We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL Toscano Restaurant

IL Toscano Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Toscano Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Douglaston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Douglaston Parkway
Transit: The Port Washington branch of the L.I.R.R.- Douglaston Station.
Description: For almost three decades, Il Toscano has been known for taking fresh, seasonal ingredients and preparing sumptuous Northern Italian style cuisine.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Il Toscano is a true neighborhood restaurant, but people come from all over to dine here! The service is always professional, efficient, never rushed. Cocktails are generous and mixed perfectly. The dining room is cozy and inviting. Best of all, the food is always, always outstanding! Especially the Lobster Toscano - but bring an appetite for it. All of the specials are terrific, but certainly the regular menu is as well. Cozy in the winter, but you can sit outside in the summer - a bit of noise with the LIRR right there, but that is only every 30-45 minutes during the week and it just contributes to the energy and people watching. This is our go-to restaurant with company or just for a meal for the 2 of us. Reservations are necessary on the weekends. During the week, you can always wait at the bar if a table is unavailable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mstrattoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outrageous Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Have eaten at Il Toscano a number of times and have always had a good meal. Haven't been there in a while, so I met a couple of friends there tonight. There was a lobster special that sounded good, two one pound lobsters out of the shell, so I ordered it. Also got the special salad and a glass of wine.
Salad nothing special, just greens and peaches and a hunk of blue cheese, walnuts, just ok tasting. Wine good. Lobster, very good, nice amount, came with nothing else.
I almost flipped out when I got my portion of the bill. The lobster was $55, the salad $13.50 and wine $10.50, for a total with tax of $97.00!!!! I thought this was incredible!!! With tip, a meal for just one person came to $110.00!!! I know lobster is expensive, but I feel this was outrageous!!! My friends just got an appetizer each and one entree and one Coke. Their bill was $67.00. I will never go back there again. To pay for good food is one thing, to get robbed is another.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank booga30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've eaten there with friends on a number of occasions and had two special parties catered there. Food is always delicious; noise level is tolerable, particularly during the week. Hospitable owners and staff. And, right across from the Douglaston LIRR station and....parkng is free!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank operadiva1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent food my favorite place. Love the fresh pasta. Great atmosphere-staff professional.. you feel like you are in Italy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank artistmomma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occassion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The lobster is amazing! There are a few quiet areas for a romantic evening, but often it is crowded. The food is delicious and the restaurant is a few steos from the Long Island Rail Road.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank VBCinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Toscano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to IL Toscano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing