We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, PA
2 reviews
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. What a wonderful experience. Everything was clean and fresh from the front porch to the towels. We couldn't have had a better time. Cathy was a terrific innkeeper! Her detail to everything was perfect and her cooking was great.
Cathy is a very nice, warm, friendly person who loves what she does!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor bedroom. It was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
91
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I felt right at home. Peaceful surroundings but close to wineries and other attractions. Best night's slept I've had in a long time. Best of all are the breakfasts. Creative and flavorful local ingredients are used. Quite delicious!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pymagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, General Manager at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Again, I am so happy to make all my guests as comfortable as possible. When my guests turned friends return and call the Starkey House "home" they are paying me the ultimate compliment. I know that when guests arrive here they are probably trying to leave their work or other of life's concerns behind them to relax and enjoy. I hear quite frequently, that the sleeping here is especially good due to the country quiet and fresh air.
I hope to see you again! Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently had our second weekend getaway at this delightful B&B. We opted to return for the fine location and for Cathy's wonderful hospitality and delicious breakfasts. Although we are quite familiar with the Finger Lakes region, we always learn something new from Cathy. Her wealth of knowledge about the area would be invaluable to first time visitors. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It is always a pleasure to host satisfied guests once again! Thank you for your kind comments. Your return visit is much appreciated and motivates me to strive for higher levels of service and to expand my offerings! I am glad that you fully enjoyed the house, the food and surroundings again and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This lovely B&B located along Lake Seneca had a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It was easy to find and we were greeted by Cathy when we arrived and shown into a lovely ground floor room with attached ensuite. This B&B is close to many different wineries and Watkins Glen was just a 10 minute drive away. Breakfast was delicious with gluten free-options for myself and my husband. Cathy thoughtfully provided us with coupons for free wine tastings at several different wineries and the local distillery. A great location, good food and good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrhavengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I strive daily to provide the best here at 1922 Starkey House. I am glad you appreciated the gluten-free choices in menu. I am interested in continuing to provide a variety of conventional and special request options and I am expanding the menu since I have been fortunate to have guests stay for as long as one week. It is fun and exciting. My beautiful house and this great Finger Lakes location are my working partners!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location by the beautiful lake. As some have mentioned, this one isn't right on the lake, but the view from our lovely room (Veranda Room) was great. We were there in April and it was a cold one, so hard to imagine with warm lake breezes. The fact that we enjoyed it so much despite the cool weather means anyone there in the summer will be overjoyed by the place. Cathy was wonderful and friendly--very accommodating to my gluten-free needs (she even left packaging out so I could make sure it was safe; it's those little details that make all the difference). The food was locally-sourced (as much as possible) and just incredible. Our room was very cozy and warm with a nice, private modern bathroom. Cathy was even kind enough to answer some of my questions about one day opening my own B&B.

We were there for some wine sampling and to celebrate our brand new engagement and we couldn't have been happier. My fiance opted to go for the bouquet and it was beautiful and ready in our room when we arrived. Snacks and tea/hot cocoa were available as well, upon our arrival. We plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Veranda Room is nice if you want a romantic weekend (private bath, GIANT porch overlooking the lake...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyF292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It was my pleasure to serve you both! I love to pay special attention to the details, especially when it comes to food preferences. 1922 Starkey House will continue to provide the freshest and best breakfasts and snacks prepared with locally sourced food produce from farms and gardens.
Whenever possible, I am dedicated to creating interesting recipes using organically grown vegetables and fruits, meats and cheeses. Guests with traditional or specific eating styles and needs are always welcomed here!
I do hope to see you again in warmer months when you can fully enjoy all that the outside porches and grounds have to offer. Thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Starkey House is located in the heart of Finger Lakes wine country along Seneca Lake. It is a genuine Mission-Revival-style home, built in 1922. The current owner, Cathy Moskal, has been lovingly restoring the home for the last 14 years.
If you stay during the warmer months, you will spend most of your time our on the beautiful wrap-around porches, where breakfast is served al fresco, enjoying the view, and soaking in the quiet of the country. You may see a horse and buggy pass right by, and wonder what century you are in, as the area has a large Amish and Mennonite community.
Within a short drive you can enjoy many wineries: The closest being Fruit Yard, Hickory Hollow, Glenora Starkey’s Lookout, Magnus Ridge and Fulkerson. There are a total of 18 wineries on the west side of Seneca Lake alone!
This would also be a paradise for a landscape painter, a writer looking for inspiration or a couple (like us) wanting to forget about work for a weekend, looking for a slice of unique adventure in the heart of the Finger Lakes.
Within a short drive of the Starkey House we could enjoy The Corning Museum of Glass, hiking Watkins Glen State Park, biking on the Catherine Valley Trail, kayaking on Keuka Lake, and dinner at the Union Block Café in Hammondsport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FingerLakesSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at 1922 Starkey House. Our room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was the best we've had in years. Cathy (our host) was very knowledgeable about the area, and was so friendly and accommodating. It was nice visiting during the off-season. We had the house to ourselves, and none of the places we went were crowded.

Our favorite part of the stay was definitely the food. She had very tasty snacks laid out as soon as we arrived, and the breakfast - the breakfast! It was so delicious and wholesome. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely be going back to Starkey House.

Room Tip: The Veranda Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you and I am so happy that you both enjoyed every aspect of your stay here at 1922 Starkey House in Finger Lakes Wine Country. It is my pleasure to host my guests and I hope to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
10.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
11.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Dundee Starkey Rd, Dundee, NY 14837-9156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Heart of the Finger Lakes" with a veranda view of Seneca Lake 1922 Starkey House is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the wineries, vineyards, restaurants, lakes, and numerous attractions of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. The house provides a warm and welcoming country atmosphere just a short drive away from the bustling shops and restaurants of Watkins Glen, Geneva, Penn Yan, or Ithaca.The Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga Wine Trails, craft breweries, as well as the Artisan Cheesetrails are all just minutes away. If you enjoy Watkins Glen International racing, it is just ten miles away. Bring your love for fishing and boating to the nearby NY State boat launch.The house features Mission style architecture and sits proudly on two lush acres with garden views of perennials and evergreens. Guests enjoy delicious breakfasts and evening buffet snacks in the dining room or on the porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing