We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful Place”

The Old Schoolhouse Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Downsville
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
626 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's hard to believe that I was able to purchase lunch for $7.00 in a gorgeous place like this. The woodwork is amazing. So elegant! Service was perfect!= (thank you, Brandy!) I ordered the patty melt and my friend had the Reuben and both of us were quite happy with our meals. I hope I can return someday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JuneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A geocaching log indicated this was a good place to go. We were on a motorcycle and geocaching trip in the Catskills, and added this to our itinery. It was a perfect addition.

The atmosphere is rustic and warm inside. Our server was very outgoing, and was the maker of the amazing carrot cake that was dessert! The burgers are really big! 6 oz is plenty, with all the trimmings it is a good value. There are not so many places to eat in the area, but this is certainly worth going out of the way to experience.

We were there in the early afternoon on a Wednesday, so the place was nearly empty, and allowed for conversation with a few of the local folks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cache-N-Stache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“4 stars for the ambiance, 3 stars for the food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped here along the way heading towards Cooperstown, NY. A beautiful building. You can easily see how this was once a school with its tall windows and doors. The place was not very busy this afternoon but soon several other clients came in. The waitress was attentive to all of us. My husband ordered a burger which arrived with special fries pushed into the burger to resemble longhorns. Cute. The fries were homemade. I ordered a wrap special and it was so large that I could only eat half of it. The flavor was average, nothing bad, just average. I was happy for the price and the ambiance. The place has many taxidermy animals on the walls. A buffalo, cougar, bobcat and bear plus more. There are animal grazing on the slopes of the hills behind this place. Yes, I would stop here again and encourage you to also. It was worth seeing the animals and being in this historic place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A little loud with respect to the music playing but great staff, great service and the food was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Place was visually beautiful!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The place is like walking into a time warp.
Every where you turn you have something old and cool to admire.
I went here on a whim for my birthday.
Bad idea. Unless I know about a place I will never celebrate my bday with an unknown menu.
The food was just okay, to much salt in most dishes.
Other then this it was fun, service was great, had a lot of laughs.!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Schoolhouse Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing