We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Adirondack Experience”
Review of Canoe Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Queensbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Adirondack Experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

You never have to leave the property! The owners expect a very high quality of service from the staff and that is achieve in every way. The owners were right there, every day with them making sure our experience was the best. Our children want to forego a trip to the Carribean and go back to CIL this year!! Feels like the Ritz Carlton of the mountains. Every water sport you can imagine and the sailboat rides are beautiful!!

Room Tip: Anything on the water. We never shut or blinds or doors. It was great to wake to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler9670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This place is a true find, which we stumbled on after many years of visiting Lake George and staying at about 6 other places --- none of which compare. It is a family run, incredibly friendly, clean lodge with all types of rooms, cabins, etc. Meals are on site -- the food is fabulous and plentiful, served by efficient, friendly college-aged, well mannered waitstaff. Many healthy choices for breakfast and one dinner buffet had food for any taste or diet.
There was evening entertainment, which was excellent -- guitarist and band -- people sung along and danced. Late night snacks of hot, soft pretzels or sandwiches.
It is understandable why most guests are repeat customers. The owners are very low key and friendly and all the employees are great and happy to work there.

This resort reminded me of a Catskills resort where I had many, many fond memories growing up in the 1960s and 1970s. Canoe Island is modern, yet is a throw back to how families vacationed long ago.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanLynne97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If I could give CIL more than 5 stars, I would!! Make time to visit Carla, Tom and Joe. They treat you like family. The food is wonderful...our compliments to the chef!! The boat boys and girls are friendly and helpful, fun to hang with on the beautiful scenic tours in the sail boats. Dining staff and bar staff are happy and friendly, too. They really get to know you and practically bring you your favorites before you even ask. The resort is Old World style, German motif...you feel like you're staying at Grandma's for the week. Very roomy and comfortable. The resort is always full, but you never feel crowded.
We arrived the day of Hurricane Irene, and the staff kept the place humming. We lost power mid-afternoon, but the generators kept the common areas lit and dinner service was seamless. You didn't know the power was out until you went to your room. Even then, they handed out flashlights and instructions and kept everybody safe. The next day, staff were buzzing around cleaning up and by 9 am it was like nothing ever happened. We still had a wonderful week with our friends and family. Will be back next year!!

Room Tip: We stay in the suites above the lodge. At first we thought it would be noisy or the smell from the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a great family get away. Meals are served on site so you can relax and not worry about finding or making food. Staff are friendly. Food is good. The private island is a great place to go swimming, and the water was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Canoe Island Lodge did my wedding this past weekend and it was fantastic. The service of Carla, Tom, and Joe is second to none. They go above and beyond to make sure all the guests and the bride and groom are happy. Carla is delightful to work with and Joe is incredibly professional. Beyond that the food was delicious, views were gorgeous, and the atmosphere was so friendly and warm. They also have the most reasonable prices of any venue on Lake George combined with the best service. I would highly recommend having a wedding here or staying for a week. It will be an experience like no other.

Room Tip: Stay on the water! The views are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymae89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We go every year. It is an amazing place to go. We catch up with friends and swim in the lake.

FOOD:
Very good. Breakfest: very good selections. waffles, pancakes, omlets and much,much more!
Lunch: AMAZING LUNCH! I'm not a breakfest fan but lunch is amazing. Meat lovers, vegans,vegetarians, diabetics will have a great selection. *NOTE: LUNCH IS NOT FREE LIKE BREAKFEST AND DINNER*
Dinner:
Good. theres a kid selection. Perfect for children that are not a fan of heavy dinners. I suggest not getting the steak. It is very sweet.

Lake:
Very clean. VERY SAFE. has ropes that show young children when it gets deeper.
always warm *sometimes cold on rainny days*

Activities:
water skiing, tubing, boating tuns more. Every year on the last night magic pattie comes and performs magic trick. On that night there is also the talent show!

Staff:
Very nice! makes sure your room is clean. Same waitors every year! very nice i just cant say it enough!!!!!!!!


THANK YOU CARLA AND TOM FOR MAKING MY TRIP..... PARADISE =] <3

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XXLakeGeorgeXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were greeted by Susan as we checked in early! Our room was not ready (as they mentioned when we made telephone reservations) when we arrived, but we were able to start our vacation with a sailboat ride with Joe ( the Resort Manger). After the kids finished the ping pong game they started while we where checking in! Although it was windy we enjoyed the fast ride on the sailboat!! When we returned back to the dock our room was ready! We had a 2 bedroom suite with a jack 'n' jill bathroom. King size bed with a small fridge and sofa bed in the master and a set of bunk-beds and a sofa bed in the 2nd bedroom. Breakfast and Dinner are included with your rate. The food is DELISH!!!!! You can order as much and whatever you like! Oh, bring your own hairdryer!!! The boathouse is filled with sand toys and floats for the beach. There are fishing poles lying around, feel free to untangle them and fish. This was a very laid back and help yourself to the toys in the boathouse policy . Be kind and put things back where they belong, it makes it nicer for the next person ~ which may be you! So what a fishing pole was tangled~ we adjusted it and it was ready to fish. We caught a bunch of sunfish right from the dock. So much fun for all! Saturday night, they had a band in the lodge for entertainment. We went into the village (6 miles away) Lots of gift shoppes and fireworks off the lake! Horse and buggy rides near Fort William Henry! Great pizza @ Guiseppes and Fabulous mexican at S.J. Garcias~ eat outside (lakeview). Also visit the CIL private island, there's a beach, bar b q pit and plenty of picnic tables! No bathrooms, 1 port-o-potty on the island. Enjoy and make memories!! Take photos on the gorgeous outdoor staircase!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1JerseyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
3.6 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#10 of 88 in Lake George
162 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
238 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Island Lodge

Property: Canoe Island Lodge
Address: 144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canoe Island Lodge is a full-service resort on the shores of Lake George, NY. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations, sailing and boating on pristine Lake George, two beaches, a private island with boat shuttles, activities for kids and adults, and family style meals. Our warm European atmosphere, comfortable Adirondack style, delicious meals, and personal attention will make you feel at home, yet pampered at the same time. Our staff is here to help make your family vacation a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Island Hotel Diamond Point
Canoe Island Lodge Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing