We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cookery

The Cookery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cookery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Dobbs Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dobbs Ferry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Chef David DiBari is incredibly creative. I started with the cabbage salad with barbequed onions and shredded aged goat cheese which was was surprisingly wonderful. Next, we shared the octopus appetizer, which was tender without being rubbery, one of the best grilled octopus dishes I've ever tried. For an entre, the gemelli with crushed duck liver sauce is one of the best pasta dishes I've ever eaten outside of Italy. Finally, we tried the sticky oatmeal stout cake which also did not disappoint. Some of our friends were unhappy with the amount of alcohol in their drinks, but otherwise, everyone left completely satisfied and looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Picky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    46
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
505 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“I just don't get this place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I read the reviews. I talked to friends and decided we had to try this place. The hostess is as rude as can be. You are a hostess and should be pleasant and smiling, not act annoyed when people who aren't regulars walk in the door. We waited at the bar for our table. The place is very noisy. You can barely have a conversation. The menu is a little too fancy. I like pasta with red sauce, not multiple configurations that the chef likes. Menu selections are few. What Italian restaurant doesn't have veal? Service was spotty. I don't get all the rave reviews. I love real Italian food but this wasn't it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“creative cooking and good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The chef has gone "over-board" to create something that is as new as you can imagine. Nothing on the menu is tried or tired. The combinations of elements on the plate are full of surprise. Service is fine and so is the ambience; at times noisy, but so what - you are drinking wine in a busy, clean, well maintained place - let it go. Recommend highly! Octopus was sublime. "Garlic Scape" was also one of a kind (never heard of that vegetable before). Lots of sorts of wine by the glass (over a dozen). Place is small; the bathroom is very clean... The chef is a young cook who goes against the grain... Most excellent sir - !!! Looking forward to december 31.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a delicious, delectable meal we had at Cookery. We started the meal with four appetizers- octopus, sausage, meatballs and broccoli. That may sound like a lot but with our party of four, a satisfying bite for each of us. Each appetizer was flavorful and inventive delighting the taste buds. For dinner we all had a pasta entree. The cauliflower ravioli was outstanding. They were melt in your mouth tender with a puréed cauliflower center. The rigatoni special included oyster mushrooms and house made smoked bacon. It too was an excellent dish. Our least favorite pasta was the duck liver pasta. It was busting with flavor but became monotonous. The wines are reasonably priced. Our service was also outstanding- attentive, professional and informational.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very small but nice atmosphere and the food was really good. The menu is not to large and they offer some unique dishes, organic and nicely done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taurian34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookery also viewed

Dobbs Ferry, Westchester County
Dobbs Ferry, Westchester County
 
Irvington, Westchester County
Dobbs Ferry, Westchester County
 

Been to The Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing