Seneca Lake. The B&B is in a wonderful location, with a staircase to heaven (downwards) to the jetty on the lake. It is difficult to know what to say. The entire house is furnished with beautiful Mennonite furniture, and the rooms are designed with B&B in mind, so access can be via the outside balcony. Peter and Mary are super hosts - health warning - you may suffer from cookie and scone overload. I don't think they will mind me saying that they must be front runners for Gran & Grampa of USA competition. They spoil you rotten!
Lovely restaurants in the area (again P&M recommended).
Lasting memory is sitting on the jetty watching the evening mist creep down the lake. Extraordinary and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful location, immaculate accommodations, and gracious hosts. Best place to stay on a trip to the Finger Lakes. So much to like: relaxing dock, fire pit with fixings for smoors, and nature trials. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJK081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm likely to parrot most the other reviews for Peter and Mary's 'Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B'. So be it. It's a wonderful, and tranquil, property run by even better people. My fiance and I enjoyed great biking and hiking, restaurants (esp The Stone Cat in Hector, NY). There are 2 great bike trails within a 10 minute drive from the property. But, I think the best may have been the morning breakfasts where we'd chat with the other boarders about their vacation adventures while absorbing wisdom from Peter and Mary about the finger lakes region, the anti-fracking / LPG movements, and more subtle lessons on how to be gracious. Mary's scones are the best I've ever eaten, so there is also that.... The dock / waterfront area is semi-secluded and very tranquil. Lodgers can row or canoe around the lake, or just lay out on the dock and unwind the mind.

I can not recommend this place enough and hope to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Defscribekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thanks so much to Peter and Mary for making our stay so warm and welcoming. As others have commented, there is so much to do in the area, but our last day in Dundee was spent out on the dock - for some much needed R&R. This truly did feel like we could treat this like our own home! The location is amazing - right on the water - every room has a view and either space on an upper or lower porch to just enjoy watching nature! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and best of all was breakfast! Mary's cooking is second to none - different scones every day and we never left the table without a bag to go with us throughout the day. Such wonderful hosts - and we've never had such great morning conversations - it was hard to leave the table!
What a truly wonderful place to get away - and we for sure will be back! Thank you so much Mary and Peter!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVBV7196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay with Mary and Peter at The Pearl. Mary and Peter are very gracious, warm and make you feel right at home. While there is so much to do in the area, it is very relaxing to spend your day by the water at the bed and breakfast. We enjoyed sitting right on the water on the dock or on the porch.... The view of the lake is beautiful. We stayed in the South View Room which has a private balcony facing the water.... We loved the room! Breakfast is amazing..... Mary makes the best scones we have ever had! We also liked the coffee, tea and hot chocolate selection. Mary and Peter restocked our fridge each day with water and soda. They also keep the cookie jar full of homemade cookies:). Everything you could possibly want or need is right there for you. We are looking forward to our next visit! Katrina and Chris

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a trip to the finger lakes and had a wonderful time! What made the trip especially enjoyable was The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B. The owners are a wonderful couple and they have done a fantastic job making this B&B feel like home. The rooms are comfortable and quite spacious, with great views of the lake. I couldn't believe how quiet the property was. We enjoyed the fire pit, relaxing by the dock, and spent part of one afternoon napping on the hammock that overlooks the lake. Mary makes a fantastic breakfast in the morning, even adjusting her famous scone recipe to be gluten-free :) Additionally, the location is right on the Senecal Lake Wine Trail and close to many restaurant options. This was a perfect, relaxing weekend getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunrae081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mary and Peter are just lovely people and the B & B is beautiful. Mary's breakfast was top notch and she does Gluten free, too. The house is immaculate and very thoughtfully decorated with an artists eye. There is no clutter or unnecessary objects to over stimulate your brain. You will NOT have a difficult time relaxing! Peter's chocolate chip cookies are amazing and they are always out and easy to grab! In 20 years of staying in B&Bs, this is by far the nicest place to stay because the owners make you feel so welcomed and relaxed. The lake view is amazing and the dock is great.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Chardonnay room and it had a nice deck looking at the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
23.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.1 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B

Property: The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Address: 4827 Red Cedar Lane, Dundee, NY 14837-0244
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant lakeside home constructed in 2005 as a B&B, with 4 guest rooms, each with private bath, A/C, WiFi, lakeside deck, refrigerator, microwave and satellite TV. 1 room fully handicap-accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Hotel Dundee
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing