We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Golden Sands in my opinion has one of the best beaches and views on the lake. The rooms are rustic and are exactly as they appear on the website. Our air conditioner never really seemed to cool the room down, was slightly warm for sleeping. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. I will say the shower is extremely small, please keep that in mind is you are a larger person or have any handicaps. The kayaks are free and there are plenty of them. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly. My biggest disappointment was the fishing. There is no fishing from the docks at the Golden Sands, not deep enough and to close to swimmers. We did try fish of the kayaks but no luck. We ended up having to rent a boat, but really was expecting to be able to fish from the resort as stated on the website. That is the main reason I chose the Golden Sands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    67
    18
    14
    27
See reviews for
136
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed here two times with two separate group of friends; we were thrilled with the hospitality each time! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; in fact, they gave us an extra room one night even if we did not book it. The room connected two separate bedrooms. Instead of squeezing on four beds, we were able to enjoy the spacious two bedrooms because of their generosity.

The kayaks are the key to this resort; you can rent them for free as long as you go early in the morning to reserve them. The view is beautiful, and kayaking on Lake George is to die for! There is also a fire pit at the resort, and we enjoyed making a fire while looking out to the lake at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend at a great price, this is the place to be! I would come back again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. We were the only guests staying so had the whole place to ourselves. Bob made us feel really welcome and is a mine of handy hints & tips round the area. The Lake was beautiful and being able to use the kayaks as much as you wanted was heaven. The rooms and resort were very clean and super peaceful. Beds could be a little more comfy but otherwise everything bar the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Golden sands is the perfect place for a family vacation. It's right on the lake and close enough to the attractions of lake George. This year, we went to the drive in movie, horseback riding, the fun zone, and fishing. My family loves to use the kayaks and relax on the beach. The rooms are clean and equipped with everything you need for a relaxing week. My kids love the fire pit on the beach since that guarantees them a week of s'mores. There is also a nicely sized grassy area where the kids were able to play soccer, lacrosse, and baseball. Bob is a great guy and goes out of his way to make sure his guests are having a great time!! We hate to leave every year!!!! It's such a relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just stayed there this past weekend and we had a great time. The staff is friendly and the resort is well kept. It's one of the more affordable rentals and it is directly on the lake. It has a nice little beach area that we really enjoyed. As an extra touch they have kayaks. The fishing was good too. We had a great time. But no free coffee as advertised.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

we come back 2to3 times a year,always clean and peaceful..bob is always on site to make sure you have a great stay...the view is great,,just far enough outside the village..thanks again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our second stay at the golden sands we loved it last year and again this year.bob and the staff were great. You really can't beat the view from the beach. Looking forward to next year, thanks again golden sands.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the lake front rooms. Waking up in the morning having the beach right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plainviewpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Property: Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Address: 3654 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing