We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on the lake!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stepping Stones Resort
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place on the lake!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with extended family last week at Stepping Stones--a wonderful time! Chuck & Ronnie are friendly owners who run a very clean & well managed establishment. Beach area is great for families since thee is sandy area for digging and shallow entry for swimming. Slight downside for young children is the limited playground area, but that was not a huge problem since the kids kept themselves busy wit other activities. We have been here several times over the last 10 years (and at different times of the year) and have never been disappointed. Can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Old fashioned but updated & very clean. Fisherman's dream, flat boat launch w/protected docks near great fishing spots. Nice beach area and play area for family. Only a short ride to Lake George Village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShoeLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the perfect place in the Lake George region. Each cabin comes fully equipped and clean as a whistle. The owners politely keep their distance, but are always available to help out. The price may seem a bit high, until you discover that you can make all of your own meals. A personal coal grill is at your disposal right in front of each unit. There is also fun stuff for the kids on the common green, and a fantastic beach and marina to park your boat. Can't say enough about this place that's been around for a very long time, but still maintains all of it's integrity and pride.
We'll continue to visit every summer.

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElChepibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This place goes down as a mistake in our family history. Chuck (we called him 2-Buck Chuck because his general air is just stingy) doesn't allow kids on the beach before 10am or after 8pm. We would never have gone if we'd known. There were so many rules, we actually left the property during the day and went to the public beach! Chuck came into our room to fix something and made a point of looking around to show us he was watching how we were taking care of things (and of course, we were). We are nonconfrontational and very easy-going people, so we just marveled at Chuck's creepiness after he left. Chuck wouldn't let a friend pull up a canoe at the property to visit us without charging a docking and visitors's fee! You also have to sign out badminton rackets - they don't just let you use them. I will say this, the place is clean. Antiseptic, is more like it. Also charmless and soulless. We've stayed at much better places on Lake George. I feel sorry for the people staying here when I drive by now, because they obviously don't know how much more delightful Lake George can be. It's about warmth and fun, Chuck.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank wmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We found Stepping Stones one weekend driving through the area. What caught our eye was how clean the grounds were. We stopped in, was invited to look around and talk to those staying there, and we did just that. We heard nothing but positive reviews so we decided to stay there with our 4 kids a few weeks later. The cottages are your basic cottages with several exceptions - they are CLEAN, they all have a view of the lake, and they have A/C. There is a great littel beach area just for guests, and considering we had stopped at the public beach a few weeks before, this was fantastic. The only thing which made me feel a little out of place is that I was not a boat owner, and most guests seem to be. (Though we did rent a boat for a day on the lake - highy recommended). Yes we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emkay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Wouldn't stay any where else in Lake George , simply the best! Small , private , safe and CLEAN. Have gone there 11 years in a row and most of the families that go are repeat families. By far one of the nicest pieces of property on the Lake.

  • Liked — Location , clean , private
  • Disliked — not a single thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Babs12564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
0.0 mi away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
265 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stones Resort

Property: Stepping Stones Resort
Address: 3722 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-2913
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Stepping Stones Resort Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing