We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have Stayed Here A Few Times, Best In The Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Ranked #4 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Have Stayed Here A Few Times, Best In The Area”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Glenora is the place to stay if you are in the Watkins Glenn Area. We usually go for wine tasting, but there are other activities around the lakes in the summer. The best thing about the hotel is that it sits on a winery. All of the rooms have a balcony that overlooks the beautiful vineyards. The rooms are pricey for what they are ($170-$225), but they are spacious and nicely located.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMNEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    91
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
29
179
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We just spent a weekend at Seneca / Keuka, and Cayuga lake tasting (and buying) wine - our women on wine weekend! (no husbands - no whiners!). We have been traveling to this area twice a year for the last 7 years, and this is the first time we have been fortunate enough to stay at the Inn at Glenora. It is by far the best value, location and accomodations in the area. On previous trips we have stayed at various places in Geneva, Bath, Corning, and Painted Post, and have never been overly impressed with the choice of lodging accomodations in the Finger Lakes area. This time, we lucked out and got in on a buy one room, get one room free promotion. The rooms were perfect - clean and spacious, and the view was amazing. We received a complimentary bottle of wine, two complimentary bottles of water, and a free glass of port for each guest in the evening. Complimentary champagne was also available at check in, but quite honestly after tasting wine all day, no one was interested in that! There was a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, and we also received coupons for free wine tastings at the winery. We spent a lovely evening in the restaurant, enjoying happy hour, followed by a nice dinner. Glenora is in a perfect location, close to Watkins Glen and many wineries. Our only negative was that it was too cool and rainy to sit outside on the porch and enjoy the view. We will definitely be returning in the fall.

P.S. If you go, be sure to visit Red Newt, Dr. Frank, Standing Stone, and Herman J. Wiemer wineries - some of our favorites!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We chose the Finger Lakes as our first stop for our 1 year wedding anniversary. My dad had suggested checking out the Inn at Glenora Winery as he had done the Seneca Wine Trail a year ago. This was everything we wanted and more.
We booked the basic room, but it was much more then basic. We were on the first floor and had a private deck with two chairs overlooking the vineyard and Seneca Lake. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine (which you could switch out for something else if you wanted to do so...you have to pay more if the wine is a higher price). They also offer a glass of port every night to their guests.
One of the most impressive things, aside from the beautiful view, was the friendliness of the staff. The woman at the front desk was so kind and accommodating. She was very informative and able to give suggestions when needed.
We only had two appetizers at the restaurant. The cheese platter was great...the blue cheese so yummy. The grilled peach salad was also quite good.
We went to 7 wineries while we were there. Here is a breakdown: (we are not wine experts by any means...so here are our "lay person" suggestions)
Glenora...good, friendly staff. Their wines were pretty good, but not my favorite.
Hazlitt....so nice and fun. We bought the spyder bite to warm up around Halloween and drink. we didnt care for it cold.
Tickle Hill...what a great place!! They are quite small, but the vineyard owner is a wonderful woman. She talked to us about the wine, their story of opening up their own winery and just pleasant conversation. We bought their Niagara (which I usually don’t like because it is so sweet). Their Niagara was dry and quite nice. We also bought their Cab FRanc...very good.
Penguin....nice tasting room, good wine. We bought their pinot nior sparkling rose which was very nice.
Miles....really neat tasting room in a 200 year old house. The woman their told us about the ghosts in the house which added to our drinking pleasure. Their wine was pretty good too!
bellhurst... big tasting room within a gift shop. wine was great here.
fox run...probably some of the best wine we had tasted, but the least friendly staff. she wasn’t rude, but was not a talker. the cab franc was pretty darn good here though...I bought myself a bottle!

As for places we ate...
We had breakfast at Savod's in Watkins Glen. Very good....diner stuff however they make their own bread. Cheap and good...the way we like it!
We went to the Rooster Fish Brewing for dinner after wine tasting . Their wings were good..they were grilled and had a smoky taste. My husband didn’t care for them. Their entrees were okay. I would skip this for dinner if I were in town again. However, I'd have a beer or two w/ some wings.
We also bought grapes to snack on Rt 14 near the inn...very nice lady.
Finally, my husbands favorite thing, we bought and ate a grape pie! It was great...so tasty and flavorful. We bought it from the house across the street from the inn. The woman, Mrs. Beers, was friendly and very inviting. The pie was fantastic....a must try!!

We also went to Watkins Glen to do some hiking...beautiful and a great little workout to work off the calories from all the wine:) I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — the views, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Looking for a special getaway close to home for our anniversary, decided to try the Inn at Glenora. It was wonderful. Booking at the last minute we were left with only the "cadillac" of rooms--jacuzzi tub, fireplace, king size bed. Room was very clean, bathroom was very clean as well. We booked the package with the meal voucher and winery tour, etc and it was worth it. We didn't use all of our meal voucher in the restaurant and they allowed us to use it for wine in the store. Staff was very very pleasant and very helpful. They had a way of making us feel very special. We will definitely return!

  • Liked — Room overlooks Seneca Lake; awesome view.
  • Disliked — Felt it was a bit overpriced.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My husband and I wanted to visit the Finger Lakes for our anniversary, but we had a hard time finding a hotel in the area that had what we were looking for. We decided we were not B&B people, yet we didn't want a large chain hotel. And then some of the other hotels in the area.. just seemed a bit sketchy. We booked Glenora Inn because it seemed like it would have a nice, small feel, have great views, patios, and tvs.

We thought Glenora Inn really deserved 3 1/2 stars, but are unable to give it that on this site. The site itself, is one of the prettiest views we saw along Seneca Lake. Each room, whether 1st or 2nd floor had a very nice view of the lake and vineyard. The room we booked was the most basic and on the ground level. We enjoyed sitting outside drinking the complimentary wine that was in our room. There is a refrigerator in the room and they give you 2 water bottles and a bottle of their cheaper wines free. That was a nice touch. They have wine cork openers in the room, but they are very basic and hard to use. I recommend bringing your own. Also, wine glasses were supplied in your room. The room itself was a standard room. The room was clean, but there were some old stains in the rug by the coffee maker (we hoped it was coffee) and the bathroom wasn't totally clean. The bathroom was huge, but could use some updating and a bit of cleaning (although it was far from disgusting). The best thing about this hotel is your view and that there is a restaurant attached to the building.

Upon check in we each received a complimentary glass of champagne, so we really appreciated that. Each night after dinner they gave out Port to drink.. so we always made sure to get our glass of it.

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, we weren't too excited about the variety and prices for the lunch and dinner menu. We had breakfast here 2 mornings out on the deck, which was very nice. The 1st breakfast we had very slow service and didn't enjoy our meal selections, however the second morning our meal selection was much tastier and the service much better. The winery is pretty centrally located to many wineries, but we were disappointed that there was not much else to do in the area but visit wineries, unless you wanted a far drive. There are not many places to eat near the hotel if you decide not to use their restaurant. There was a convenient store across the street which was ok, and a small ice cream shop and deli a mile or so down the road. We drove into the town of Dundee about 3-4 miles, to get pizza.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay for 2 nights. We probably wouldn't have stayed longer than that. The inn is decent, and I think probably one of the nicest around the lake, but the price for the room per night is way too much. We had dinner at Geneva on the Lake and thought it was fabulous! If you're looking to have a nice (but expensive dinner) be sure to make a reservation here.

  • Liked — great view, fridge in room, complimentry champagne, wine and port
  • Disliked — Too expensive, outdated bathroom, no pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

While visiting family in Watkins Glen, we stayed at Glenora with our 2 boys. The scenery is just spectacular and the boys had a great time racing from our porch to the vineyards. We had dinner in their restaurant one evening and thought it was great, although expensive. We took advantage of a complimentary wine tasting one evening and the servers offered our boys bubbly grape juice. The tasting wasn't an easy task with 2 fidgety kids. Although the accommodations are a bit pricey, we found the staff very courteous the scenery wonderful and the room quite comfortable.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

What a view! We stayed in their most expensive room type. It was roomy and clean. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub. We would have liked to shut off the AC and open the deck door but there was no screen door. One can see there was one at one time. A tip when making a reservation, check the specials on their website and request them. We saved $50 per night.The restaurant is very good though pricey. Of the wineries in the area, DH liked Glenora's wines the least. The Inn is away from the business of Watkins Glen, but still close enough (about 10 mins) so you can enjoy the harbor, the restaurants, boat rides and The Gorge.
The Gorge and Falls are a must see. We hiked to the top 1 1/2 miles but rode the shuttle bus back due to a heavy rain that began right after we reached the top.

  • Liked — Large rooms, spectacular view, champagne at check in, complementary wine in room refrig.
  • Disliked — No screen in deck door so we were forced to use the AC.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
8.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,145 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
8.7 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
142 reviews
22.4 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars

Property: The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Address: 5435 Route 14, Dundee, NY 14837
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to one of 30 spacious and inviting guest rooms at The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars, each beautifully appointed with Stickley furniture and brand new pillow top mattresses and box springs. Every room features a private balcony or patio with a view of the vineyard and Seneca Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Glenora Wine Cellars Hotel Dundee
Glenora Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing