We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLR our family vacation spot”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Certificate of Excellence
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“BLR our family vacation spot”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's been a couple years since our family has stayed at the BLR (only being is we weren't able to get a cottage rental during the summer weeks so we had to stay somewhere else) Since our last visit to the BLR in 2009 they have done some amazing renovations to the cottages 1-4. They have all been redone on the inside. The high ceilings were beautiful.4, but another guest was nice enough to allow us to peek in to see. Our cottage was very clean when we checked in. It was nice to see that they updated the old box TV with a nice flat screen TV. The kitchen was well stocked with almost everything we needed to cook. (The only thing we could have used was a measuring cup). We had plenty of room for all of our belongings in the bedrooms and it was nice to have a FULL bath with a tub. The view from our front window every morning was beautiful. Loved looking out at the lake.

The week we stayed was a busy one at the BLR! There were a lot of kids for my son and daughter to play with. It was also nice to see some guests that we met during our first ever visit to the BLR in 2008.

The beach/swim area is great for kids. We didn't have to worry about them if we ran back to the cottage to get a snack or beverage. My son loved playing in sand and my daughter loved going out to the swim raft and jumping off. The water is shallow about 3 feet deep from shore to the raft. Sandy bottom. We took the tandem kayak out one morning. It was nice to see they upgraded the kayaks since our last visit. We also used the row boat everyday to go out fishing. That is one thing the resort could update!! It hasn't been improved in 4 years. It needs the oars fixed on it. The other improvement we noticed and was a big plus for us was they added a new swing set to the resort. The old one was pretty old! My kids loved the new one.

The owners Tom and Michele are just wonderful people. They really go out of the way to make sure that the guests are happy. Rich who manages the property also goes out of his way to make sure everything is well. He would be out in the morning picking up the night before messes that were left the beach and fire area. Cleaning the beach area, putting all the chairs back in order and picking up trash.

We had a fun week at the BLR and are looking forward to 2013! I hear that they are going to start renovations on the other cottages #6-8. This is a great family place. Nice and level compared to the many other places on Lake George.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    30
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
145
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedarhurst
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been staying at this amazing, fun and relaxing resort since I was a new born baby and I NEVER had a complaint to complain about all of these years! There are many kids to play with at the resort, and every year nobody gets left out. All ages play together whether its 4-6 year olds or 7-10 year olds all the ages play together. There is an amazing lake to swim in. I always enjoy swimming in the lake whether it’s warm or cold. This is my favorite place to go on vacation too!

The service is very good here, and the owners are very kind just like the employees. I am always very pleased when I come to stay at this resort. If you are staying in a cabin instead of a motel room, or a motel room instead of a cabin it makes no difference. The stay is still amazing! I would highly recommend this resort and would totally give this more than 5 stars if I can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent 9 days @ the BL this yr. Tom, Michele, & Rich continue to make improvements to the facility which makes our stay more and more enjoyable each year. Rich cleans the beach area and the compound every day ...but his job is made more difficult if folks litter with garbage and empty cans. The swimming area is very safe for the children and the area beyond is still shallow enough for adults and teenagers to play water sports. This year we found cabin 5's kitchen well stocked. Items tend to get shifted when several families get together for a barbique and kitchen utensils get re-stored in different units. Michelle does her best to keep each unit properly stocked. Tom, Michele, and Rich will go 100% to help any guest who has a problem. They are extremely patient. Thanx Tom, Michelle, and Rich for another great stay @ the Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 thru 5 have been completely renovated and are just a pleasure to stay in~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Blue Lagoon resort because of the hugely positive review that it has garnered. To say the least, we were disappointed. When we arrived, we immediately noticed that the swimming area could not justifiably be called a swimming area at all. It is a wading area barely large enough to have any sort of fun in whatsoever. The room was small but relatively clean and it was a step away from a big grassy area which was nice. However, we thought that there was an inordinate amount of litter on the property both in and out of the water which was a huge let down. There was one guest who was blaring music loudly pretty mich the entire time we were there and nobody ever asked him to please turn it down. On the topic of service, this was the weKest point we found. There was none. We were told upon check in that if we ever needed anything like canoe or kayak paddles or anything else, all we had to do was go to the office and ask and if they weren't there, to just knock on their own door and they would help out. 10 minutes later, we went to get kayak paddles and found no one in the office. We tried knocking on the door of the house. No one. We tried calling numerous times. No one. This went on all evening and as a result, we were never able to use the free kayaks or canoes or get anything else that the hotel supposedly had to offer. This was by far the most frustration part of the stay. The kitchen we found to be ill-equipped. It was missing basic utensils such as spatulas, turners, and can openers. Because we could not raise any service, we had to go to another guest's cabin to borrow some of their utensils. We had booked two nights but we left early and moved to a different location. This was where the Blue Lagoon scores its first star. The gentleman who finally turned up the following morning was, to his credit, very honest and understanding. After initially stating the policies, he admitted that the night before the family had been on an outing and were indeed not on the property. We understand that they have their own lives but something should have been said the night before to eliminate some frustration. We were able to cancel and departed feeling a little bit better about the situation thanks to his help. All of this being said, however, families with smaller children should not overlook this property as it appeared to be a much more popular location with the small crowd.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ryandvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been going up there for 19 years, this was our 20th season..the owners, the atomospher the old timers...does not disapoint...would recommend it to anyone..but mostly families..nice beach, safe atomospher..love everything about it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdirondackHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South hadley, mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took my girlfriend here this July 2012, and she loved it! Great close access to the lake, kayak access, ping pong, campfire at night. Great. Also only a few miles from the village shops and mini golf. We were treated like family. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

My family (my wifey self and 4 boys 16 15 13 and 3 ) stay here for the last few year over the labor day week in cabin 6 this resort and lake George is a wonderful family vacation spot I've stayed at other resort on the lake and this place rocks it really feels like your away with family we don't have to worry about te kids at all the lake is great and the beach area is fun for the kids even durring hurricane Irene last year we still had a great time no power or running water perfect place to stay not a luxury 5 star resort but perfect for families free kayaks and canoes Tom and Michelle are great people we will be staying here every year for a Long Long time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith07002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.9 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#10 of 89 in Lake George
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: 3670 Lake Shore Drive, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage and Efficiencies on the shores of Lake George. Blue Lagoon Resort is a family resort with several amenities including 200 foot sandy beach, kayaks and rowboats, barbeques and picnic tables, outdoor games, childrens' playground and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Diamond Point
Blue Lagoon Lake George
Blue Lagoon Resort Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing