We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nothing better for family fun on the lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canoe Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Island Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing better for family fun on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pack you beach wear and join the fun. This is a traditional summer get away offering a variety of accommodations from hotel rooms to cabins to homes, something for everyone. The pricing includes breakfast and dinner making it one of the few "no hassle" options available. Located midway between LG Village and Bolton Landing the resort has a wonderful waterfront, with complimentary sail boats, pontoon boats and speed boats all with a capable crew so you can get on the lake! CIL, as the name implies, also has a private island retreat with one of the most scenic swimming lagoons around (pontoon shuttle guests between the mainland and island all day). Relax with your friends/family and drink in the LG views! Marvelous

Room Tip: Tips: plan on making your own lunches/bring snacks, while there is a tavern on site it is mostly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a great time at the end-of-summer outing. The food was great and the quantity of it was plentiful. Had fun with family and friends. Very family oriented and seemed quite a good place if you have kids. Not sure how a person traveling solo would fare as it seems set up for couples/families, but I'm sure the owner and staff (who were all accomodating and helpful) would make the person feel welcome. The resort is built on a steep grade and there are stairs involved...so heads up. Overall, I'd go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tnyfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've never written a review on tripadvisor before but wanted to say what a brilliant week we had at CIL this summer. Everything was truly amazing and beyond our expectations: the food, the accommodation, the beautiful lake, the activities for kids, the activities for adults, the lovely people who work there.

We are trying to work out if we can fit in a trip to the US next year just so we can return!

All the best from the Crane family of Brighton, UK.

Room Tip: Well, our room was directly on the lake with a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bridget f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service at Canoe Island Resort is very accommodating. I would say the person responsible for hiring the staff performs their job splendidly. All staff was eager to assist and answer questions and they always wanted to ensure that our needs were met. Keep in mind we stayed at the end of the busy season where staff can get "burned out", but that isn't the case here.
The room we stayed in was clean and nice.
My wife and I stayed without the kids because we wanted to get away and also check out a vacation spot for next summer. After our experience, we definitely want to bring the kids the next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful place for a family reunion. Lots of fun for the children. They should call themselves Canoe Island Camp!
Yet no work for Mother. The meals are included and are delicious.
The staff is great and the trips to their own island was great. Including sailboat and water skiing trips.
A little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son's wedding was held at Canoe Island Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. The weather was horrible, but through the outstanding effort of the Canoe Island staff, especially Carla and Joe, the wedding was an absolute success. The bride and groom were allowed to make a last minute decision indoors or out, as the staff had set up in both places. The island barbecue the day before had to be held indoors due to the inclement weather. Again their flexibility made it a complete success.

Planning for the wedding was a terrific experience. Carla and Joe had great suggestions and cooperated with all the requests of the bride and groom. The chef was very accommodating with menu items. Guest raved about all the food. The breakfast, which was included with the room was excellent and plentiful as well.

The accommodations were outstanding.

Because the resort was closed except for the wedding the setting was very conducive for the families and guest to get to know each other over the weekend.

The entire staff was welcoming, efficient and ready to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for the first time and overall best family vacation we ever had. Clean rooms. Friendliest staff AND guests. The island and boating activities are amazing. Food is very good, catered to both the grown-ups and picky kids. LG village is just a few minutes drive, but spent the majority of out time at the resort. I can go on and on, but for all that is included the value is unbelievable. Going back next year and plan on making it an annual family tradition. Thank you CIL!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.0 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#21 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#27 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
4.5 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#12 of 89 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Island Lodge

Property: Canoe Island Lodge
Address: 144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canoe Island Lodge is a full-service resort on the shores of Lake George, NY. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations, sailing and boating on pristine Lake George, two beaches, a private island with boat shuttles, activities for kids and adults, and family style meals. Our warm European atmosphere, comfortable Adirondack style, delicious meals, and personal attention will make you feel at home, yet pampered at the same time. Our staff is here to help make your family vacation a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Island Hotel Diamond Point
Canoe Island Lodge Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing