We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Juliana Resort(Diamond Point)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge(Diamond Point)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Resort on Lake George(Diamond Point)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Treasure Cove Resort(Diamond Point)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
134
70
22
15
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
70
22
15
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfree kayakinglake georgebeach area was very cleansmall roomprivate beachawesome placerustic feelknotty pineclean roomsmini fridgebeach sideplace is cleantook advantagepicnic tablesbring your ownbad reviews
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 272 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed with my two older teens and my hubby in Room 26, the best room because it is on the second floor with an amazing view and a private outdoor deck where every morning we enjoyed breakfast and every evening we enjoyed cocktails before dinner. Room 26 can connect to Room 27 and therefore could hold 10 people.

We saved a lot of money by having breakfast and most lunches on the premises since they have a fridge (larger than the cubes) and a microwave oven, which we didn't use. The kayaks (no charge) were available whenever we needed them. There was a nice beach area with plenty of chairs. We enjoyed starting a fire many evenings and making smores. There were many picnic tables with bbq's that many families used to make dinners. The beds were comfy. The kids slept in a separate room.

The location was great. It was only ten minutes from Bolton Landing and ten minutes from Lake George Village. Short rides to horseback riding, boat rentals, zipline, whitewater rafting, grocery store, gas station, and restaurants.

The only thing that would have made the place better is if the sink was outside the bathroom. Taking showers was a challenge, too, in that the water would get hot and cold every few minutes. Bob and Andra always had excellent suggestions on restaurants and activities in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonniLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed her in June 2012 with my mom and 5 year old son. It is a great place for kids! My son was never bored with 2 play areas and the beach. The view was great! We had a room with 2 bedrooms which was great with a little one along. Very clean rooms and great little fridge area. We really liked the deck area with our own table and grills located close by.

Will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: We chose the 2nd bedroom instead of the lake view room... Worth it! And the views were a 1 minute walk from our room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been staying at Golden Sands for about 15 years now. Among the "mom and pop" type adirondack resorts in the area, this is up there. The views are awesome and the family just loves hanging out in the lake. Of course, there are kayaks and you can head out or just sit on your deck/porch and enjoy the place. Bob and I always have several good conversations. What starts out as a hi, how are you lends to 15-20 minutes of what could be any topic. For any bad reviews you see here, don't rely on them. Maybe you were expecting some other type of resort, yes there are always more expensive places, but why write such a negative review? If you go, I suggest getting one of the rooms down near the beach area. For things to do in the area, just ask for a suggestion and Bob will help you out. There are plenty of restaurants, gift shops, mini golf courses and other attractions. Great Escape is down the road. The mall is nearby if it rains and you want to see a movie. There is plenty of history in this area, do a little research and check the places out. Don't forget the fireworks downtown every Thursday, go early for a place to park. You're on vacation, enjoy yourselves!

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms closest to the beach, you don't have to worry about dragging your "stuff" down to it like you would if you were in the upper area near the office.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd_Michon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Golden Sands in my opinion has one of the best beaches and views on the lake. The rooms are rustic and are exactly as they appear on the website. Our air conditioner never really seemed to cool the room down, was slightly warm for sleeping. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. I will say the shower is extremely small, please keep that in mind is you are a larger person or have any handicaps. The kayaks are free and there are plenty of them. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly. My biggest disappointment was the fishing. There is no fishing from the docks at the Golden Sands, not deep enough and to close to swimmers. We did try fish of the kayaks but no luck. We ended up having to rent a boat, but really was expecting to be able to fish from the resort as stated on the website. That is the main reason I chose the Golden Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed here two times with two separate group of friends; we were thrilled with the hospitality each time! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; in fact, they gave us an extra room one night even if we did not book it. The room connected two separate bedrooms. Instead of squeezing on four beds, we were able to enjoy the spacious two bedrooms because of their generosity.

The kayaks are the key to this resort; you can rent them for free as long as you go early in the morning to reserve them. The view is beautiful, and kayaking on Lake George is to die for! There is also a fire pit at the resort, and we enjoyed making a fire while looking out to the lake at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend at a great price, this is the place to be! I would come back again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews