We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Young Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Cove Cottages
Reviewed October 21, 2012

DCC is a great place for young families. And as long as you're not hoping for much privacy this is an excellent choice. Positives: the cottages are authentic Adirondack style (brought back memories of staying at my Aunt's mountain house as a child in the '60s), there's a central grassy yard with jungle gyms for kids, most cottages have their own deck with table, chairs & unbrella, the beach has a great dock with built in seating, for many cabins parking is right next to your door. Unfortunatley some of what I really liked about this place also contributes to it's drawbacks: the cottages are very small. VERY small. The seating in the living room area is not enough for a family with teens. The shower stall is TINY. It's not possible to pick anything up if you drop it and shaving my legs was a challenge. But there were charming details that I really loved - oldschool trestle-style table & benches in the living/kitchen area, door latches on bed & bathroom doors, knotty pine paneling through-out. The cottages are also VERY close to eachother. While dining on your deck you will hear your neighbor's child screaming in the shower (since it's tough to bathe toddlers in a tiny shower), and when you're using the bathroom you'll hear your other neighbor's kid singing on their deck. We got to know all of our neighbors (didn't have much choice since we were so close) and we enjoyed that element - but you should know about it in advance. Since I like to sit out on the deck in the early morning in loungewear with my coffee I had to be very cautious about being modest since people walking to the lake on the path are passing by within 2-3 feet of you while sitting on your deck.
A huge advantage is the the kids can play together in the grassy yard while parents prepare dinner & enjoy a glass of wine afterwards. My teens really enjoyed it becuase the closeness of the place allowed them to hang out with the other teens until midnight (which we'd otherwise never allow). But there were not alot of teens.

Some reviews compalined that there's only one A/C unit and it's in the living room - but I have to say, it was sufficient - and my husband likes the A/C set so low that we have icicles hanging form our chins.

This place is PERFECT for families with young kids for another reason too - the beach is super-shallow. Shallow like you're up to your knees until you're 20 feet out. Parents of toddlers & preschoolers will love this place since it's a dream for watching your kids. For us it was tougher - we couldn't get into deep water at all.

By the end of the week we had become friendly with the other families there as my teens loved being with their little kids and the freedom to hang out at night. My teens want to go back next year but as adults we are not convinced. We'd like to find a place with a little more privacy, relaxed living room seating for 4 adults and a shower large enough to pick up my razor if dropped. It'd also be nice to used the bathroom without hearing my neighor's chatting quietly on their deck.

We wish we had found this place years ago when the kids were preschoolers as it is a PERFECT fit for families with little ones. Perfect. And all of the families we met with young children plan on going back next year.

PS - the place is clean, they supply kitchen wear for cooking & serving. They do not provide bathtowels - but John is VERY clear about that in the confirmation email. The BBQ grills are for charcoal and John sells charcoal, light fluid & firewood. But you can get all of those at much lower cost at KMart.

Overall the place was really nice. We did have a nice time - the kids were happy. We only wish the cabins were a tiny bit larger and farther apart and that there was deeper swim area at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYMetroMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Been coming to DCC for 10 years now, and every time it's better! The cottages are clean, as is the entire property. John can help you with anything you want to do, whether it's rent boats or make tubing reservations, or suggesting the best places to eat. We are always treated like family. We usually rent the cabins farthest from the beach, but you have complete privacy, and don't really have to worry about disturbing anyone. It is equal distance between Bolton Landing and the Village so you have plenty to do just minutes away.
This place is great, but what sets it apart is the owners. The way they run it makes it a place you want to come back to. I would highly recommend DCC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our 5th family vacation to Diamond Cove Cottages. John and Kristina treat all 17 of us like family, helping us with last minute reservations for tubing, giving recommendations for trips and restaurants or just stopping by to chat. The cabins are clean and comfortable, the property is immaculate and the beach is wonderful. The view from the beach is so beautiful. You don't need a TV when you can look at that view all day. The adults and kids have the best time swimming, fishing, or just hanging out. There is no better place to stay in Lake George. We will be back again in 2014!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently stayed at Diamond Cove Cottages for a family vacation to Lake George with my wife and two boys – ages 9 and 7 and our first trip The location was fantastic and directly on the lake. The owners (John and Kristina Santiago) make you feel right at home and their hospitality is phenomenal. They go out of their way to ensure you have the best vacation possible by always being available to share local knowledge from great places to eat to activities to consider, which really helped us experience a great vacation. It is evident they really care. I will be back next year as the venue is great place to stay with your family. John also makes one heck of a Mai Tai!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our fifth year at Diamond Cove with more years to come. John and Kristina strive to have their visitors have a rested and enjoyable vacation. This year the local kennel lost our chihuahua and John and Kristina and family where right by our side in search and rescue mode so that we could enjoy some of our vacation. They generously helped in finding arrangements for our other Chi while the search was on. We celebrated finding our lost Chi together and salvaged the few days left of our time off. This family demonstates true caring and concern for all of their guests. Likewise we have established wonderful relationships with the returning guests every year. The rustic charm is our home away from home. No need to search for another vacation spot than Diamond Cove Cottages.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisSantiagoOwner, Owner at Diamond Cove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

What an interesting vacation you had this year. Despite the search and rescue operation for your missing dog from the pooch palace I we were glad that you all were able to salvage a few days of boating and relaxation. It is always a pleasure having you all here year after year. Thank you so much for choosing Diamond Cove Cottages as your favororite Lake George vacation destination. See you again next year!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our second go round at Lake George vacation, 1st time was some twelve years
ago and boy did we make the right choice when we picked Diamond Cove. We just spent
four days there and got exactly what we came for, four enjoyable days of relaxation on the lake.
John and his wife Kristina run a first rate operation and made sure that our stay was comfortable,
stress-free and enjoyable. Since it had been a bunch of years that we were last here, we
needed help with restaurant selections for dinners. If you are looking to eat in the town of
Lake George, don't ask John. If you are looking for something local on Lake Shore Dr, don't
ask John. But if you are willing to drive a few miles away you will be sent to some very above
average places with some very good food. One night we ate overlooking a river in Warrensburg,
next night in downtown Glens Falls and third night at a bistro located outside of Lake George town. All three recommendations were winners and John also took the time to make the
necessary reservations for us. Just a little something extra that made for a very nice four day
vacation on the lake. Hope to do this again next summer.
Lewis Woodbury NY

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank LEWIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisSantiagoOwner, Owner at Diamond Cove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Lake George Diamond Cove Cottages. Look forward in seeing you all again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Diamond Cove for 4 nights and I can say that for the price, this place is wonderful. The dedicated proprietors are awesome at what they do, and they run a tight ship. Cabins were clean, comfy, and well equipped. The layout was good, and the beach and dock were a pleasure. The free use of kayaks,,, icing on the vacation cake. Great family destination.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EileenCasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisSantiagoOwner, Owner at Diamond Cove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Lake George vacation. Please come back for a kayak ride anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diamond Point hotels
0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capri Village on Lake George
Capri Village on Lake George
#9 of 9 in Diamond Point
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treasure Cove Resort
Treasure Cove Resort
#7 of 9 in Diamond Point
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cove Cottages

Address: 3648 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range: $95 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Cove Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake George Cottages, Cabins Hotel and Suites. Lake George NY Family Vacation Resort. Kitchen Facilities, BBQ Grill, Spa, Fitness Center, Boats, Docks, Charter Fishing, Private Boat Tours, Kayaks, Row boats, Playground, Game Room, Basketball, Ping Pong, Private Beach, Level Grounds, Magnificent Views & Much More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Cove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cove Cottages Hotel Diamond Point
Diamond Cove Cottages Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing