We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Had Fun....Just needs some love and repair”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Pines onTrout Lake
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Family Had Fun....Just needs some love and repair”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Twin Pines over the Columbus Day weekend in 2012. We used to stay at Lake George Escapes but switched after 5 years due to LGE raising the rates almost double.

FIrst impressions is: Nice well maintained lawns (they mowed twice in the 3 days we were there) i guess they want the leaves up quickly....either way the grounds were well maintained. I wish i could say the same for the cabins. out of the 8 cabins my family rented ours was the nicest one (ash 4). It would appear that hey seem to be fixing them up slowly and just have not made it to others yet. Minor issues with my cabin - screens that have holes in them, stove that you have no idea how hot it is, burner not working, light out on front porch, flys, no broom or carpet sweeper and no TV (yes, i said it....no TV). Before people start comment about the fact that i am mentioning the TV - let me just say - you are right - I should not care about having a tv when i am supposed to be enjoying the outdoors and my family and not glued to cable....BUT i have to admit - having a tv is just a part of our schedule and although i watch less then a 1/2 hour a day i just like to start the day watching the local news or some football on Sunday.

The minor things that i mentioned are all true - but dont paint a good picture....when in fact it was a nice place to stay. Just needs a few things to make it from average to great. Again i am talking about ASH 4 - some of the cabins my cousins, aunts and uncles stayed in looked like you could film a horror movie inside. Not disgusting just bare and in need of MUCH RENOVATIONS. I dreamed about the place if i owned it what would i do....and started making lists. some would need 100% complete tear down and redo and some just repairs. .....new beds, floors, stoves, shower curtains, - things like that.

Again - we tell our kids we are camping - so they spend 90% of the day outside - thanks to the no TV and for a kid - its great - for someone that just wants to see it great like me - they are going to have to invest some funds back into the place.

The lake was beautiful, the lodge - not sure what the purpose of that is - not much to do there.

The owner nice -

The grounds - really nice

Overall - its between average and above average - AGAIN JUST TALKING ABOUT ASH 4 - The other cabins below average.

good luck - we booked it again - hopefully over the winter they will be fixing more up. I am excited to go back and see if they did. This place could really be GREAT...but for now slightly above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seadogs04103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family used to stay at Twin Pines when I was a kid so I have fond memories of the place. Trout Lake is a relatively small, but very pretty lake surrounded by mountains. Fishing and boating are good, but there is no marina, so you have to bring your own boat.

Twin Pines is, unfortunately, typical of the dozens of cabins, motels in the Lake George area. It is very basic and obviously very little effort is put into maintenance and improvements. Musty mattresses and peeling paint are to be expected. The Trout Lake Club across the lake has a nicer beach and a nice rec room for the kids but the cabins are absolutely atrocious.

If you have high standards and want to go to Lake George, you have to stay at the Sagamore or rent a private house. The Friends Lake Inn is also beautiful, and has by far the best restaurant in the area, but they do not allow children. The motels in the area are all basically dumps.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed at this place during Memorial Day weekend with friends. When we called for booking, only 2 Ash type cottages were left so we got them. Living here was superb experience! The cottages were clean. They also provided bed sheets, blankets and towels. The kitchen was well equipped with fridge, stove, oven and utensils. They provide woods for fire which you can buy for 25 or 30 bucks. There was a grill outside the cottage for barbeque.

The location of this place is excellent. It is just 10 miles from Lake George and this place has a big area for cottages. It has private lake area on Trout Lake including a small beach. They have chairs on beach and one sitting area with patio chairs-tables just near by the beach. The view of the lake and mountains was amazing from here!! We enjoyed our breakfast here :). They have kayaks, canoes and raw-boats and they are many in numbers. Though all the cottages were full of guests, we always got boats. This lake is not as busy as Lake George so boating and swimming here was real fun. There were two tennis-courts, table-tennis and pool tables etc. A lot of things to do!!

Tom, the owner of the property, is really nice and helpful person.
I would like them to improve on these things: providing better bed sheets and blankets, properly working stove and oven in the kitchen, provide hand soaps in bathrooms.

Overall, very satisfied with the place and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvtravel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I think the last review seems unfair
though the resort is ok a little bit rusted .but they offer kitchen and cooking staff ..and the lake is private also they offer many kinds of boats and equipments ..I went fishing everyday .
It also has BBQ outside and camp fire equipments ..compare with lake george's crowdy and noise ..this is like a gem in that area ..when we arrive that's even no vancany .
yes ..there is no TV and phone in the room ..and let me feel back my grandparents house ..but its still good feeling ..that's really a wonderful place to retreat and give yourselve to " waiting upon God "

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank StaceyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I’ll try to keep this short and relatively concise:

1.The Room: While it was hardly roomy, we did manage to fit a family of four, including a play pen. It wasn’t the space that bothered us, however, it was the cleanliness: there were discarded potato chips right outside our door, the room had a musty smell, there were no fitted sheets on the bed, and my wife’s pillow smelled as if it had never been washed. To compensate, I put one of my old t-shirts over it so that she could rest her head. Kind of makes you long for your own bed, huh? At least from the outside, the other buildings didn’t seem to be in any better shape, except for the building that housed the front office, which was decent. Too bad they don’t rent that out to paying customers.
2.The Recreation Room: The “Wreck” room would be a better name for this building, with its broken window panes, dried bird feces in the corners, and splintered ping-pong tables that lacked ping pong balls. It housed an eight track player (!), a broken juke box and a beat-up VCR that we actually managed to hook up to play some dusty old videos that we found lying around. Loads of family fun!
3.The Lake: Really nice, I must say: clean, with a nice little beach. There were rowboats and canoes available. No complaints.
4.Activities: When we inquired about the advertised movie nights we were told that they no longer had them because of lack of interest. Campfire? Well, the one outside our room had foot-high weeds growing from it. When we asked about wood, we were offered a tow-truck-full for about forty dollars, which seems excessive when you consider how much you pay for a room and “free” activities. No wonder ours and the rest of the camp fire rings seemed unused. That was about the extent of the activities at this “family resort.”
5.Summary: My wife and I don’t consider ourselves overly picky and didn’t book this place expecting The Four Seasons. But we did expect a certain level of basic cleanliness and comfort. This expectation was not met, to say the least, and, rather than spend another night in such squalor, we cut our trip short and left after just one night. (We had booked four nights.) My suggestion is that you save yourself the headache and the money and stay somewhere else. (Preferably somewhere with a Triple A rating.)

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Too Many to Decided.........
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank rafterpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diamond Point hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
1.8 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
200 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.0 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#2 of 9 in Diamond Point
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,556 reviews
7.2 mi away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#28 of 89 in Lake George
84 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Pines onTrout Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines onTrout Lake

Property: Twin Pines onTrout Lake
Address: 520 Trout Lake Rd, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Twin Pines OnTrout Lake Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing