We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME WEDDING VENUE”
Review of Canoe Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Island Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son's wedding was held at Canoe Island Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. The weather was horrible, but through the outstanding effort of the Canoe Island staff, especially Carla and Joe, the wedding was an absolute success. The bride and groom were allowed to make a last minute decision indoors or out, as the staff had set up in both places. The island barbecue the day before had to be held indoors due to the inclement weather. Again their flexibility made it a complete success.

Planning for the wedding was a terrific experience. Carla and Joe had great suggestions and cooperated with all the requests of the bride and groom. The chef was very accommodating with menu items. Guest raved about all the food. The breakfast, which was included with the room was excellent and plentiful as well.

The accommodations were outstanding.

Because the resort was closed except for the wedding the setting was very conducive for the families and guest to get to know each other over the weekend.

The entire staff was welcoming, efficient and ready to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for the first time and overall best family vacation we ever had. Clean rooms. Friendliest staff AND guests. The island and boating activities are amazing. Food is very good, catered to both the grown-ups and picky kids. LG village is just a few minutes drive, but spent the majority of out time at the resort. I can go on and on, but for all that is included the value is unbelievable. Going back next year and plan on making it an annual family tradition. Thank you CIL!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Canoe Island Lodge is a family resort in Lake George. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lodge was kept clean and it provided a beautiful view of the lake.
The food was served family style and was really delicious. The only draw back we found was that
we were hoping for some entertainment for the adults and children at night.
I would recommend an activities director for all ages to make the experience even better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the redwoods off the road and it was close to the dining room but many steps to the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnMC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We live 9 miles from this resort and we vacation here every year. The resort is classy adirondack and very kid friendly. The staff is always extremely friendly and helpful. The owners are hands on and always present to make your stay enjoyable. Food is prepared with love and always plentiful. We especially love the fall Oktoberfest weekends as do our best of friends from Colorado and Brooklyn, NY. Overall, a fantastic family resort with an incredible lakeside atmosphere. The perfect place to relax, unwind, and make life long family memories.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TPC5124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here in August and our room was dirty and very dated. We had a cobweb in one corner of the room that was so large it looked like a piece of lace. There was only a wall air conditioner in our room that overheated and had a sign on it saying please turn off when not in the room. Lunchis not included which cost us $50 a day and then they wanted a tremendous tip so that they didn't have to pay their staff. This vacation for a family of four cost us well over $5,000 and it was worth $2,000. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carmela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I just spent a week at Canoe Island with my husband and our two young boys, as well as my parents, sister and her boyfriend. What a great time! The lakefront and private island are picture perfect. Food is good, atmosphere relaxed and staff incredibly friendly. This resort is owned and run by a family and it shows in all the personal touches. It's the ideal place to get away with family and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurafromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

It's rare that you find a place that leaves you feeling so good about your choice for vacation, that you immediately want to reserve for next year. That's how we felt about Canoe Island. We went with 2 adults and 5 kids (17, 16, 15, 13, 10). The activities kept our boys entertained, swimming, fishing, canoeing, trips to the island, water skiing, tubing, etc. What got my attention was the outstanding service. The staff is incredibly friendly and polite, from the dining room to the boat house. So often you run into staff that doesn't care, but they have clearly done their homework here and found the best of the best.

The food is good, not great, but definitely good food for a family. Additionally, the staff will accommodate any request, if possible. My crew would request various oddities with their meals, and our server was always friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foxct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
3.6 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.8 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
3.8 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#13 of 89 in Lake George
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Island Lodge

Address: 144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canoe Island Lodge is a full-service resort on the shores of Lake George, NY. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations, sailing and boating on pristine Lake George, two beaches, a private island with boat shuttles, activities for kids and adults, and family style meals. Our warm European atmosphere, comfortable Adirondack style, delicious meals, and personal attention will make you feel at home, yet pampered at the same time. Our staff is here to help make your family vacation a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Island Hotel Diamond Point
Canoe Island Lodge Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing