We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, would definately go back again..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Chelmford, MA
2 reviews
“Very nice, would definately go back again..”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean and neat rooms with wonderful access to the beach. Great having kayaks available for guests. Thank you!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    67
    18
    14
    26
See reviews for
135
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you want a place to relax and enjoy nature but close to all the action in the area this is it. The views are spectacular and the beach pristine. Terrific staff. The owner,Bob, will make you feel really welcome and his dog Abbey is terrific.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to end up spending a night in Golden Sands in late August. Although our short stay was only supposed to be a stopover between montreal and New York it ended up being on of my favourite parts of the trip. We are both from Europe (the UK and Germany) so hadn't heard of Lake George but decided to stop on a whim...needless to say we were not disappointed. It goes without saying that Lake George and the surrounding area is full of absolutely stunning nature but it was staying at Golden Sands which really made our stay so great. From the moment we enquired about a room for the night Bob, the owner, went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and was so helpful and enthusiastic about the area it made us wish we had a week to stay there. He even let us stay past check out so as we could make use of the kayaks - definitely a highlight!

If you're looking for a good, well priced place to stay in Lake George then Golden Sands is it. I know there are lots of places in Lake George...believe me...we went into a lot asking about rooms but as soon as we entered Golden Sands it felt right and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else if I was to go back to Lake George.

Room Tip: Room 18, where we stayed is definitely the best - amazing views and lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Like always, we are back again.. every time I come back, something new is done or updated. Nice new railings on the deck, new playground equipment for the kids, new benches on the dock. Bob, the owner of the establishment always does his best even in a hard economy to keep things fresh for his visitors.

I brought my girlfriend this time with my kids and she loved it, and she was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was and how spotless the beach was compared to other places she personally has been in the past. One of the best locations in the area as far as I am concerned. I have checked out many but really loved it for the beach for the kids and the small gradual decline of the lake is very comforting for a parent knowing the kids won't drop all of a sudden when walking into the lake. Perfect place for families and very quiet.
Took out the complimentary kayaks out with the kids and they LOVED the experience and the practice we were able to do in a very protected area of the lake.. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpontillo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Bob, who owns and operates the Golden Sands Resort, was extremely helpful in guiding us to excellent restaurants, hiking trails--really, anything we asked about. My husband and I felt as if the motel staff worked around OUR routine--sleeping late, eating breakfast in the room, which was easy and convenient due to the refrigerator and table--so we felt very cosseted. The resort itself is lovely--very Adirondecks--a great beach area, kayaks, chairs, lawn.

Bob told us that he'd like us to have a lake shore room but that none were available. However, we were delighted with the room we had--it was still convenient to the lake and Diamond Point is a perfect location from which to sight see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This resort is in a great location on the lake and has a wonderful private beach which the kids spent all day at having a wonderful time. Like another poster stated this is not a 4-star hotel but was very clean and did not have any odd smells or odors. I traveled with my dog , but as you read these reviews people are complaining about what there dog couldn't do. It's nice to find a place that even allows dogs and I agree with Bob the owner, not everyone is a dog lover and any responsible dog owner should know that. I had no problem with the room location or where I could or couldn't take my dog. Also, the day I checked out I had left a credit card behind in my room after my 2 year old daughter was playing with my wallet and it fell out, but even before I noticed it was gone Bob had called me to let me know that they found it and that he would mail it to my home. This is great costumer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I decided for Golden Sands Resort for the reasonable prices and because is a little north from the hustle and bustle of the city. The motel is small but very clean and perfect for outdoor lovers. The access to the beach is perfect for kayaking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recomended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Property: Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Address: 3654 Lake Shore Dr, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing