We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but badly soundproofed, outdated and smelly rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location, but badly soundproofed, outdated and smelly rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the rooms by the shore rather than the motel rooms near the road.

First, the bad. The rooms have a musty stink which your nose gets used to but frankly is rather offensive to the nostrils on arrival. Also the soundproofing is really bad. Rooms 23, 24 and 25 (furthest from the lake) are underneath the upper level and the noise of the guests above stomping around, flushing the toilet and talking was really bad. It woke us all up every night when they came home inconsiderately noisy after midnight (we are early sleepers). Even earplugs weren't enough to block out the noise. The rooms in general feel really dated and in need of a good refurbish. Checkout is 10am ("NO EXCEPTIONS!") which is far too early. And strict.

As for the good, the free kayak rental is great and the little sanded beach is nice. Grills are provided for BBQing and kept clean on a daily basis. There is a rather basic swing and slide set for kids to play on and an extensive grassy area to run around in. The shallow waterfront is also great for young kids to wallow around in safely. The staff at the front desk (owner and employee) are extremely friendly and helpful.

Imagine a bit of a rundown motel you'd expect to pay $60 or $70 a night for on some highway in the middle of nowhere. Now transplant that motel to the Lake George beachfront and charge $200. That's what you have here and you have to decide if the lakeside premium is worth it. For a couple of nights, in our opinion, juuust about....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MisterGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Golden Sands Resort is located just outside Lake George Village at the lake's widest point, and has a great natural sand beach, as this tripadvisor reviewer notes. We encourage tripadvisor viewers to visit our website which supports over 100 photos and videos for your own review and to see for yourself if Golden Sands Resort, and it's 'family atmosphere' is for you? The guest notes that they are 'early sleepers,' and we have no control over their sensitivity to noise. As far as rooms assessed at about $60.00, our rates for lakeview rooms are 175.00/night, not 200.00/night. It must be noted that this guest occupied merely 2 rooms, and not 3, and our staff noted the guest's improper disposal of their baby's 'diapers.' This appears to account for any smell. The Sagamore Hotel, north of Golden Sands Resort, and others, rates range between 300.00 - 900.00/night (+ taxes and gratuities.) Golden Sands Resort supports 600+ families during the summer months, with a nearly 70% return guest base. Unfortunately, not all the guests who enjoy, and even 'love' Golden Sands Resort post reviews on tripadvisor. If they did, you'd note even more great reviews over the 160 reviews now posted. In closing, our guest notes value of 60.00. There are accommodations in the Lake George region for under 100.00/night, of course not directly on the lake. Our check-out time is clearly posted and consistent with other local accommodations. Guests tend to arrive early, and wish to depart later, as this guest notes - They must have had some fun, even though they object to nearly everything, including 'policies.' Visit our website, Youtube channel for videos, and see for yourself why we're a popular 'top of its class' modest 'Mom and Pop.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    67
    18
    14
    27
See reviews for
136
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed beachfront on this "bacon strip" lot, bordered by two other "resorts" of the same fashion. The outside was great for our extended family, included four young children and my mother-in-law. The beach was clean and shallow for the kids and the picnic area was very useful. HOWEVER, the rooms were awful. The beds were concave! I've never slept in a bed this bad and our relatives said the same of the beds in their rooms. The shower is so small too! The rugs are at least 30 years old. And we had a mouse... there was poop all over the counters and table in the morning. I won't go back unless they renovate and update the rooms. Thank god we had great weather and could be outside most of the day/night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Anybody can post anything, and at least this guest compliemted our exteriors and beach. "Bacon" is the key word, as this guest, and friends, saw fit to feed the duck on the deck outsider their rooms, and failed to properly secure their food, which was everywhere inside and outside the room(s). Our staff complained the rooms were a complete mess, with food everywhere! Golden Sands Resort, and all other lakeside motels, are just that ... lakeside, on the water, and guests who do not secure their food will certainly attract "chipmunks" which this guest's children and friends delighted in nearly feeding them by hand at the risk of being bitten. A visit to our website which displays nearly 100 photos and videos shows our cleanliness and modernity. We have 32" flat panel tvs, and are absolutely at the top of the local "mom and pop" class! It's so unfortunate when guests overstate the truth. Se our other great tripadvisor reviews. Can't make all guests happy ... just 99% ! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed with my two older teens and my hubby in Room 26, the best room because it is on the second floor with an amazing view and a private outdoor deck where every morning we enjoyed breakfast and every evening we enjoyed cocktails before dinner. Room 26 can connect to Room 27 and therefore could hold 10 people.

We saved a lot of money by having breakfast and most lunches on the premises since they have a fridge (larger than the cubes) and a microwave oven, which we didn't use. The kayaks (no charge) were available whenever we needed them. There was a nice beach area with plenty of chairs. We enjoyed starting a fire many evenings and making smores. There were many picnic tables with bbq's that many families used to make dinners. The beds were comfy. The kids slept in a separate room.

The location was great. It was only ten minutes from Bolton Landing and ten minutes from Lake George Village. Short rides to horseback riding, boat rentals, zipline, whitewater rafting, grocery store, gas station, and restaurants.

The only thing that would have made the place better is if the sink was outside the bathroom. Taking showers was a challenge, too, in that the water would get hot and cold every few minutes. Bob and Andra always had excellent suggestions on restaurants and activities in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonniLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed her in June 2012 with my mom and 5 year old son. It is a great place for kids! My son was never bored with 2 play areas and the beach. The view was great! We had a room with 2 bedrooms which was great with a little one along. Very clean rooms and great little fridge area. We really liked the deck area with our own table and grills located close by.

Will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: We chose the 2nd bedroom instead of the lake view room... Worth it! And the views were a 1 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been staying at Golden Sands for about 15 years now. Among the "mom and pop" type adirondack resorts in the area, this is up there. The views are awesome and the family just loves hanging out in the lake. Of course, there are kayaks and you can head out or just sit on your deck/porch and enjoy the place. Bob and I always have several good conversations. What starts out as a hi, how are you lends to 15-20 minutes of what could be any topic. For any bad reviews you see here, don't rely on them. Maybe you were expecting some other type of resort, yes there are always more expensive places, but why write such a negative review? If you go, I suggest getting one of the rooms down near the beach area. For things to do in the area, just ask for a suggestion and Bob will help you out. There are plenty of restaurants, gift shops, mini golf courses and other attractions. Great Escape is down the road. The mall is nearby if it rains and you want to see a movie. There is plenty of history in this area, do a little research and check the places out. Don't forget the fireworks downtown every Thursday, go early for a place to park. You're on vacation, enjoy yourselves!

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms closest to the beach, you don't have to worry about dragging your "stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd_Michon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Golden Sands in my opinion has one of the best beaches and views on the lake. The rooms are rustic and are exactly as they appear on the website. Our air conditioner never really seemed to cool the room down, was slightly warm for sleeping. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. I will say the shower is extremely small, please keep that in mind is you are a larger person or have any handicaps. The kayaks are free and there are plenty of them. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly. My biggest disappointment was the fishing. There is no fishing from the docks at the Golden Sands, not deep enough and to close to swimmers. We did try fish of the kayaks but no luck. We ended up having to rent a boat, but really was expecting to be able to fish from the resort as stated on the website. That is the main reason I chose the Golden Sands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed here two times with two separate group of friends; we were thrilled with the hospitality each time! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; in fact, they gave us an extra room one night even if we did not book it. The room connected two separate bedrooms. Instead of squeezing on four beds, we were able to enjoy the spacious two bedrooms because of their generosity.

The kayaks are the key to this resort; you can rent them for free as long as you go early in the morning to reserve them. The view is beautiful, and kayaking on Lake George is to die for! There is also a fire pit at the resort, and we enjoyed making a fire while looking out to the lake at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend at a great price, this is the place to be! I would come back again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Property: Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Address: 3654 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing