We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, relaxing home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, relaxing home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean relaxing rooms. Soft sheets and towels. We enjoyed some time on the balcony enjoying the view. Food was fresh and delicious. Great location. Cathy is a wonderful host with great recommendations and tips. Good value for a place that feels like home. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lablady3rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
91
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found this B&B on trip advisor and we did enjoy a nice stay. The room was simple, but lovely and excellently maintained. The location is great and the breakfasts are wonderful!! We loved that she uses local ingredients!! However, when we arrived late due to an unavoidable circumstance, the owner's greeting made us feel uncomfortable. The owner, why gracious tends to lecture a little. I never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast that had "the rules" so directly stated and literally, spelled out! I found it amusing that we were even given written instruction on the proper use of the "provided" makeup remover before going to bed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlh528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. About your late arrival, I am always very flexible and apoligize for the fact that your were made to feel uncomfortable in any way. I do not recall if you might have mentioned that you would be arriving earlier or not but still I am sure I just wanted you to get comfortable in your rooms after a long trip.

About your comment concerning written rules. These are usually guidelines to help guests have a better time here. They mostly talk about amenities, things about safety, no smoking reminders, times for breakfast, etc. However, I recently added the note about makeup removal to point out that those products are now available since several guests asked for them. Perhaps the wording is a little strong . . . but there is no tutorial about makeup removal before bedtime! I think that would sound funny too. So I have reworded all of that to make you and perhaps others feel less lectured. . . which was never the intent.
Thanks for all of the great things you mentioned about the house and my services, and food. I do hope to see you again. Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Starkey House on October 1&2, 2013 and enjoyed an excellent stay. The B&B is conveniently located close to the main highway that provides access to the west coast of Lake Seneca. We stayed in the Veranda Room which was large with a separate large bath. The room was excellent, very clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfasts were also excellent and very filling, featuring local produce. Our host Cathy was very friendly and knowledgeable and provided several tips regarding wineries, restaurants and exploring the area. Overall a very nice B&B that we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Your lovely review is much appreciated and will raise the bar on what I will provide here at the Starkey House.
I especially take pleasure in making suggestions about planning the day, which destinations are best. I love when guests like yourselves return at the end of a day saying that they enjoyed everything I told them about from wineries, to villages, to museums, or restaurants, even, of course hidden waterfalls.

I do hope to see you both again soon. Sincerely and with many thanks, Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this B&B on the web while searching for availability to accommodate a last-minute getaway in the Finger Lakes.

Cathy, the owner, is a caring hostess, and has maintained the character of this historic building while providing the comforts of home. She cooks a hearty delicious breakfast highlighting local and self-grown foods, as well as an afternoon snack. In addition to her detailed knowledge of the area, she provides brochures and coupons to local attractions (wineries, museums, hiking, and farms). With our late booking, we had the smaller bedroom, but still had an ample private bath. There is comfortable common space, both inside and out, complete with freshly tuned piano!
The location, up the hill on the west side of Seneca Lake, is in a pretty, rural setting. Definitely a good B&B experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabirdNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our recent stay at the 1922 Starkey House was wonderful! The home is lovely and in a great location for visiting the Finger Lakes area. From the moment we arrived Kathy, the owner, could not have been more gracious and accomodating. The house is immaculate and the amenities super. Superb breakfasts!!! very unique menus with fresh local foods. We have recommended this inn to our family and friends!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Catalpa Room which was a very nice size room with a private entrance to the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylene, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed with Kathy at the 1922 Starkey house and loved it! The house is amazing and Kathy was such a great host! Our room was private, quiet, comfy and well decorated. But the food was amazing! Kathy makes homemade food from farm fresh purchased food, or that she grows herself. It was amazing. She also provided snacks each afternoon, like homemade salsa, homemade cake, local cheese and crackers. So, yummy! If you are traveling to the Seneca lakes area it is a must to stay here, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Kathy for all your hospitality in this beautifully restored old house!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfully decorated with updated bathrooms and comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM5261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently spent the holiday weekend at 1922 Starkey House B and B and had a wonderful experience, Cathy is a warm and welcoming host offering us recommendations about things to do and places to go. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were made of fresh and local ingredients. Running the bed and breakfast is clearly a labor of love for Cathy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
10.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
11.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Dundee Starkey Rd, Dundee, NY 14837-9156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Heart of the Finger Lakes" with a veranda view of Seneca Lake 1922 Starkey House is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the wineries, vineyards, restaurants, lakes, and numerous attractions of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. The house provides a warm and welcoming country atmosphere just a short drive away from the bustling shops and restaurants of Watkins Glen, Geneva, Penn Yan, or Ithaca.The Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga Wine Trails, craft breweries, as well as the Artisan Cheesetrails are all just minutes away. If you enjoy Watkins Glen International racing, it is just ten miles away. Bring your love for fishing and boating to the nearby NY State boat launch.The house features Mission style architecture and sits proudly on two lush acres with garden views of perennials and evergreens. Guests enjoy delicious breakfasts and evening buffet snacks in the dining room or on the porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing