We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”

Jonathan's Pizza & Italian Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Duanesburg
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a strange review from BostonFoodieTruth. What do you expect in Duanesburg, NY? What you're going to get is a heavyset woman being very friendly and serving up acceptable Italian food quickly, so you can be on your way in as short a time as possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esperance, New York, United States
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is one of the best Italian restaurants in the area- my husband and I have dinner here 2 to 3 times a month and are never disappointed! Margaret & Missy treat us like family and the atmosphere is very comfortable and inviting. We have never had a bad meal or experience at Jonathan's and would highly recommend it to those passing thru.
If you're not satisfied with the service &/or food, then you don't know good Italian cooking and you obviously don't appreciate the country/family atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warning! Keep on Driving!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There isn't much to choose from on Route 20 in upstate NY, so when driving this scenic route from Cooperstown NY back to Boston, we figured we had to drop our standards a bit and bite the bullet with some backwoods joint. We passed several places and then gave this joint a try, hoping to find a hidden gem. What a MISTAKE! Our lesson: small sample sizes of reviews on TA aren't all that helpful. The service in this place at lunch time is a disaster! There is one heavyset woman running the bar and restaurant and she showed no interest in making our visit efficient and enjoyable. I had to go into the bar to ask for additional drinks and to request our tab. The food was low-grade Italian, very disappointing. They claim to be known for pizza but don't fall for it. The crust tasted worse than frozen pizza. If you are hungry and need a place to stop, keep on driving. There's nothing satisfying here. Total Bust!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonFoodieTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
219 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value, Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

First time visit for us, always recommended, found a coupon on Restaurant.com so gave it a try.

We'll definitely be back, and try more things. Salad was ample, dressing good, added cheese but not enough, and small croutons. But from there, all uphill. They serve a thick, almost Amish like homemade bread, very soft. We had Lasagna and Chicken Sorrento (with eggplant). Both fantastic! Lasagna had a crusty bottom - I like it that way - and tons of ricotta, sausage, and mozzarella. They have an excellent spaghetti meat sauce too, very flavorful and sweet. The chicken and eggplant were also superior - chicken crispy but moist, eggplant thin, not greasy, perfectly cooked, layered with mozzarella.

Great selection of better beers on tap, very crowded on a Thursday night but tables available. Food to us very quickly, service excellent as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dadmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanson, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I don't understand the hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I went here twice and each time the food was horrible. It tasted like the pasta sauce had been burned. We hardly ate any of the food and didn't want to take it home. We actually left here and ate something else at home because we were still hungry. We know many people who like this place which is why we gave it a second chance, but the food was just as bad the second time. To top it all off; each time the table was very sticky, it was like someone spilled a beer on it and no one had taken the time to clean it off. This place is plain bad in every aspect.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank exorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Pizza & Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Pizza & Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing